We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Park and Stay - did what it said”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Gatwick Cambridge Hotel
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Horley
Reviewed 8 April 2013

Booked as a park and stay deal on the way to Podrica for the footy. This hotel did exactly what it said on the tin. Seems to have been renovated recently so no complaints there.

Food in restaurant was good, not cheap but worthwhile.

Would use it again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank madmike65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,314)
There are newer reviews for Gatwick Cambridge Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,025 - 1,031 of 1,314 reviews

Reviewed 8 April 2013

We had a problem locating hotel as sat-nav sent us to a completely different location. On arrival the car park was full apart from 2 spaces to suit a Ka (we have a Galaxy). The staff shifted a few cars to allow us to park and unload. The hotel was warm and welcoming. Our room was located up 2 flights of stairs and there didn't appear to be any lifts, although the staff were happy to help with the suitcases or said we could store them downstairs. We had the quad room, £99 for a nights stay for 4 of us, plus a weeks parking. The room was equipped with TV, tea/coffee making facilities and had en-suite. The shuttle service the next day cost £3 per person and free airport pick up. This also ran 24 hours unlike some other Gatwick hotels. The pick up service from the airport was on request so no waiting around for a timetabled bus, unlike other hotels. I would definitely use this hotel again prior to my holiday. Be warned, no alcohol or hot snacks to be eaten in the room or a £50 fine!!!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lynda2092016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2013

We booked this hotel as a park and stay deal. On arrival we were made very welcome and quickly transported to Gatwick airport. The staff took care of parking our car.
When we arrived back at Gatwick at 11pm we phoned the hotel and our transport arrived within 15 minutes to take us to the hotel for a night's stay. We were given a room on the first floor but discovered the hotel has no lift? We requested that our luggage be taken up the stairs (we could not do this) and they responded immediately.
The room was clean and quite large. We had breakfast the next morning and our car was parked ready for us at the door.
We could not fault the package am
Nd our only criticism would be the lack of a lift.

Room Tip: If you cannot manage stairs with luggage request a ground floor room.
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rickanddenise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2013

The most tiny and dated bedroom and bathroom I have ever stayed in. We arrived very late on the Friday evening and when we got up and went down for breakfast at 9.10am the next morning, we were told breakfast had finished at 9am. No one bothered to tell us that the night before. We were not even offered a cup of coffee.

We had already booked to stay here on our return trip so even after arriving at hotel at 3.30am in the morning, got up and went down for breakfast at 8.45am. The welcome was less than warm and the lights were turned out whilst we were still eating at 9.05am.

Overpriced for what we got. Not impressed.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank atfran132
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2013

We recently used the Cambridge Hotel for an overnight stay and car parking during our holiday.
We have stayed at the Cambridge before and have always been satisfied,however our recent stay was a disappointment.We were given a 3rd floor front bedroom (no Lifts in this hotel) front facing so we had traffic and train noise all night and I am sure other guests were disturbed as we took our cases down at 4.30am.
We had asked for an early morning call which did not happen apparently 'I tried' was the answer given to us by the miserable receptionist
.It would be so easy for him to say sorry ,I hope you slept well and have a nice holiday...
Early morning transfer driver could you also try to make customers feel valued not an inconvenience.
To end on a positive note the evening meal in the restaurant was very good and the staff were first class.

Room Tip: If you have an early start ask for a bedroom at the back on lower floor
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pumpkin98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2013

Greeted by a very friendly and helpful Turkish receptionist and provided with a very comfortable room. The meal in the restaurant was very tasty, although the dining-room would benefit from softer lighting. The bar area was also very bright and sparsely furnished, Overnight stay with parking was reasonably priced, and the transfer to the airport a mere £3. Very good when taking the price into account.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mikeandga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2013

We stayed at the Cambridge for a night before our holidays. Having used the hotel before we found that it had tired a bit and was in need of some TLC. The room was on the first floor and had an extra bed there. It had the usual tea and coffee making facilities but was very basic.
As we were away quite early we did not use the shower so cannot comment on others remarks about a long waiting time for hot water.
We did eat there the night before using the standard menu and found the meal was reasonable value for money but the drinks were a little expensive.
The car was in the drive on our return having used the transfer cab provided by the hotel, they charge £3/head for this two way service. The transport is from rank 9 at the south terminal.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lynda3491
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Horley
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn London-Gatwick Airport
1.6 mi away
Travelodge Gatwick Airport Central
1.5 mi away
Airport Inn Gatwick
Airport Inn Gatwick
#8 of 11 in Horley
1,240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Langshott Manor Hotel Gatwick
1.3 mi away
Gatwick Corner House Hotel
1.8 mi away
Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport (North Terminal) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gatwick Cambridge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gatwick Cambridge Hotel

Address: 19 Bonehurst Road, Horley RH6 8PP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Horley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Horley
Price Range: £40 - £65 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Gatwick Cambridge Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Gatwick Cambridge Hotel is a Grade II listed characteristic hotel located near Gatwick Airport, built in 1858 by Grand Prince George, with many Victorian features beautifully restored. We offer bed and breakfast facilities with on-site Gatwick Airport parking at an excellent value. The hotel offers 24-hour transfers to and from Gatwick Airport at a cost of £3.00 per person each way. The hotel hosts the highly acclaimed Kemal Restaurant, which serves the finest Continental and Mediterranean cuisine at its best. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms and Evoline ltd so you can book your Gatwick Cambridge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gatwick Cambridge Horley
Hotel Gatwick Cambridge
Gatwick Cambridge Hotel Horley, Surrey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing