We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very happy”
Review of La Ciociara

La Ciociara
Ranked #1 of 3 Dessert in Stirling
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$2 - US$33
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Kids, Child-friendly, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Brunch, After-hours, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very happy”
Reviewed 2 August 2014 via mobile

This is a nice wee restaurant that I've visited quite a few times for lunches and I've always been welcomed with my little son. Their spag bol was lovely and their portions are great. I've always left full when eating there.

They have a changing station in the toilet which helped for my toddler and the staff were helpful and friendly. For prams and wheelchairs, there's access on two levels from the street (it's on a hill) but those able to use stairs, there's more room for dining upstairs.

Oh yeah, and the Italian style hot chocolate is amazing. Must be tried.

Thanks guys... We'll be back.

Helpful?
Thank Dolidh Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

208 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    107
    67
    12
    12
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Good food at reasonable prices”
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Enjoyed a pizza and a lasagne here on a hot evening in Stirling. The waitress was a Scottish lady of Italian descent who was very pleasant and helpful. We ate outside, until it reached 9 p.m and then, as we wanted another drink, we were politely asked to move inside as local regulations don't permit alcohol outside after this time. We will return here if we are in Stirling again. Shame the local council haven't taken the opportunity to build on the success restaurants are enjoying in Glasgow during the Games by extending al fresco dining and licensing hours for diners.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Janice T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Don't bring your children”
Reviewed 27 July 2014

We were looking forward to a lovely Sunday Lunch with our 3 year old but it was a less than nice experience.Although the lunch we had with pizza and pasta was nice, the treatment of us as customers was less than pleasant. First our son played with a bit of curtain string that had been there on the floor for ages. My son was accused of having destroyed the curtain by the male waiter and asked to stop playing with the string. I then gave my son my *own* piece of string to play with after taking away the curtain string as the male waiter requested. But a female waiter informed us that the child could not play with the string either and had to sit on a chair, not apparently understanding how hard it can be for a 3 year old to sit still for long periods of time. The child was not making any noise or disturbing other customers as the restaurant was empty. On this, I decided to pay up and go. I have enjoyed this restaurant for many years, however this time the particular waiting staff who were on duty were rude and not at all child-friendly. I would advise other families with children to stay away because I doubt you will have a good time. Needless to say we will not be returning.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank hejall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good food that doesn't cost a fortune.”
Reviewed 23 July 2014

I nearly always stop here for lunch with my wife, the reason is simple. I like the food which is always fairly priced, fresh and most of all tastes good.
Due to family at Stirling University, we used to drop in to Stirling very regularly and found this small, family run restaraunt in the centre, not far from the shopping centre.
Now ten years later this is still a wee gem, nothing much changes, even the owners seem to stay the same age!! If you want a quiet, cosy lunch for two then the pizza/pasta shared plate is a must.
I have never waited longer than fifteen minutes, which gives you time to take the weight off your feet, have a cool drink and watch the people go by. Very friendly staff, lovely to talk to the owners and never had a bad meal once.
From a quick ten minute espresso and a read of the paper, to a full blown family meal Last Ciociara can cover everything in between. Belissimo

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank david g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Dont waste your money”
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Waited almost an hour for food. Which was disgusting and overpriced. No apologies for the wait. Dont waste ypir time or money in this place.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Lynfarlikesgoodfood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Ciociara also viewed

Stirling, Stirling
Stirling, Stirling
 
Stirling, Stirling
 
Bridge of Allan, Stirling
 

Been to La Ciociara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing