We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great short stay! Everytime again.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ravenswood Guest House
Ranked #4 of 62 Stirling B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Ludwigsburg, Germany
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A great short stay! Everytime again.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2013

Although we only had one night we really felt like home.
The room was clean, nice, comfortable and the breakfast was also great to have a good start into the day.
Also there was the possibility of off street parking and a free and fast WiFi-Access.
And on top of that is the owner Stuart a really nice guy and always having a good recommendation.

We can only recommend this Guest House and the next time in Stirling we will definitly try to get a room there again.

Many greetings from Germany...

Room Tip: We had the ensuite room on the first floor and loved it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jens S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ravenstu, Owner at Ravenswood Guest House, responded to this review, 18 August 2013
Hello Jen S,
Thank you for taking time to write a great review / rating of my guest house, it was nice to meet you both for your short stay in Stirling.
Glad you found the house clean, comfortable and the Wi-Fi really fast.
Hopefully you will have an opportunity to stay again in the future.
Cheers
Stuart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

363 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    309
    49
    5
    0
    0
See reviews for
78
150
38
50
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2013

At first we were worried that as our room faced the main road and a railway line it would be hellish noisy - not so! Stuart, who seems to be a very fit one man band went out of his way for us - drove us up to the Stirling Castle - an easy downhill walk back - and when I asked him of the possibility of doing overdue laundry he most kindly offered to do it himself and would not take a penny for the work. But don't everyone flood him out with laundry please! Stirling has lots of good walkd and drives to do and Ravenswood was a really good value place for us to stay. Stuart cooks a mean breakfast too!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ravenstu, Owner at Ravenswood Guest House, responded to this review, 18 August 2013
Hello Martin F
It was really nice to meet you both, many thanks for choosing to stay here and for writing a fantastic review / rating of my guest house.
Glad you found the room quiet, I have fitted triple glazing to the front rooms, this ensures noise is minimised.
Don't mind doing the odd clothes laundry !, always happy to offer to guests who stay for a few days, after all you are on holiday and shouldn't be wasting time finding a laundrette.
Good to hear you found the guest house great value and you enjoyed breakfast.
Cheers
Stuart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
96 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2013 via mobile

Good guesthouse! Owner is young man, really hospitable) Good located not far from city center. Full scottish Breakfast was really good. There is off street parking and wifi. Good thing he accepts cards)

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ilay1457
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ravenstu, Owner at Ravenswood Guest House, responded to this review, 18 August 2013
Hello Llay1457
Thank you for taking time to write a really good review / rating of my guest house.
Glad you found the house, breakfast and location all good.
I've recently upgraded the Wi-Fi so all rooms now have a really fast Wi-Fi signal.
Hopefullly see you again in the future.
Cheers
Stuart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salzburg, Austria
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2013

we were more than satisfied! the rooms were clean, nice and quiet. the breakfast was perfect - and the boss is a good one! ;) and that all for a very good price! greetings from austria and italy p.s.: the guest house is located near the wallace monument.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ralf H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ravenstu, Owner at Ravenswood Guest House, responded to this review, 18 August 2013
Hello Ralf H
Cheers for the great review / rating of my guest house and for choosing to stay here.
Good to hear you found the house clean and quite, with breakfast being perfect.
I hope you can stay again in the future.
Kind regards
Stuart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2013

We had a short stay here and the host was very accommodating. The place is not fancy but clean and comfortable and the location is great. We had to leave early and the Stuart packed us a breakfast to go that we took from the fridge when we left in the morning. Stuart also helped us decide where to eat dinner. Would recommend.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bammls04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ravenstu, Owner at Ravenswood Guest House, responded to this review, 18 August 2013
Hello Bammls04,
Thank you for the great review / rating of my guest house and for choosing to stay here, much appreciated.
Glad to hear you found the house, clean and comfortable.
Hope you can stay again in the future.
Kind regards
Stuart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stirling, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2013

I first stayed 2 nights in May. The room was tastefully furnished (modern but still cozy) and Stuart, the owner, was very friendly and incredibly helpful. So it was without hesitation that I stayed another 4 nights in July. This time the room was not en-suite but had an adjacent exclusive bathroom (bathrobe provided).

With the very warm temperature during my latest stay, I appreciated the provided electric fan. One small detail that I was glad for was that the adjustable shower head can be positioned quite high (big plus when you are tall).

As other reviewers have mentioned, breakfast is great and filling. I tried the porridge, scrambled eggs and full Scottish breakfast. Everything is freshly cooked and very appetizing. The guest house is within walking distance of the city center, pubs and restaurants, but also conveniently situated if you have business to attend to at the University.

The rooms facing the road, and the train tracks beyond, can be a bit noisy with the windows open. When closed, the noise insulation is very good and you can get a good night's sleep.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nadarajen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ravenstu, Owner at Ravenswood Guest House, responded to this review, 18 August 2013
Hello Nadarajen, many thanks for choosing to stay here and for the fantastic review / rating of my guest house.
I am so pleased you have found the rooms comfortable and you appreciated the fan during the recent warm weather, its cooled down now ! The rooms at the front of the house have been fitted with triple glazing, this ensures any outside noise is minimised.
Glad you enjoyed the various breakfast options and like the house location.
Looking forward to seeing you again in September for the new university term, if you need any help with your move to Stirling please do not hesitate to ask.
Kind regards
Stuart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2013

Our stay at the Ravenswood Guest House was fantastic. Stuart was warm, welcoming, and very helpful throughout our visit. The breakfasts were great and our room was very comfortable, modern and bright. It is a short walk from the city center and from some restaurants that were great choices for dinner. We'll stay here again next time we're in Stirling.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachel and Dave S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ravenstu, Owner at Ravenswood Guest House, responded to this review, 17 July 2013
Hello Rachel and Dave S, many thanks for taking time to write a great review / rating of my guest house, much appreciated.
Always good to hear you found your room comfortable and you enjoyed breakfast.
I hope you can stay again in the future when visiting Stirling.
Cheers
Stuart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stirling hotels
1.0 mi away
The Stirling Highland Hotel
1.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Stirling
1.0 mi away
Premier Inn Stirling City Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Stirling Court Hotel
Stirling Court Hotel
#7 of 21 in Stirling
4.0 of 5 bubbles 495 reviews
1.0 mi away
Friars Wynd Hotel
Friars Wynd Hotel
#4 of 21 in Stirling
4.5 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
1.2 mi away
Victoria Square Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ravenswood Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ravenswood Guest House

Property: Ravenswood Guest House
Address: 94 Causewayhead Road, Stirling FK9 5HJ, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Stirling > Stirling
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 62 B&Bs / Inns in Stirling
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Ravenswood Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stuart Wilson extends a warm, friendly welcome to all guests, whether you are in Stirling for business or pleasure. Ravenswood is a Victorian House which has been modernised and now offers bed and breakfast in comfortable surroundings. The Guest House is located close to the city centre/train station (5 minute car/bus journey or 15 / 20 minute walk). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Ravenswood Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ravenswood Guest House Stirling, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing