We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best breakfast of our trip!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ravenswood Guest House
Ranked #4 of 59 Stirling B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver, BC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Best breakfast of our trip!”
Reviewed 17 September 2013 via mobile

This B&B is in an excellent location. The host obviously takes great pride in providing a quality experience and has succeeded...it was really a pleasure to stay there. Comfy bed, large, super-clean bath and a fabulous breakfast. Highly recommend this one.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SunSeeker13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ravenstu, Owner at Ravenswood Guest House, responded to this review, 18 September 2013
Hello SunSeeker13
Thank you for choosing to stay at Ravenswood and for taking time to write a great review / rating of the guest house, much appreciated.
It was nice to meet you both and also to hear you found it a pleasure to stay here.
Hopefully you can stay again in the future.
Cheers
Stuart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

363 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    309
    49
    5
    0
    0
See reviews for
78
150
38
50
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2013

Was originally going to book at the top-rated Old Tram House but I'm a bath person and the only room there with a bath is their family room, and when I queried about the flexibility of a later breakfast (15 minutes after the proscribed time) I got a terse reply back, so I booked at Ravenswood. Was quite glad that I did.

I booked this room for my mother and me for one night; we would be arriving late in the day from parts elsewhere with the intention of spending the evening/night, then checking out the next morning and touring Stirling before heading north to Loch Tay. Prior to our leaving Canada, Stuart was very helpful answering email queries about parking, etc, and even offered to let us leave our car there for a few hours after check-out (we didn't need to in the end).

The room was a good size and reasonably appointed, but I really cannot remember that much about the room because I was too enamored with the bathroom: full size, light and airy, deep soaker tub, separate shower, full-size pedestal sink, large window sill to set toiletries down on, lots of fluffy towels... the BEST bathroom we had of the five B&Bs we stayed in in the UK. (Having read the other reviews, though, keep in mind this is the only room in the B&B with such a bathroom.) I cannot remember much about the single bed I was in except that I slept well so it must have been fine; and my mom, who was in the double bed, slept fine as well.

There are not any restaurants within walking distance (if I recall correctly); Stuart recommended a nice one a short drive away and kindly called to make us a reservation.

The B&B is a short, easy drive to the Wallace Monument and to the castle.

Breakfast was very good (I had the posh porridge), and while Stuart only serves until 9:15 you are welcome to linger with your toast and tea for as long as you like (unless you're checking out, which is 10am).

There is a small car park in front, but it's tight and I would recommend you park around the corner in the unrestricted parking there. If you do park at front, back into the lot as backing out onto the busy road is tricky due to shrubs creating a dangerous blind spot (Stuart spotted for us).

Room Tip: Get the family room with the full bath. It's also away from the road so it was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MichelleinVan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ravenstu, Owner at Ravenswood Guest House, responded to this review, 18 September 2013
Hello MichelleinVan.
Many thanks for choosing to stay at Ravenswood and for taking time to write a great review, it was nice to meet you and your mother.
It's good to hear you liked the bathroom, found the beds comfortable and enjoyed breakfast.
Always happy to advise on where to eat and make restaurant reservations. The nearest ones are between a 10 and 20 minute walk or 2 minutes in the car.
Hope you can stay again in the future.
Cheers
Stuart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
120 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2013

Booked on the day and was very lucky that Stuart had a spare room due to a cancellation. Could not find a fault. Clean, comfortable rooms. God breakfast. Small car park to the front. Pleasant 10 minute walk into town over stirling bridge. Very helpful, pleasant host. Recommended!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Egoth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ravenstu, Owner at Ravenswood Guest House, responded to this review, 5 September 2013
Hello Egoth
So glad I had a cancellation, was really good to meet you both. Thank you for taking time to write a great review / rating of my guest house.
Good to hear you found the house clean, comfortable and convenient for the town.
Hope you can stay again in the future.
Cheers
Stuart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 August 2013

My daughter and I wished to explore the University of Stirling and its surroundings and so chose to stay at Ravenswood for the night. We were impressed by the efforts the owner, Stuart, made to ensure his guests had a comfortable stay. We had comfortable beds, use of a fridge, flexible breakfast times, nice toiletries.. Stuart made us feel very welcome from the very first meeting. He talked to us about the area and the university environment which was very helpful. We would be very happy to stay at his place again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Helen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ravenstu, Owner at Ravenswood Guest House, responded to this review, 5 September 2013
Hello Helen P, thank you for choosing to stay here, it was really nice to meet you both.
Thanks, also for writing a nice review / rating of my guest house, I'm really pleased you found the house comfortable and you would stay again.
Hope to see you both for future stays.
Cheers
Stuart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisville, Kentucky
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 August 2013

Stuart greeted us at the door with a warm smile. He was very knowledgeable about the Stirling area and made great recommendations for dinner. When asking for a laundromat he kindly offered to do the laundry for us so we could spend more time visiting Stirling. Would recommend Ravenswood to any guest looking for clean & comfortable place to stay while in Stirling.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Melanie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ravenstu, Owner at Ravenswood Guest House, responded to this review, 18 August 2013
Hello Melanie S
Many thanks for choosing to stay here, it was great to meet you both for your short stay in Stirling.
Good to hear you would recommend my guest house to anyone looking for clean and comfortable accommodation in Stirling, much appreciated.
Hopefully see you both again if you have the opportunity to visit Stirling in the future.
Kind regards
Stuart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ludwigsburg, Germany
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2013

Although we only had one night we really felt like home.
The room was clean, nice, comfortable and the breakfast was also great to have a good start into the day.
Also there was the possibility of off street parking and a free and fast WiFi-Access.
And on top of that is the owner Stuart a really nice guy and always having a good recommendation.

We can only recommend this Guest House and the next time in Stirling we will definitly try to get a room there again.

Many greetings from Germany...

Room Tip: We had the ensuite room on the first floor and loved it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jens S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ravenstu, Owner at Ravenswood Guest House, responded to this review, 18 August 2013
Hello Jen S,
Thank you for taking time to write a great review / rating of my guest house, it was nice to meet you both for your short stay in Stirling.
Glad you found the house clean, comfortable and the Wi-Fi really fast.
Hopefully you will have an opportunity to stay again in the future.
Cheers
Stuart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 8 August 2013

At first we were worried that as our room faced the main road and a railway line it would be hellish noisy - not so! Stuart, who seems to be a very fit one man band went out of his way for us - drove us up to the Stirling Castle - an easy downhill walk back - and when I asked him of the possibility of doing overdue laundry he most kindly offered to do it himself and would not take a penny for the work. But don't everyone flood him out with laundry please! Stirling has lots of good walkd and drives to do and Ravenswood was a really good value place for us to stay. Stuart cooks a mean breakfast too!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ravenstu, Owner at Ravenswood Guest House, responded to this review, 18 August 2013
Hello Martin F
It was really nice to meet you both, many thanks for choosing to stay here and for writing a fantastic review / rating of my guest house.
Glad you found the room quiet, I have fitted triple glazing to the front rooms, this ensures noise is minimised.
Don't mind doing the odd clothes laundry !, always happy to offer to guests who stay for a few days, after all you are on holiday and shouldn't be wasting time finding a laundrette.
Good to hear you found the guest house great value and you enjoyed breakfast.
Cheers
Stuart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stirling hotels
1.0 mi away
The Stirling Highland Hotel
1.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Stirling
1.0 mi away
Premier Inn Stirling City Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Stirling Court Hotel
Stirling Court Hotel
#7 of 20 in Stirling
4.0 of 5 bubbles 514 reviews
1.0 mi away
Friars Wynd Hotel
Friars Wynd Hotel
#4 of 20 in Stirling
4.5 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
1.2 mi away
Victoria Square Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ravenswood Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ravenswood Guest House

Property: Ravenswood Guest House
Address: 94 Causewayhead Road, Stirling FK9 5HJ, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Stirling > Stirling
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 59 B&Bs / Inns in Stirling
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Ravenswood Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stuart Wilson extends a warm, friendly welcome to all guests, whether you are in Stirling for business or pleasure. Ravenswood is a Victorian House which has been modernised and now offers bed and breakfast in comfortable surroundings. The Guest House is located close to the city centre/train station (5 minute car/bus journey or 15 / 20 minute walk). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Ravenswood Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ravenswood Guest House Stirling, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing