We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not up to H.I. standards”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Stirling
Ranked #3 of 20 Hotels in Stirling
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Not up to H.I. standards”
Reviewed 1 October 2013 via mobile

Stayed for one night during a business trip. The location & price were good however the room left a lot to be desired. Having specified a double bed when booking, I arrived to find it was actually two single beds pushed together with a kingsize fitted sheet over the top. Two of the lights didn't work and the A/C unit made the room stink when switched on. To top it off there was a very bright floodlight directly outside the window which the curtains failed to dim.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank _Vice_Captian_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
craigrenfrew, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Stirling, responded to this review, 3 October 2013
Dear Guest,

We're sorry to hear that we failed to meet your expectations on this occasion. We have a mixture of double rooms which are split between family rooms with a double bed and king rooms with a zip and link bed as you described.
Please accept our apologies for the fact that two of the lights were out. A plentiful supply of bulbs are held on site and any member of the team would have been more than happy to replace these had you reported the issue to reception.
We're not aware of any issues with air conditioning units causing a smell in the bedrooms but we'll certainly watch out for this issue.
Thanks for you feedback which will be used to improve our service for future guests

Yours sincerely

Craig
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

649 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    278
    273
    77
    17
    4
See reviews for
178
248
23
104
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oshawa, Canada
Level Contributor
90 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2013

We enjoyed our stay here for 2 nights. The rooms are very small compared to Holiday Inn Express rooms in North America. The first room we were given had obviously been smoked in which surprised the person at the the front desk. She quickly found us a new room and was most apologetic. We requested a couple more towels and they were quickly supplied. Breakfast is the standard self serve scramble eggs, sausage, cereal etc, and the eating area was clean. There is a decent pub restaurant across the street. As other reviewers have said, it is a little tricky to find, our GPS first took us to the near by army base. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shane k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Stirling, responded to this review, 2 October 2013
Dear shane k,

Thank you for taking the time to express your thoughts and concerns. It is great to know your concerns were addressed by our staff and that you were satisfied with the service they have delivered. Please allow me to apologize for the inconvenience and negative impression you may have had with your room accommodation and the breakfast. Please remain assured that we have recorded your comments and will forward it to the appropriate departments for future considerations. While we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Thank you again for your feedback and have a wonderful day!

Sincerely,

Karen C
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dumfries, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2013

easy to find, out of town but within easy access for all local facilities, booking wheelchair access rooms, very easy on line - photos on web are exactly what you get - very good access, wet room accessible shower

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank George W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
202 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2013

I was pleasantly surprised by the comfort and breakfast offering far better than I expected. This hotel had a business feel to it. This was situated in business park. Recommended for value. Location too far out but this is personal feeling.

Room Tip: Location was out of the main tourist hub.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beverley m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire Dales National Park, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2013

Excellent. Clean, modern, very comfortable room. Staff polite and very helpful. Cooked breakfast could have been a little more variety. Easy access off motorway. Plenty onsite parking. First time stayed at a Holiday Inn in the UK, very impressed!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank P S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GLASGOW
Level Contributor
33 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2013

We stayed here for one night prior to attending a 40th Birthday Party. Nice reception area and we were checked in very quickly and allocated a room on the 2nd floor. Key card did not work but was quickly sorted by the pleasent reception staff. Room was a decent size and the bed very comfortable. We ate dinner at the restaurant across the road but with it being a Saturday it was very busy but the food was good. The breakfast in the morning is self service, with toast. sausage scrambled eggs and various cereals to choose from. The hotel is on the outskirts of Stirling and is about a 10 minute drive to the centre of town. Enjoyable stay

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LAINEYMAY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stirling hotels
0.9 mi away
Premier Inn Stirling City Centre Hotel
1.3 mi away
The Stirling Highland Hotel
1.9 mi away
Stirling Court Hotel
Stirling Court Hotel
#7 of 20 in Stirling
4.0 of 5 bubbles 514 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Golden Lion Hotel
Golden Lion Hotel
#10 of 20 in Stirling
3.5 of 5 bubbles 922 reviews
1.2 mi away
Friars Wynd Hotel
Friars Wynd Hotel
#4 of 20 in Stirling
4.5 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
1.2 mi away
Lost Guest House
Lost Guest House
#14 of 20 in Stirling
3.5 of 5 bubbles 353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Stirling? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Stirling

Property: Holiday Inn Express Stirling
Address: Craigleith Rd | Springkerse Business Park, Stirling FK7 7XH, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Stirling > Stirling
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 20 Hotels in Stirling
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Stirling 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay at the relaxing Holiday Inn Express Stirling hotel, 1 mile from Stirling city centre and 15 miles from Loch Lomond. You will arrive to a warm welcome at our Holiday Inn Express hotel in Stirling, where the airy lobby is set with leather armchairs and daily newspapers. Relax in our Great Room lounge with a drink from our licensed bar or catch up on email with our free WiFi, which is available throughout the hotel. The hotel is just one mile from Stirling's centre, 23 miles from Edinburgh Airport and 36 miles to Glasgow Airport. The Holiday Inn Express Stirling hotel is 15 miles from the splendour of Loch Lomond. Children under 18 stay free when sharing a room with their parents, and our friendly staff can help book tickets to nearby attractions like Blair Drummond Safari Park and Stirling Castle. Enjoy a great start to your day with our complimentary breakfast buffet which features a continental selection and a choice of hot items. Our 2 naturally lit meeting rooms can welcome up to 30 people and there is free WiFi throughout the hotel. We can arrange lunches and refreshments for your meeting, and there's a PC in the Lobby available 24 hours. Wi-Fi is free for guests who book directly with the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Ebookers, IHG, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Stirling reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Stirling Hotel Stirling
Holiday Inn Stirling
Stirling Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Stirling Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing