We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from home!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Quarter Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #21 of 59 Stirling B&B and Inns
Laredo, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Home away from home!”
Reviewed 29 July 2013

Pippa and Robin provided such a warm welcome to us on our six night stay at Quarter last week. Our hosts were thoughtful, attentive, and we felt as if we were leaving good friends at the end of our stay even though we discovered this B&B on the internet. Our arriving flight was late and full of mistakes and twice Pippa called our booking for supper to tell them we would be late without my having to ask. She met us on the doorstep of her lovely home to greet my weary family with a smile. The B&B is part of a large estate so my children had plenty of space to run and play out of doors. They were especially thrilled with her chickens which she let them pet and collect eggs (which she then uses in her delicious breakfast everyday). There are also stables and a play place next door if you should choose to go there.

We booked three rooms- all were spacious and comfortable. She mentioned there were new mattresses on some of the beds and we slept very well. This is a charming (old) house and some of the bathrooms do not have showers (extremely large bath tub with shower faucet instead). The rooms were cleaned and freshened daily. Pippa was very generous and even offered her washing machine and kitchen (they were out for an evening) to my use. She loves inviting her guests for a nightcap every evening to learn more about them- and we really enjoyed getting to know them as well. We took day trips from Stirling and found the location right in the middle of all the places we wanted to go. It is a 45 minute drive to Glasgow, a 2 hour drive to Oban, a 40 min train ride to Edinburgh and minutes to Stirling Castle.

We treasured our experience immensely and I would recommend it to anyone. Just remember that it is a 250 year old home full of warmth, character and charm. You will not have the same experience as if staying at a four star hotel. I for one find that all the more personable and charming!

Room Tip: The room with the single beds has the shower. The double bedrooms have a large bath instead.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CuatroPaisanas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pippa M, Owner at Quarter Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 2 August 2013
Thank you for writing such a lovely review.
We loved having you to stay. I hope you will come back again if you are in the UK.
I shall send a photo of the chicks when they hatch, next week! I hope
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    64
    8
    1
    3
    0
See reviews for
25
28
7
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Inverness, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 July 2013

This is by far the loveliest B and B I have stayed in and always stop there on journeys now as it feels like a home from home. Pippa and John are brilliant hosts that make you feel welcome straight away with tea, home made cake or a drink in front of the open fire. A delicious breakfast in the morning with fresh eggs from their hens and a walk around the garden is the perfect way to start the day. The rooms are spacious, quiet, warm and comfy with excellent quality bedding and a well stocked bathroom with plenty of hot water.
Really, when you confider how much you pay for an average Travel Lodge type hotel for a night this is such an incredible bargain for such quality. Its also really easy to get to being only a few minutes away from the motorway. I can't recommend it enough.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah Jane W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pippa M, Owner at Quarter Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 15 July 2013
Thank you so much for writing such nice comments. Hope to see you again soon
Best wishes Pippa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dusseldorf, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 July 2013

We staid 5 nights at Quarter B&B and received a wonderful welcome (very delicious scones with butter and jam) in this beautiful old grand house. Pippa and Robin were very charming hosts and we always felt as a member of the family.

The room had enough space and the double bed was enormous! Sitting at the fire place in the evening tasting one of Scotland's most well known "beverages" will always be a good memory.

If we get the chance to visit Scotland again, we will come back to stay here.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Schltd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pippa M, Owner at Quarter Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 7 September 2013
Thank you for your great review and for coming to stay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 June 2013

The hospitality at Quarter is second to none. Was given a very warm welcome accompanied by delicious tea and cake. The room was lovely, spacious and bright,with the most comfortable bed-had the best nights sleep for ages. Pippa and Robin are just a delight and could not be more helpful. Enjoyed a lovely walk around the gardens before a fabulous breakfast (not the usual fry up) FRESH fruit salad followed by delicious scrambled eggs from Pippa's own rare breed hens. All round a simply lovely place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Anne E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pippa M, Owner at Quarter Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 7 September 2013
Thank you for coming to stay and for the lovely comments you put on Tripadvisor
Hope to see you again Pippa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 June 2013

Many thanks to Pippa and Robin for such warm hospitality in their beautiful house. Quarter is the real deal, a Georgian gem of a manor house, furnished in the traditional style, but with all modern comforts. Luxurious bedrooms look out over the gardens and parkland, and an excellent cooked breakfast sets you up for the day. The locations is perfect for exploring the many attractions in the area, including Stirling Castle, Callendar House, Loch Lomond and the Falkirk Wheel. An added bonus are their two friendly dogs. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Kirsty M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, New Hampshire
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2013

I am a very frequent visitor to the U.K. from the USA and, as such, I've had occasion to stay in all manner of accommodation, from large hotels, to self-catering cottages, B&B's, inns, etc.

In all my many travels round and about U.K., I have never had a more gracious, welcoming, comfortable stay anywhere, full stop. The home is a lovely Georgian property that feels simultaneously elegant yet totally relaxed and homey. The rooms are spacious and delightfully comfortable (wonderful beds!). The library and drawing room are inviting, very bright, and pleasant. In short, a perfect house.

The best part, however, are the delightful hosts, Robin and Pippa, who welcomed us with a nice cup of tea, made our dinner reservations, and shared a companionable after-dinner malt whisky with us, and -- in all respects -- made us feel absolutely at home and welcome.

All in all, a superb experience. Absolutely recommended -- A++ quality establishment.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank David46209
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2013

We stayed here on our way from Kent to Orkney, and will definitely visit again on our next trip! The house is beautiful, the bedroom (Blue Room) was very big with an ensuite,the bed was extremely comfy and had good quality linens/bedding. Guests have the use of the Library, complete with roaring fire. Robin and Pippa are excellent hosts and it doesn't really feel like a B&B at all. On arrival we enjoyed tea in the kitchen, then before going out to dinner we were offered wine in the Library, and even when we came back from dinner the whisky came out! Really a very warm welcome, and we had a our dog with us too who was possibly even more welcomed! Robin & Pippa love dogs, and have two of their own (one of which escorted us on a walk around the surrounding estate) and it was lovely to stay in a dog friendly house which was very neat and clean and not at all 'doggy' i.e. covered in hair and smelly!

We had dinner at the Wheelhouse in Falkirk, great steaks and a wide range of cuisines.

Breakfast at Quarter was unsurprisingly lovely, a great cooked breakfast to set us up for the drive north.

Room Tip: The Blue room was lovely, very big, huge comfortable bed, ensuite with bath, very light and airy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank annabelgm84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stirling
5.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Stirling
5.3 mi away
Best Western Park Hotel
5.4 mi away
The Stirling Highland Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
Stirling Court Hotel
Stirling Court Hotel
#7 of 20 in Stirling
532 reviews
1.6 mi away
West Plean House
West Plean House
#11 of 59 in Stirling
82 reviews
6.5 mi away
The Old Tram House
The Old Tram House
#6 of 59 in Stirling
546 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quarter Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quarter Bed and Breakfast

Property: Quarter Bed and Breakfast
Address: Quarter | Denny, Stirling FK6 6QZ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Stirling > Stirling
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 59 B&Bs / Inns in Stirling
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Blue room double or twin room ensuite ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Quarter Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quarter Bed And Breakfast Stirling, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing