We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Well worth a visit”
Review of Stirling Castle

Stirling Castle
Book In Advance
More Info
US$19.85*
and up
Stirling Castle Entrance Ticket
Ranked #1 of 63 things to do in Stirling
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Dominating the skyline for miles around, Stirling Castle is a shining example of Renaissance architecture. Visitors can look out from its high stone walls to the battlefields of Stirling Bridge where great medieval armies clashed to decide the fate of nations. Home to generations of Scottish monarchs including, Mary Queen of Scots, the Castle is an enduring and powerful reminder of our fascinating history.
Useful Information: Wheelchair access
East Kilbride, Scotland
Level Contributor
256 reviews
124 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“Well worth a visit”
Reviewed 19 July 2014

What an interesting visit for young and old. From the minute you walk through the gates you are greeted with friendly staff full of information to help with your visit. Each building had so much to take in, especially liked the Heads and the Tapestry Studio. Well worth a visit.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandra F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,719 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3,580
    1,569
    387
    117
    66
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
192 reviews
82 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Amazing!”
Reviewed 18 July 2014

This was by far the best Castle in Scotland. Everything was very majestic and hands-on. The town of Stirling is also the best place i've been so far! The vibe and atmosphere of the castle was very majestic! You were able to go into all the places within the castle walls and there was tourguides everywhere to help with any questions about the history of this wonderful castle. Overall , great place!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sterling E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ayrshire
Level Contributor
171 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“A must visit.”
Reviewed 18 July 2014 via mobile

Visited several times now as we have a family pass. People should buy this as without this it would have been 35.50 for us to visit compared to 6/7 pounds per month via direct debit. Very busy on the day we visited. Was able to take lots of photos too. Lots for the kids and old alike.

Helpful?
Thank dmax66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dallas, tx
Level Contributor
190 reviews
52 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“We loved Stirling!”
Reviewed 17 July 2014

We took the train from Edinburgh to Stirling, an easy day trip. There is a bit of a hike to get up to the castle. The Scots always built on high ground for defensive purposes and that give tourists an excellent view! We got the audio guide which was extremely helpful. There are several buildings to visit and there is a tapestry workshop that shouldn't be missed! We just loved Stirling. It was one of my favorite places. On the way out your ticket includes a visit to the house of Nova Scotia's founder. Don't miss!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Valerie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auchterarder
Level Contributor
64 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“History so near to home”
Reviewed 17 July 2014

Why is it we never visit places on our doorstep? The Great Hall has a wonderful feeling about it and the fact that so many historic events happened here makes one feel humble, involving so many events which changed the history of Scotland.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Aislingich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Stirling Castle also viewed

 

Been to Stirling Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing