We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hosts but terrible stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Gable End Guest House
Ranked #3 of 30 Horley B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great hosts but terrible stay”
Reviewed 13 June 2014

I am sorry to be writing this poor review because Mary and Joseph were such lovely hosts. However the main element of a stay is the room / sleep and both my husband and I had one of the worst night's sleep we've ever had. The room was on the top floor (2nd floor) and was very small. We are not usually fussed with the size of the room but with the sloped roof this was difficult for my husband, who is 6' 4". The bathroom was also tiny as was the shower cubicle. The main issue was the ventilation in the room. There was one skylight and despite having this open most of the night the room was unbearably hot. It was not open all of the night because the traffic from outside was so loud that we could not sleep (even with good earplugs and pillows over our heads). Perhaps the rooms on the 1st floor are different but it seems like the top floor (akin to a loft space) is not fit for purpose. The mattress in the room was also very old as there were permanent lumps in it so this added to the discomfort.
Our flight was too early for a cooked breakfast but the buffet was lovely.
Unfortunately we will not be staying here again and will instead pay the same reasonable price to stay at the Premier Inn in the airport for the sake of regulated temperature and a good night's sleep.

Room Tip: If you do stay here, do not stay on the top floor and ask for a room on the left side of the house...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GetawayGirl1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gable_End1, Owner at Gable End Guest House, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Thank you for your review, we have now installed into our upper level rooms, portable air con units for when the weather is that bit hotter. We would love for you to come back and stay with us again, I have sent you a message personally on this.

Many thanks for the constructive review, it is always appreciated as we of course want for our guests to be comfortable.

Kind regards

Mary & Joseph
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

874 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    786
    68
    13
    4
    3
See reviews for
217
357
111
47
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
uk
Level Contributor
35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

What a welcome, our first time at Gable End and hopefully not the last, we were treated like long lost friends. A good room with comfortable bed, everything was very clean and tidy. In the morning the breakfast was cooked by Joseph and was great, the whole theme of Gable End is Irish but it was a great English breakfast. We were taken to the airport on time and on our return we were picked up very promptly by Mary. Great service by lovely people.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ivan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mary_GableEnd, Owner at Gable End Guest House, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Thank you for your lovely review, we hope that you will come back and stay with us again very soon.

Kind regards

Mary & Joseph
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wales
Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014

We stayed here on 23rd April for one night and returned on May 5th for an overnight stay. Both nights were perfect ( although one of these nights proved to be eventful to say the least due to a passport issue!!!!).
Beautiful house with well appointed rooms, spotlessly clean and each room with individual character. Big fluffy towels, crisp white bed sheets and freshly cooked breakfast and an array of cereals, fresh fruit etc etc what more could you want?
We ate one evening at Ye Olde 6 bells which is only a five minute walk away from the guest house and this pub comes highly recommend too. This pub unfortunately been flooded out 6 times and it had only just been refurbished when we went there and it was lovely. The meals are very reasonable and the service and staff was very good. Do book a table prior to going as they get very busy and you may be disappointed if you turn up on spec.

Gable End comes highly recommended and a big thank you to Mary for her "intervention" when Joseph told her that our friends had left their passports at home some 150 miles away!!! (You know what I mean Mary)

See you again Mary and Joseph - with passports this time!!!!!

Room Tip: Rooms as side of the house are quieter but we slept well in both of our rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maximusWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mary_GableEnd, Owner at Gable End Guest House, responded to this review, 1 June 2014
We are so glad that we were able to help out and thank you so much for the great review, see you next time and we hope that it will be soon.

Kind regards

Mary & Joseph
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United States
Level Contributor
88 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014

There are places which tick all the boxes and then there are places like Gable End which tick all the boxes and then add their extra own something special. Nothing seems like too much trouble for these people who have turned hospitality into a beautifully crafted fine art.
Pick up from the airport is simple, taking back to the airport is simple, the rooms are spotless and comfortable, the breakfast is wonderful, the location is ideal (2 minute walk to local pub for great food) and the hosts are fun and lovely. All this at a steal of a price.
Thank you Gable End for making my night before jetting off so great and stress-free.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deneice A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mary_GableEnd, Front Office Manager at Gable End Guest House, responded to this review, 1 June 2014
Dear Deneice,

Thank you for your lovely review, it was great to meet you and hope your travels go well.

Kind regards
Ciara
on behalf of Mary & Joseph
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We have stayed at Gable End on several occasions and leave the car there whilst on holiday.
Mary and Joe are fantastic hosts and make you feel most welcome. Arrangements for out of hours arrivals are easy and work.
The breakfasts are great and set you up for a the holiday or the drive home.
It is spotlessly clean and very comfortable.

Room Tip: We have stayed in several different rooms and all are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fran G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mary_GableEnd, Owner at Gable End Guest House, responded to this review, 1 June 2014
Dear Fran, thank you for the lovely review, we look forward to seeing you back again with us soon.
Kind regards

Mary & Joseph
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
248 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We always use this B & B when flying from Gatwick and again enjoyed Mary and Joseph's hospitality once again. This is such a friendly and welcoming guest house. The rooms are always spotless and comfortable, the breakfast always divine albeit we missed out this year because we wanted to get to the airport earlier and despite Mary offering to get up early to provide a cooked breakfast we declined as our friends who stayed with us this time didn't want to eat so early.

The shuttle service to and from the airport ( both terminals) is always efficient and the on site car parking whilst you are away is nice and secure and not parked in some side street as per watchdog investigations have found from airport parking companies.

I would recommend this guest house to anyone and I can't wait to come back again in October!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mary_GableEnd, Owner at Gable End Guest House, responded to this review, 1 June 2014
Dear David, thank you for your great review and we are delighted you keep coming back to us again and again. We are doing something right ! Look forward to your next visit to us.

Kind regards

Mary & Joseph
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brentwood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 May 2014

We stayed overnight on 5th/6th May leaving the car there until our return on 24th May. It was excellent in every way. Mary and joseph are incredibly hospitable and nothing was too much trouble. The room was immaculately clean, and breakfast was served promptly so that we had plenty of time to eat it unhurriedly before Joseph took us to the airport at 9 am in plenty of time for our flight. On our return Mary arrived at the airport to collect us in a matter of minutes after we phoned and we were offered breakfast which was most appreciated after an overnight flight.
The guest house is very efficiently run and the whole atmosphere of the place is exceptionally welcoming and hospitable. We will be back.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Geoff L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mary_GableEnd, Owner at Gable End Guest House, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Dear Geoff, Thank you for your lovely review and it was a pleasure to have you stay with us. We look forward to seeing you again soon (we hope).

Kind regards

Mary & Joseph
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Horley
0.7 mi away
Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport (North Terminal) Hotel
0.7 mi away
Sofitel London Gatwick
0.1 mi away
Gatwick Corner House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hampton by Hilton London Gatwick Airport
1.2 mi away
Langshott Manor Hotel Gatwick
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn London-Gatwick Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gable End Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gable End Guest House

Property: Gable End Guest House
Address: 23 Church Road, Horley RH6 7EY, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Horley
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Horley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gatwick Gable End Guest House is a beautiful Edwardian House that was originally opened for business in March 1995. Mary, Joseph and their girls acquired the business in August 2000 and offer a warm Irish welcome to their family run guesthouse, only five minutes from Gatwick airport.We provide courtesy transfers from 7am to 9pm, outside these hours a taxi will cost approximately £5.We have free Wi-Fi access which is for use with your own laptop throughout the house.We are a completely NON SMOKING guest house. All our rooms are ensuite with tea/coffee making faclities; TV, hairdryer and iron are available on request. We serve a hearty English / vegetarian cooked breakfast from 7.30am to 9am. Outside these hours we serve a substantial continental breakfast of cereals, juices, fresh fruits, yogurts, toast and tea or coffee.We offer car parking for Gatwick airport for our guests and also non guests at reasonable rates. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Gable End Guest House Hotel Horley
Gable End Guest House Horley, Surrey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing