We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Historic and Scenic Castle” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Stirling Castle

Stirling Castle
Book In Advance
More Info
US$18.50*
and up
Stirling Castle Entrance Ticket
Ranked #1 of 63 things to do in Stirling
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Dominating the skyline for miles around, Stirling Castle is a shining example of Renaissance architecture. Visitors can look out from its high stone walls to the battlefields of Stirling Bridge where great medieval armies clashed to decide the fate of nations. Home to generations of Scottish monarchs including, Mary Queen of Scots, the Castle is an enduring and powerful reminder of our fascinating history.
Useful Information: Wheelchair access
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
418 reviews
207 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“Historic and Scenic Castle”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

Stirling Castle is what you picture an old castle/fort to look like. You can tell that this was a spot that people fought over for centuries. The free introductory tour was good although a little more thorough than we might have liked. Make sure to do the wall walk as you can excellent views of the surrounding area. Also it is interesting to explore the halls and palace. They are not as ornate as French or Spanish castles but just as beautiful. The tour gives you a good background and history of the castle if you don't want to buy an audioguide. I would definitely recommend visiting Stirling Castle.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Robert K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,477 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3,439
    1,497
    368
    112
    61
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level Contributor
66 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“cool castle”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2014

Don't miss Stirling Castle. The castle is a very well maintained. Part of the castle is recreated to appear as it appeared during it's prime. We enjoyed exploring all parts of the castle, and found it to be a good addition to our itinerary.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sparky9345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“If you visit one castle in Scotland it should be this one...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2014

I have been to Stirling Castle at least 3 times in the last 4-5 years and I learn something new every time. It is one of the only castles I have ever been to in the UK that is definitely worth the entry fee. Stirling Castle is a very imposing castle and you notice it no matter how you come into Stirling. It has an absolutely amazing view of the Forth Valley and also towards the Trossachs. I find the views much better than Edinburgh Castle.
What sets Stirling apart however is the history within the castle. As it was used as a royal residence and has been lovingly restored by Historic Scotland so you really get a sense of what it would have looked like during the reign of the Stuarts. If you are visiting I HIGHLY recommend taking advantage of the free tours that leave every hour. The tour guides are exceptionally knowledgeable and definitely help the history of the castle come alive. I have been on the tour a few times and every time they told a different story. It only takes about an hour and gives you a good base level of history ahead of exploring the castle on your own.
I would allow at least 3-4 hours for the whole visit but in reality you could spent longer. There are the main buildings to investigate however the nooks and crannies of the castle are equally interesting. I would definitely just allow yourself to get lost and explore!
Don't miss the recently renovated royal apartments. They are absolutely stunning and on my most recent trip they had a woman in the queens apartments who explained the tapestries that are hung there. She was truly amazing and did an excellent job of explaining the story within the tapestries in character. The apartments themselves are vibrantly painted and I have never seen any space so well restored to it's former glory.
I would also definitely suggest visiting the tapestry studio, it is at the back of the castle, hidden away but you can see them work on the final tapestry to finish the set in the queens apartments. The guide in the workshop suggested they hoped to have it finished in autumn this year so get there while you can! Seeing the level of workmanship required in the tapestries will make you appreciate their beauty even more.
All in all, I can't recommend this place enough!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank lilac3033
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stirling, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Stirling Castle”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2014

This is a great attraction folks. A real castle, brilliant views and character actors, catch the jester, he's really good. Museum for the Argyle's, if your into regiments, this is good, other regiments do displays better, but worth a visit.
Renovation of the main hall is a must, I absolutely love the roof beams, such good work went into that.
It rivals Edinburgh castle for a visit, it's that good.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank rob_edward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Berwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Bit steep”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2014

Thought the £14 entry fee was a wee but steep but it is such a stunning castle I wanted to get to see the inside not just the out. We managed to get onto a lodging tour of the castle which was both interesting and informative. The place is impressive and I would recommend to others to visit

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Neil C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Stirling Castle also viewed

 

Been to Stirling Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing