We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Warm Welcome” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gable End Guest House

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Gable End Guest House
Ranked #3 of 30 Horley B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Warm Welcome”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2014

We have stayed at Gable End on many occasions, sometimes twice a year, it's the only way to start a holiday!! With the warm welcome, clean comfortable rooms and great breakfast why would we want to stay anywhere else. Nothing is too much trouble to Mary and Joseph. Transport to and from Gatwick airport, looking after the car, this plus being able to walk to the Six Bells Pub for a very nice meal, adds up to 'the Holiday starts here'. Much better than sitting on the Motorway HOPING you will get to the airport in time.
We feel as if we are almost part of the family so warm is the welcome when we arrive.
Thanks Mary and Joseph look forward to seeing you again soon.
Colin and Wendy

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Colin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gable_End1, Owner at Gable End Guest House, responded to this review, 1 September 2014
Dear Colin and Wendy
Thank you for the review and we are so very glad to have you come to stay also. We look forward to your next visit very soon.

Kind regards

Mary & Joseph
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

862 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    775
    67
    13
    4
    3
See reviews for
213
350
110
47
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Wetherby, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2014

We booked Gable End Guest House based mainly on reviews from Tripadvisor and personal recommendation from friends in the Horley area. I have to say, we were not disappointed. We left our car in safe hands before flying from Gatwick to Spain and returned to collect the car and spend the night. The warmth and hospitality from Mary and Joseph cannot be beaten. You are welcomed into their 'home' with open arms and made to feel like part of the family. The rooms were excellent, spotlessly clean and the breakfast was delicious. Thank you so so much for making the end of our holiday special. We will definitely be returning (if anything, just to share that bottle of wine that I promised with Mary!!) - Thank you x

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gable_End1, Owner at Gable End Guest House, responded to this review, 1 September 2014
Dear Jennifer, thank you for your lovely review of your recent stay, we very much look forward to your next visit and seeing you again.

Kind regards

Mary & Joseph
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2014

Firstly the hosts are very nice.
Unfortunately the room was below average and very very hot and uncomfortable.
Breakfast was OK.
Getting to and from the airport was fine.
Joseph happily phoned and booked a table at the nearby pub which was excellent.
Service was excellent but the accommodation below par.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JeffreyHart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gable_End1, Owner at Gable End Guest House, responded to this review, 1 September 2014
Dear Jeffrey, Thank you for the review from when you stayed recently, we thank you for highlighting the heat in the room, for 2015 we are looking at mobile air conditioning units for our rooms as the summers seem to be getting warmer and warmer in the UK. We do hope that you will return to us again so we can extend our hospitality to you once more.

Kind regards

Mary & Joseph
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hemel Hempstead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014

My friend and I were meeting at Gatwick Airport and decided to stay at Gable End the night before departure. What a great decision!! Mary and Joseph the perfect hosts the staff great the breakfast just what you need before an airline journey.Nothing was too much trouble for these lovely people. I will no longer hesitate to fly from Gatwick knowing that we can stay and also park our car at Gable End. Thank you

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rockwellcourt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gable_End1, Owner at Gable End Guest House, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Thank you for the great review and we look forward to seeing you next time you stay.

Kind regards

Mary & Joseph
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glossop, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014

We stayed for two nights at the end of July while attending a family event close by. We received a warm and friendly welcome which continued throughout our stay. Our room was large and comforable, and the shower was great! Breakfast was relaxed and the food was cooked and presented very well. Mary and Joe provide a wonderfully hospitable service. We'll certainly be returning to Gable End when we are next in the area visiting family.
Chris and Duncan (Smith))

Room Tip: Our room on the first floor at the front was roomy and very comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gable_End1, Owner at Gable End Guest House, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Dear Chris and Duncan, it was a pleasure to have you staying and thank you for the lovely review, hope to see you back again in the area soon.

Kind regards to you both.

Mary & Joseph
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devon
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2014

We stayed here the night before we went on holiday. We chose the park and stay option. Good value for money very comfortable and extremely friendly. Breakfast was good just what you need before going to the airport. Transfers were as promised and very efficient. Would highly recommend this B&B to anyone looking for excellent value for money comfort.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SuenRob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gable_End1, Owner at Gable End Guest House, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Dear Sue and Rob, delighted to have you stay with us and we look forward to having you back again with us very soon.

Kind regards

Mary & Joseph
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2014

We booked the guesthouse due the excellent reviews and the option of leaving our car while we got lifts to and from the airport. We arrived to a very warm welcome and found the facilities to be excellent - Mary was very helpful and made the children feel special, and made us an excellent breakfast the following morning. My husband commented that it felt like our holiday started that day, which we wouldn't have experienced with a generic chain hotel. The transfers went well, Gatwick is literally 5 minutes away, and on our return we called Joseph once we had collected our bags - he arrived at the collection bay before we did.

We highly recommend the guesthouse and will certainly stay next time we're in the area.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Frances D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gable_End1, Owner at Gable End Guest House, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Dear Frances, we are so glad that you booked with us and that we lived up to our reviews previously ! We very much look forward to seeing you all again at Gable End.

Kind regards
Mary & Joseph
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Horley
0.7 mi away
Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport (North Terminal) Hotel
0.8 mi away
Sofitel London Gatwick
0.8 mi away
Hampton by Hilton London Gatwick Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Gatwick Corner House Hotel
0.1 mi away
Cumberland House Gatwick
2.6 mi away
Trumbles Guest Accommodation
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gable End Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gable End Guest House

Property: Gable End Guest House
Address: 23 Church Road, Horley RH6 7EY, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Horley
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Horley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gatwick Gable End Guest House is a beautiful Edwardian House that was originally opened for business in March 1995. Mary, Joseph and their girls acquired the business in August 2000 and offer a warm Irish welcome to their family run guesthouse, only five minutes from Gatwick airport.We provide courtesy transfers from 7am to 9pm, outside these hours a taxi will cost approximately £5.We have free Wi-Fi access which is for use with your own laptop throughout the house.We are a completely NON SMOKING guest house. All our rooms are ensuite with tea/coffee making faclities; TV, hairdryer and iron are available on request. We serve a hearty English / vegetarian cooked breakfast from 7.30am to 9am. Outside these hours we serve a substantial continental breakfast of cereals, juices, fresh fruits, yogurts, toast and tea or coffee.We offer car parking for Gatwick airport for our guests and also non guests at reasonable rates. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Gable End Guest House Hotel Horley
Gable End Guest House Horley, Surrey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing