We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Gatwick Cambridge Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Internet
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Hookwood Lodge(Hookwood)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (1,441)
Filter reviews
1,441 results
Traveller rating
280
428
284
195
254
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
280
428
284
195
254
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsearly morning callflying from gatwickmain buildingwithin minsweeks parkingan overnight stayreturn flightan evening mealtea and coffee making facilitiesfull englishstayed for one nightexcellent value for moneygood nights sleepterminal
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,154 - 1,159 of 1,441 reviews
Reviewed 26 March 2013

We recently used the Cambridge Hotel for an overnight stay and car parking during our holiday.
We have stayed at the Cambridge before and have always been satisfied,however our recent stay was a disappointment.We were given a 3rd floor front bedroom (no Lifts in this hotel) front facing so we had traffic and train noise all night and I am sure other guests were disturbed as we took our cases down at 4.30am.
We had asked for an early morning call which did not happen apparently 'I tried' was the answer given to us by the miserable receptionist
.It would be so easy for him to say sorry ,I hope you slept well and have a nice holiday...
Early morning transfer driver could you also try to make customers feel valued not an inconvenience.
To end on a positive note the evening meal in the restaurant was very good and the staff were first class.

Room Tip: If you have an early start ask for a bedroom at the back on lower floor
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pumpkin98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2013

Greeted by a very friendly and helpful Turkish receptionist and provided with a very comfortable room. The meal in the restaurant was very tasty, although the dining-room would benefit from softer lighting. The bar area was also very bright and sparsely furnished, Overnight stay with parking was reasonably priced, and the transfer to the airport a mere £3. Very good when taking the price into account.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mikeandga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2013

We stayed at the Cambridge for a night before our holidays. Having used the hotel before we found that it had tired a bit and was in need of some TLC. The room was on the first floor and had an extra bed there. It had the usual tea and coffee making facilities but was very basic.
As we were away quite early we did not use the shower so cannot comment on others remarks about a long waiting time for hot water.
We did eat there the night before using the standard menu and found the meal was reasonable value for money but the drinks were a little expensive.
The car was in the drive on our return having used the transfer cab provided by the hotel, they charge £3/head for this two way service. The transport is from rank 9 at the south terminal.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lynda3491
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2013

Shower just stopped halfway through, had to wait 5 minutes before it started again. Had to turn the radiator off as it was banging and gurgling. Room clean but tired. No lift (although I appreciate that this is a listed building, so may be too difficult). Tried to book a double room and a family room (family room for 3 of us) and were told that no family rooms were available, so we had to book 3 rooms. When we got there one of our rooms had 3 beds so I felt as if we'd been ripped off. Taxi service to airport was efficient, coming back was rubbish - they told us to wait with 6 others already there and then sent a taxi with 8 seats for 11 of us so we had to wait another 20 minutes for another one. Had 15 days car parking so would have been good value if we hadn't had to pay for an extra room.

Room Tip: Go to Holiday Inn instead!
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank felstedmummy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2013

We stayed in February for one night with 10 days car parking on site. Our room was small but adequate for a one night stay, the bathroom was good, and tea and coffee facilities were in our room. The hotel is a grade 2 listed building, therefore a little creaky on the stairs and the room floorboards, but this was no problem to us. We booked our 7.30 am transfer the night before, this cost £3.00 per person return which is very reasonable. The mini bus was on time. When we arrived back at Gatwick, after a phone call to the hotel, the mini bus picked us up within 15 minutes, where our car was waiting for us at the front of the hotel. We will certainly use this hotel again.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MaryhenP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews