We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice traditional hotel with good transfers”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Gatwick Cambridge Hotel
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Horley
billericay
Level Contributor
105 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Nice traditional hotel with good transfers”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2012

Room was clean and modern with free wifi. Cannot find any reason to make any negative comments. Transfer to airport was 20mins wait each way. Bar open to 11.00. Perfectly acceptable. The lobby has recently been redecorated and is fresh and clean.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank martinryder1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,200 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    221
    371
    238
    154
    216
See reviews for
264
705
52
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (299)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2012

Booked this hotel because it keeps your car in their secure pound on site and takes you to the airport and then collects you when your holiday is over. As I am disabled this was the service I was looking for.

Most stay and park hotels make you take your car to an airport car park and then get an airport bus to the terminal with 3 suitcases and a wheelchair this is impossible.

The cambridge staff were helpful, efficient and on the ball. We had a large room on the ground floor (still up 3 steps but managed fine) the room was clean and comfy and nicely furnished.

We needed to get to the airport fo 4-30 a.m the minibus was there waiting for us no problems. On our return we rang the number they gave us the minibus arrived within ten minutes.
Really impressed with the service.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank downesdownes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
91 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2012

Booked this hotel for night before a flight from gatwick. Two rooms as with friends. Arrived fairly late around 10pm but check in easy. No lift and room down some stairs but not an issue for us but some may struggle. Rooms plenty big enough and clean. Shower very good and nice big towels. A pet hate is hotels that provide towels that wouldn't fit round a 10 year old!
We didn't eat here as left early for our flight but we did have a drink in the bar on the night. Pricy as most hotels are but staff friendly and nice room. Easy transfer to airport although shuttle only run every 30 mins and can only take 6 so get your time slot booked asap. Haven't returned yet so will see how efficient collection service is. Good value for price we paid.

Room Tip: If you have heavy luggage check how many stairs to your room. We had husbands but anyone elderly or...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joanne E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
47 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2012 via mobile

Firstly, gatwick Cambridge hotel is an old hotel so your not going to get lifts and there will be stairs. There I've told you so please can everyone stop moaning about the stairs it's not the hotels fault they don't have a lift! Anyway, regarding the hotel it's quaint, the rooms are old but a decent size, the beds very comfortable. I had a top floor room was quiet and had a good nights sleep before my flight. The transfer is very efficient, yeah it's an old bus but who cares? You get there is all that matters. Great thing is on the return you phone them and they come straight away to pick you up which is fantastic service. So if you want a comfortable night before you fly it does exactly what it says on the tin. It's not the Hilton but it does the job.

Oh top tip- Tell the hotel you want to keep your car keys. That way you know no ones driving your car instead of you. What they will do is they will take you into the compound find you a space and that's it your car stays there which is fine. Oh the compound is very good for security, barbed wire, iron gates so no worries re your car!

Enjoy! Oh I stayed at the Russ hill gatwick before and that really IS a dump yet this is cheaper and it's nice! I would 100% stay there next time I fly from gatwick again! Anyway enjoy :)

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dh174
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2012

We were booked to stay at the Gatwick Cambridge the night before flying off on our Honeymoon! We called whilst on our way to confirm the check ina everything seemed fine but when we arrived we were then told they had some sort of problem with a boiler and we were being moved to s sister hotel! Not the best start to our Honeymoon!
We were moved to the Acorn Lodge which was not the best and no where near as expensive as what we had alrady paid out.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jamiemurphy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
168 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2012

We travelled within a party of nine staying in three rooms overnight with 15 days parking and airport transfers. We paid £110 for a double room,car park and transfers, very reasonable. Due to unforseen circumstances, we did not arrive until 10.30pm and due to a 6.30am start next morning, it was straight to bed. Unfortunately our room was situated at the front, facing the noisy, busy road, consequently, we did not get much sleep. The room itself was spacious and clean with tea/coffee making facilities, ideal for overnight stays. The rest of our party who had rooms away from the front had no complaints about noise. TIP: ask for a room away from the front.
Next morning, smooth 10 mins transfer to the airport.
Our return flight was delayed by 25hrs, but again a smooth and speedy transfer back to the hotel where we picked up the car keys and were away within a couple of minutes.
Positives: We found all the staff we encountered both friendly and helpful.
The rooms were clean and had all the facilities one requires for short stays.
Reasonable price.
Negatives: Road noise can be heard from front rooms.
Mini bus interior "well worn" to put it kindly!
Certainly experienced none of the issues with vehicle damage as some have mentioned, all in all would have no hesitation in using this hotel again should we fly from Gatwick again.

Room Tip: Do not have a room at the front of the hotel, the windows rattle and the noise from the road is cons...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stephen j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Banbury
Level Contributor
153 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2012

Friends, my wife and I stopped for just one night at the Cambridge as we were using to park the car and transport into Gatwick for our holiday.
Whilst the room we had was clean, there was no heating on and it was a cold night, the tv in the room did not work, rooms need decorating, and both the beds and pillows were hard. There was tea/coffee making facilities in the room, and the free deliver/pickup to Gatwick was good.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank msh711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Horley
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn London-Gatwick Airport
1.3 mi away
Gatwick Corner House Hotel
1.5 mi away
Airport Inn Gatwick
Airport Inn Gatwick
#6 of 11 in Horley
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Sandman Signature London Gatwick Hotel
0.8 mi away
Langshott Manor Hotel Gatwick
5.3 mi away
Arora Hotel Gatwick / Crawley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gatwick Cambridge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gatwick Cambridge Hotel

Property: Gatwick Cambridge Hotel
Address: 19 Bonehurst Road, Horley RH6 8PP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Horley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Horley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Gatwick Cambridge Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Gatwick Cambridge Hotel is a Grade II listed characteristic hotel located near Gatwick Airport, built in 1858 by Grand Prince George, with many Victorian features beautifully restored. We offer bed and breakfast facilities with on-site Gatwick Airport parking at an excellent value. The hotel offers 24-hour transfers to and from Gatwick Airport at a cost of £3.00 per person each way. The hotel hosts the highly acclaimed Kemal Restaurant, which serves the finest Continental and Mediterranean cuisine at its best. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Odigeo, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Gatwick Cambridge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gatwick Cambridge Horley
Hotel Gatwick Cambridge
Gatwick Cambridge Hotel Horley, Surrey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing