We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for Park & Fly”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Gatwick Cambridge Hotel
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Horley
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great for Park & Fly”
Reviewed 29 January 2014

Got a excellent price for an overnight stay and parking while we were on holiday. The airport transfers were a very reasonable £4 pp return. Shared to Gatwick, and private on return.

The staff were very helpful, but there was one snag... Our room was in the front, and as it was very hot, we needed the windows open to cool down. Unfortunately this was a main road with cars racing up and down and the railway into Gatwick was not far away...

Room Tip: My advice would be to ask for a room at the back when you stay !!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank constipatedcamel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GatwickCambridge, Guest Relations Manager at Gatwick Cambridge Hotel, responded to this review, 10 February 2014
Dear ConstipatedCamel Thank you for writing a review on our hotel. It is good to see you felt the hotel standard was of good quality. As we are placed on a main link close to the airport for the convenience of customers, there would be a noticeable amount of road noise. Being that the area around the airport is urban we cannot offer the quietness of a country getaway. The windows have all been replaced with double glazed wood windows in keeping with character of the Hotel (being grade II listed). However, I will investigate the heating situation and make sure the rooms are all heated to a pleasant 18-20 degrees for the comfort of our guests. Thank you for bringing this to our attention. Lynn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,241 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    233
    385
    242
    158
    223
See reviews for
274
732
53
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (306)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2014

Really lovely hotel staff happy, helpful and well turned out. The rooms were great with a big bed. the bedding was snowy white and ironed and towels again white and fluffy. The hotel was spotlessly clean and smelt fresh. The bar was well stocked and glasses clean, a pleasant evening was spent there. The food was amazing and plenty of choice from the set menu. It started our holiday off with a boost. we left the car and went to Ruka. On our return we were picked up and taken back to collect our car. We hope to stay there when we travel to Ruka next year. We needed the sat nav to find the hotel and its a little difficult. Our early morning call was on time and the delivery to the airport perfect timing.No lift to the floor we stayed on but the staff carried the bags up.

Room Tip: opt for the big bed lol
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pennymarklew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GatwickCambridge, Guest Relations Manager at Gatwick Cambridge Hotel, responded to this review, 10 February 2014
Dear Pennymarklew, Thank you for writing such a comprehensive and positive review. I am pleased it set the scene for your trip to Ruka. We do value our guests and their opinions, endeavouring to improve on our standards and service where possible. To this end, I would like to add that unfortunately, as this is a grade II listed building (once owned by Price George II, Duke of Cambridge in 1850's), we are unable to install lifts in the buildings. Because of its royal heritage we would not want to spoil the ambiance of the building. However, as you have pointed out, the staff are more than happy to assist guests with their luggage. If you are travelling again from Gatwick and would like to stay, please book directly with us, as we give a loyalty discount to regular guests. We will look forward to a familiar face.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SOUTH WALES
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2014

We stayed at this hotel before our holiday and on our return. It is a lovely listed building full of character.
We only had a sandwich on the evening of our arrival as we had had already eaten, but that was good and nicely presented.
The beds were very comfortable, bedding and towels clean. Good power shower (be nice if shower caps were in room for ladies who don't want to get their hair wer)! The rooms are a good size, tastefully furnished and surprisingly quiet given the location.
On our return we had a lovely hot cooked breakfast with good service.
The transfers were effortless and punctual, couldn't fault it. Car parking very reasonable.
Only problem we had (no fault of hotel's) some idiot decided to "light up" in their room and set the fire alarm off at 7am.
I would stay here again and recommend to friends.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KATYSouthWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GatwickCambridge, Guest Relations Manager at Gatwick Cambridge Hotel, responded to this review, 10 February 2014
Dear KATYSouthWales, Thank you for writing such a positive review and you found the stay with us a positive way to start your journey, with the rooms, service, food and transfers. We value our guests and their opinions, endeavouring to improve on our standards and service where possible. It is good to see our customers feel we are getting things right and indeed would recommend us to others. If you are flying again from Gatwick we would look forward to seeing a familiar face. Lynn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2014

My wife and I stayed at this hotel 20th and 24th January, the start and end of a short break in Rome. We were courteously treated and made welcome. Dinner was very agreeable and after a nights rest we were taken to the airport at 05.30. All very efficiently done. Our return flight on 24th did not arrive until 23.15 and a short 'phone call to the Cambridge resulted in transport arriving within half an hour. Our driver was very helpful and pleasant, despite the hour. We subsequently realised that he was also the night staff at the hotel and it seemed that whilst he was driving there was no-one on duty at the hotel which was not locked. Felt a little uneasy about that!
This is a hotel which is very convenient for the airport with the facility of being able to leave your car there whilst you are away. The added help of transport to and from the airport is valuable.
We both felt that whilst , to quote another reviewer "Its not where I would stay for a holiday" we would feel able to use this hotel in the future.
G.G.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gwilym G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GatwickCambridge, Guest Relations Manager at Gatwick Cambridge Hotel, responded to this review, 10 February 2014
Dear GwilymG, thank you for writing such a comprehensive review. I am pleased you found your stay with us a positive way to start your holiday. We value our guests and their opinions, endeavouring to improve on our service and standards where possible. The night porter is not the only member of staff on duty at the hotel. However, I can assure you that once guests are in their rooms the doors have a one way locking system. Although able to open from the inside, they cannot be accessed from the outside without the room key. If you are travelling again from Gatwick and decide to stay with us again would be pleased to see a familiar face. Lynn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
147 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2014

It's not where I'd stay for holiday or really for more than one night. I think the hotel is a fantastic place to start your journey early when flying from Gatwick and to leave your car there. I have read some of the other feedback on here which is negative but I can only say good things. (i) It's great value to be able to leave your car here for four days and (ii) have an overnight stay in a hotel so that you only have to get up at 05:00 and not 03:00 in the morning, (iii) to be able to have dinner and something to drink the night before you fly because you're NOT driving to the airport, (iv) to be dropped at the airport door at no extra cost and collected from the airport and taken back to your car. Twice we have had fillet steaks here and they are pretty good but we've always left too early so haven't had breakfast and can't comment on that. Bedroom is more than adequate with comfy bed and good shower. I think the bill for the hotel, parking and shuttle was £65 (excluding dinner) and I am pretty sure Gatwick parking would be close to that with all the aggravation of catching coaches which is so time consuming. So, it is what it is and is functional and very useful and I will stay here again when I have an early flight.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Donald2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GatwickCambridge, Guest Relations Manager at Gatwick Cambridge Hotel, responded to this review, 10 February 2014
Dear Donald, Thank you for writing such a positive review on our hotel. I am pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and found it a good way to start your holiday. We value our guests and their feedback, endeavouring to improve on our standards and service where possible. It is certainly good to know that our customers feel we are getting things right. When you are travelling from Gatwick again we look forward to a familiar face. If you book direct with us, we can check customer reservations and give a loyalty discount for regular customers. Lynn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Margate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2014 via mobile

My room was 2 floors up with no lift! It looked like an outdated nursing home room. The water in the shower worked for approx 1.5 mins before running out! The staff were rude. When I returned to pick up my car they had moved it and left the lights on. I returned at 1am to a flat battery and a very rude reception person who virtually blamed me! I left at 2.15am in the morning and would rather drive home for another hour and a half than stay an extra night. I couldn't get away quickly enough.

Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GatwickCambridge, Public Relations Manager at Gatwick Cambridge Hotel, responded to this review, 24 January 2014
Hello ElizabethP. Thank you for writing a review on our Hotel. We do value our guests and their opinions, endeavouring to improve on our standards and service where possible.
The hotel is a grade II listed building, which belonged to Prince George II, Duke of Cambridge and are therefore unable to install lifts in the building. We would be more than happy to assist guests with their luggage should they request it. Our reception staff ask guests when booking into the Hotel if they need assistance to their room.
The water in the showers are constant and should never run out. It would have been helpful if this was reported to reception at the time, so the matter could be addressed immediately.
I must apologise for a less then pleasant reception when returning. It is not a hotel policy to greet guests in a detrimental way. I will remind all reception staff to be more attentive. (Although I must point our that the cars are moved from 9-13.30 during the day time and I have never seen the drivers use lights - they might have been turned on-knocked on in error). However, we are again more than happy to assist with jump leads to get the vehicles back on the road. Once again I would like to apologise an unpleasant experience when collecting your car.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2014 via mobile

The check in went well staff helpful.

Room heating was not working however room was not cold. Roof window was open letting in rain.

Room very clean execpt carpet.

Bed was comfortable.

5.45am a group were making loads of noise. Probably not stay ay hotel before.

Breakfast was the worst ever had. Cold toast, i was given a standard breakfast and sent it back i only wanted certain things however i got 3 poor items the mushroom smelt and the bacon was cold. Not a very good selection. I would never have breakfast here again. Later in the morning i had a bad stomach not sure if related. They say its usaly the last thing you eat.

Transfer to gatwick was prompt and very nice driver. Hope my car is ok when i return.

Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank PRSGC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GatwickCambridge, Guest Relations Manager at Gatwick Cambridge Hotel, responded to this review, 24 January 2014
Hello UKfastltd, Thank you for writing a review on our Hotel, we do value our guests and their opinions, endeavouring to improve on our service and standards where possible.
The heating has been looked at and is working fine.
To enhance our service, we are revising our breakfasts, due to the recent feedback and are planning to introduce a new system. We would ask our customers to speak to reception at the time should they experience any problems with their room, as we can then address them immediately.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Horley
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn London-Gatwick Airport
1.5 mi away
Airport Inn Gatwick
Airport Inn Gatwick
#7 of 11 in Horley
1,197 reviews
1.6 mi away
Travelodge Gatwick Airport Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Langshott Manor Hotel Gatwick
4.2 mi away
Sandman Signature London Gatwick Hotel
1.3 mi away
Gatwick Corner House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gatwick Cambridge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gatwick Cambridge Hotel

Property: Gatwick Cambridge Hotel
Address: 19 Bonehurst Road, Horley RH6 8PP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Horley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Horley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Gatwick Cambridge Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Gatwick Cambridge Hotel is a Grade II listed characteristic hotel located near Gatwick Airport, built in 1858 by Grand Prince George, with many Victorian features beautifully restored. We offer bed and breakfast facilities with on-site Gatwick Airport parking at an excellent value. The hotel offers 24-hour transfers to and from Gatwick Airport at a cost of £3.00 per person each way. The hotel hosts the highly acclaimed Kemal Restaurant, which serves the finest Continental and Mediterranean cuisine at its best. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Gatwick Cambridge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gatwick Cambridge Horley
Hotel Gatwick Cambridge
Gatwick Cambridge Hotel Horley, Surrey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing