We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value but strict rules!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Gatwick Cambridge Hotel
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Horley
Reviewed 7 April 2014

Stayed here for 1 night in March 14 prior to flight. Parking was very straightforward and check in was quick. Room was very standard and bathroom somewhat dreary but most importantly it was clean. Only problem we encountered was that you're not allowed to eat hot food in your room. It's a bit of a cheek as an outside alternative is a drive away so they've got you by the short and curlies really. We have an autistic daughter and for reasons I won't go into it would've been a lot easier for us for her to eat in the room. I pleaded with the staff on reception but they refused point blank. In the end one of us had to stay behind while the rest ate in the hotel's restaurant - the food was very average and overpriced we thought. Other than that no problems and drop off and pick up were absolutely fine. We had 2 cars parked at the hotel and there were no problems with them at all on our return. We would consider staying again, especially for the price.

Room Tip: Just be advised that our 'family room' had bunk beds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Live4Hols72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GatwickCambridge, Guest Relations Manager at Gatwick Cambridge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on our Hotel. We do value our guests and their opinions, endeavouring to improve on service and standards where possible. We are presently looking into updating the rooms and ensuites. With regard to the food issue, as this is mainly a transit Hotel with one night occupancy, we are very careful what is taken into the rooms, as this would leave lingering adverse odours for subsequent users. However, as most guests are in transit, we offer a wide variety of fare in our Restaurant and allow snacks and sandwiches in rooms. We do apologise if this was an inconvenience to you and hope it did not detract from your stay. We have other family rooms with single beds, should you wish. (Rather than bunk beds). If you travel from Gatwick again and choose us, please book direct (requesting specific rooms) as we offer a loyalty discount to returning guests and hopefully we can raise the bar with our service to you. Kind regards Lynn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,335)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

895 - 901 of 1,336 reviews

Reviewed 7 April 2014

Taking a 6am flight from Gatwick, we decided to stay somewhere close where we could leave the car and get transfers to the airport.
The Cambridge fitted the bill Booking was easy. We didn't book dinner as hadn't planned to eat there (we were also put off by some adverse online feedback we'd read) but on arrival, there was a bright clean reception with a bustling restaurant in full swing. We had dinner which was well prepared, tasty and reasonably priced. The menu was varied and they'd be something for everyone. They also had a comprehensive bar. The room was spacious, clean, smart with a nice bathroom and plenty of space. The bed was comfy and we slept well (well to 3am anyway!)

The transfers were so smooth. Collected bang on time and on the return journey we barely made it out to the collection point when our mini bus arrived. A very good, professional service - which is ideal when you are tired and just want to collect your car and get on your way home.

We would definitely stay there again if travelling from Gatwick. As I said, ideal, cost effective and painless.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lesley W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GatwickCambridge, Guest Relations Manager at Gatwick Cambridge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2014

Dear LesleyW. Milton Keynes. Thank you for taking the time for writing such a positive review. We do value our guests and their opinions, endeavouring to improve on standards and service where possible. If you do travel from gatwick again and choose us, please call direct as we give a loyalty discount for returning guests and we can try and gain that extra brownie point from you. We look forward to familiar faces. Kind regards Lynn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2014

Stayed here for one night before an early morning flight. Room was large and clean, a lot better than most airport-type hotels we've stayed in. Transfers to and from the airport were spot on - would definitely use this hotel again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kholex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GatwickCambridge, Guest Relations Manager at Gatwick Cambridge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2014

Dear Kholex, Cheltenham. Thank you for writing a positive review on our Hotel. It is good to hear when we are getting things right. We do value our guests and their opinions, endeavouring to improve on standards and service where possible. If you travel from Gatwick again and choose us, please call direct as we offer returning guests a loyalty discount. kind regards Lynn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2014

On arrival at the hotel we were able to park easily right out side the hotel entrance . Check in was easy but our room was in the roof of the hotel so head height was restrictive, also the room although clean and adequate for a night stay prior to departure was in need of some TLC the carpet was stained the bedding well worn.
Having said that the transfers to Gatwick airport were spot on also the return journey was easy. We had left our keys for the car as requested and our car was ready at the front of the hotel ready for our return. However the car looked as though it had been driven through a field it was really dirty. So don't know where it was taken during our holiday.

Room Tip: Request a room with high ceilings
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank susan g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GatwickCambridge, Guest Relations Manager at Gatwick Cambridge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2014

Dear Susang.Cardiff. Thank you for taking the time to write a review on our Hotel and am sorry you felt it a tad disappointing. I do appreciate that some of our attic rooms have a restricted height area, but we do display notices indicating this in the room. We are currently reviewing and updating rooms. which address the issues you raised. Lastly, during your absence we had a sand storm, which affected all the vehicles in the outside compound and can assure you that all cars are only moved from the Hotel car park to the compound, which is a matter of metres. Kind regards Lynn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2014

My wife and I have stayed at the Cambridge Hotel on at least five previous occasions, and are booked to stay again in July, when we travel to Venice.Our last stay was 10th March and again 31st March when we travelled to Gambia for three weeks.

We travelled up the day prior to our flight and enjoyed a superb evening meal, and early night before our flight the next morning.
As before, the service was superb. Good standard of room, only sorry that our outward flight left so early, we couldn't have breakfast at the hotel.
On our return, we telephoned the hotel and within a few minutes, our lift arrived and we were returned to the hotel.

In the morning, we were able to eat the spendid freshly cooked breakfast, which set us up for our drive back to Plymouth

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2014

First time using this hotel and car parking service. We arrived fairly late in the evening and the check in was good and quick, just had time for a drink at the bar before settling do for the night. The room was large, bed comfortable and the bathroom adequate and clean. Breakfast was very good, full english, cereals and toast. Transfers to and from the airport was quick. For us there were no problems and would not hesitate to use the hotel again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank flowerpotPlymouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GatwickCambridge, Public Relations Manager at Gatwick Cambridge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2014

Dear FlowerpotPlymouth Thank you for taking the time to write such a positive review on our hotel. We do value our guests and their opinions, endeavouring to improve on standards and service where possible. It is good to hear when we are getting things right. If you are flying from Gatwick again and choose us, we offer loyalty discounts for returning guests. Please call direct and hopefully we can earn that extra "brownie point" for full marks. We look forward to seeing familiar faces. Lynn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2014

This was the first time my wife and I had stayed at the Cambridge but will definitely be returning. On arrival check in was quick and very friendly staff manning reception. Room was spacious with a comfortable bed and the bathroom was of a good standard.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Geoffly087
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GatwickCambridge, Public Relations Manager at Gatwick Cambridge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2014

Dear Geoffly087 from Camelford. Thank you for taking the time to write such a positive review. We do value our guests and their opinions, endeavouring to improve on standards and service where possible. It would be indeed a pleasure to see you again and we look forward to earning that extra brownie point. If you book direct with us we would be able to give you a loyalty discount for returning guests and discuss any requirements or room preferences on booking. Look forward to seeing familiar faces. Regards Lynn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Horley
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn London-Gatwick Airport
1.6 mi away
Travelodge Gatwick Airport Central
1.5 mi away
Airport Inn Gatwick
Airport Inn Gatwick
#8 of 11 in Horley
1,259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Langshott Manor Hotel Gatwick
1.3 mi away
Gatwick Corner House Hotel
1.8 mi away
Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport (North Terminal) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gatwick Cambridge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gatwick Cambridge Hotel

Address: 19 Bonehurst Road, Horley RH6 8PP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Horley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Horley
Price Range: £41 - £68 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Gatwick Cambridge Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Gatwick Cambridge Hotel is a Grade II listed characteristic hotel located near Gatwick Airport, built in 1858 by Grand Prince George, with many Victorian features beautifully restored. We offer bed and breakfast facilities with on-site Gatwick Airport parking at an excellent value. The hotel offers 24-hour transfers to and from Gatwick Airport at a cost of £3.00 per person each way. The hotel hosts the highly acclaimed Kemal Restaurant, which serves the finest Continental and Mediterranean cuisine at its best. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Gatwick Cambridge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gatwick Cambridge Horley
Hotel Gatwick Cambridge
Gatwick Cambridge Hotel Horley, Surrey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing