We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Majestic!”
Review of Stirling Castle

Stirling Castle
Book In Advance
More Info
US$19.92*
and up
Stirling Castle Entrance Ticket
More Info
US$47.81*
and up
Loch Lomond and Stirling Castle Tour from Glasgow
More Info
US$47.81*
and up
Stirling Castle and Whisky Small Group Day Tour from Edinburgh
Ranked #1 of 64 things to do in Stirling
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Dominating the skyline for miles around, Stirling Castle is a shining example of Renaissance architecture. Visitors can look out from its high stone walls to the battlefields of Stirling Bridge where great medieval armies clashed to decide the fate of nations. Home to generations of Scottish monarchs including, Mary Queen of Scots, the Castle is an enduring and powerful reminder of our fascinating history.
Useful Information: Wheelchair access
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Majestic!”
Reviewed 12 August 2014

Stirling Castle sits impressively above the city & is very imposing. The admission price is reasonable I think.....although for myself it was extremely cheap as I am a member of English Heritage. Plenty to do & see once inside the castle with a very helpful audio guide to steer you around the attraction. Very informative plaques help you out if you do not get the audio guide. A brilliant experience!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank W6lly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

6,067 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3,815
    1,642
    418
    124
    68
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Ok but...”
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Great Castle for it's position and presence from the outside. Inside it is sadly lacking with only the military museum having anything of interest. The main hall and chapel seem to have been unsympathetically restored and pretty basic with no real historical story to be told. Sorry, I've been touring around quite a lot in the last 18 months and was not impressed. The cost of visiting is too much for what is on offer.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Peter J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Magical”
Reviewed 11 August 2014

This castle has been renovated to look as it did in the XVI century, and it is superb. We greatly enjoyed the free tour, as well as talking to the role-playing staff. Just bear in mind the castle is on top of a cliff, so it gets really windy, and it rained the whole time we were there.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Vicente A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stirling, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Always fun!”
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Love visiting our castle in Stirling, it's always got fun things to do or learn no matter what the weather is.
staff are always friendly and happy to help, and full of fun facts!
Was speaking to a lovely man named sandy who was happy to answer any of the questions my little cousin had to ask or suggest fun ways to find out, will definitely be back, might be expensive but it's worth it :)

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Kayleigh C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riverside, California
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Stirling Castle - The Amazing Castle of James XI”
Reviewed 11 August 2014 via mobile

Stirling Castle is remarkably well-preserved, thanks to the hundreds of years of military presence followed by an amazing restoration by Historic Scotland. Unlike most castle ruins, Stirling is decked out in all the grandeur of the sixteenth/seventeenth centuries. Don't miss the palace itself, it's magnificent. I highly recommend the guided tour - our guide, Michael, was a wealth of information

Helpful?
Thank Lissannie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Stirling Castle also viewed

 

Been to Stirling Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing