We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Try the Posh Porridge”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ravenswood Guest House
Ranked #5 of 59 Stirling B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 September 2013

I agree with the many favourable reviews of Ravenswood. Stuart does a great job and provides excellent accommodation and breakfast. Try the posh porridge, it's great, as are the rest of the breakfast offerings. Bedrooms roomy and comfortable and I was happy to find another large shower that did not require you to do yoga in order to manoeuvre around the fittings. Handy to the local attractions and you can leave your car and walk or catch a bus. Car parking is tight in the spaces in the front of the house but there is plenty of parking available just around a corner in a side street (50 metres). Causewayhead Rd gets very busy in peak times so be careful when driving.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the street are double glazed so very little traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MuzzaBallina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ravenstu, Owner at Ravenswood Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2013

Hello MuzzaBallina, thank you for choosing to stay at Ravenswood.
It was nice to meet you and really appreciate you taking time to write an amazing review / rating of the guest house.
Really glad you found the room spacious and the house location good for tne local attractions.
Yes, agree with parking at the front of the house can be difficult if all guests have cars, but as you say there is plenty of parking round the corner on a quiet street, that's where I leave my car.
Hope you can stay again in the future.
Cheers
Stuart

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (377)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

174 - 180 of 377 reviews

Reviewed 26 September 2013

We always stay at Ravenswood Guest House when my family visits me in Scotland. The house and the rooms are very clean, comfortable and furnished with good taste. Stuart our host is very friendly and helpful. And the breakfast is just delicious; very fresh good food! I've never had such tasty breakfast anywhere else. The location is ideal as well, near the University, Wallace monument and town centre by the bus route. Overall, a very high-standard guest house, I highly recommend!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anette A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ravenstu, Owner at Ravenswood Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2013

Hello Anette A, thank you for taking time to write a fantastic review / rating of the guest house. Its always nice to meet you and your mum when she visits Stirling.
Great to hear you enjoy my breakfasts and like the location of the house.
See you soon for your next stay.
Cheers
Stuart

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2013

The Ravenswood Guest House was a great spot to rest our heads on our holiday in Scotland. Stuart our host runs a tip top residence. His knowledge of Stirling makes getting around wicked easy. So close to the high lites- Wallace Monument and Stirling Castle- hope to stay there again.

Room Tip: recommend to book early as Stuart is sure to fill up early
See more room tips
Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank Kate S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2013

We stayed there 1 night. Stuart gave us a warm welcome and gave us some good advices on where to go for dinner. The places were located on the map of Stirling that he provided too.
The breakfast was generous and tasty, the room was very clean and comfortable, it even included bathrobes! Stuart also offers a selection of dvd's that you can watch in your room. There was also a small fridge in the corridor, where you can store food/drinks.
Overall a great experience, Stuart seems to be a good person, always smiling.
Highly recommandable.

Thank you!

Room Tip: Book in advance if you prefer to have an ensuite room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ines F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2013 via mobile

This B&B is in an excellent location. The host obviously takes great pride in providing a quality experience and has succeeded...it was really a pleasure to stay there. Comfy bed, large, super-clean bath and a fabulous breakfast. Highly recommend this one.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SunSeeker13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ravenstu, Owner at Ravenswood Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2013

Hello SunSeeker13
Thank you for choosing to stay at Ravenswood and for taking time to write a great review / rating of the guest house, much appreciated.
It was nice to meet you both and also to hear you found it a pleasure to stay here.
Hopefully you can stay again in the future.
Cheers
Stuart

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2013

Was originally going to book at the top-rated Old Tram House but I'm a bath person and the only room there with a bath is their family room, and when I queried about the flexibility of a later breakfast (15 minutes after the proscribed time) I got a terse reply back, so I booked at Ravenswood. Was quite glad that I did.

I booked this room for my mother and me for one night; we would be arriving late in the day from parts elsewhere with the intention of spending the evening/night, then checking out the next morning and touring Stirling before heading north to Loch Tay. Prior to our leaving Canada, Stuart was very helpful answering email queries about parking, etc, and even offered to let us leave our car there for a few hours after check-out (we didn't need to in the end).

The room was a good size and reasonably appointed, but I really cannot remember that much about the room because I was too enamored with the bathroom: full size, light and airy, deep soaker tub, separate shower, full-size pedestal sink, large window sill to set toiletries down on, lots of fluffy towels... the BEST bathroom we had of the five B&Bs we stayed in in the UK. (Having read the other reviews, though, keep in mind this is the only room in the B&B with such a bathroom.) I cannot remember much about the single bed I was in except that I slept well so it must have been fine; and my mom, who was in the double bed, slept fine as well.

There are not any restaurants within walking distance (if I recall correctly); Stuart recommended a nice one a short drive away and kindly called to make us a reservation.

The B&B is a short, easy drive to the Wallace Monument and to the castle.

Breakfast was very good (I had the posh porridge), and while Stuart only serves until 9:15 you are welcome to linger with your toast and tea for as long as you like (unless you're checking out, which is 10am).

There is a small car park in front, but it's tight and I would recommend you park around the corner in the unrestricted parking there. If you do park at front, back into the lot as backing out onto the busy road is tricky due to shrubs creating a dangerous blind spot (Stuart spotted for us).

Room Tip: Get the family room with the full bath. It's also away from the road so it was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MichelleinVan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ravenstu, Owner at Ravenswood Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2013

Hello MichelleinVan.
Many thanks for choosing to stay at Ravenswood and for taking time to write a great review, it was nice to meet you and your mother.
It's good to hear you liked the bathroom, found the beds comfortable and enjoyed breakfast.
Always happy to advise on where to eat and make restaurant reservations. The nearest ones are between a 10 and 20 minute walk or 2 minutes in the car.
Hope you can stay again in the future.
Cheers
Stuart

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2013

Booked on the day and was very lucky that Stuart had a spare room due to a cancellation. Could not find a fault. Clean, comfortable rooms. God breakfast. Small car park to the front. Pleasant 10 minute walk into town over stirling bridge. Very helpful, pleasant host. Recommended!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Egoth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ravenstu, Owner at Ravenswood Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2013

Hello Egoth
So glad I had a cancellation, was really good to meet you both. Thank you for taking time to write a great review / rating of my guest house.
Good to hear you found the house clean, comfortable and convenient for the town.
Hope you can stay again in the future.
Cheers
Stuart

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stirling hotels
1.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Stirling
1 mi away
The Stirling Highland Hotel
0.8 mi away
Stirling Court Hotel
Stirling Court Hotel
#7 of 20 in Stirling
601 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Victoria Square Guest House
0.3 mi away
The Old Tram House
The Old Tram House
#8 of 59 in Stirling
554 reviews
1.4 mi away
Linden Guest House
Linden Guest House
#11 of 59 in Stirling
152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ravenswood Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ravenswood Guest House

Address: 94 Causewayhead Road, Stirling FK9 5HJ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Stirling > Stirling
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 59 B&Bs / Inns in Stirling
Price Range: £59 - £103 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ravenswood Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stuart Wilson extends a warm, friendly welcome to all guests, whether you are in Stirling for business or pleasure. Ravenswood is a Victorian House which has been modernised and now offers bed and breakfast in comfortable surroundings. The Guest House is located close to the city centre/train station (5 minute car/bus journey or 15 / 20 minute walk). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Ravenswood Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ravenswood Guest House Stirling, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing