We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Brilliant room and Hotel- shame about the breakfasts!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Stirling
Ranked #3 of 20 Hotels in Stirling
Certificate of Excellence
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
88 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Brilliant room and Hotel- shame about the breakfasts!”
Reviewed 16 December 2013

We had a great stay this weekend at the holiday inn Stirling. Room was lovely and clean, receptionists on the friday night were so welcoming and helpful. Free wifi in the room, giant bed (great!), powerful shower and good ammenities. The general hotel was very clean and well kept. Great idea having the wee shop at the front also.

Although- the breakfast was probably the worst I have EVER had in a hotel. We arrived later in the morning, still well within the breakfast times. We were met with nothing left on the buffet! A spoonful of rubbery eggs, the same amount of overdone beans, two heels of bread left. Some sweaty cheese... (2 slices left) and some yoghurts. When you pay for breakfast you at least expect there to be something edible! The guy doing the breakfasts looked like he didn't even care that there was nothing there! Pathetic.

However the room was great!

Room Tip: We stayed in room 19, it has a huge bed (two doubles pushed together) and is at the end of the corri...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mhairi C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

649 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    278
    273
    77
    17
    4
See reviews for
178
248
23
104
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2013

stopped for business, room was clean and quiet, staff were polite and friendly. bar was nice, warm and with a big tv. would stop again. no restaurant but a nice pub across the road, nice and quiet and a good selection of food.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Antonio-blyth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cerdanyola del Valles, Spain
Level Contributor
120 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2013

We went to Stirling in last September to run the Stirling 10k Race. We tried this hotel because it is close to the sports pavilion. The hotel has the amenities that you need, quite new and of course the staff was very very friendly and professional. It has a big car park. The breakfast in Holiday inn it's very complete!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bilby76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, Scotland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2013 via mobile

We needed somewhere inexpensive to stay in Stirling whilst meeting up as a group for a night out. The hotel was easy to find. I was greeted by a very friendly helpful member of staff. Check in was simple, room allocated,advised of where breakfast was served between 6.30-10.30, the bar/lounge area open into 3am (my room mate arrived later and was provided with an additional key). The room was extremely clean, even had a desk and chair area. The beds were comfortable, there was a air conditioning unit in the room,which became slightly noisy overnight, however, we still managed a pretty good sleep. There was tea/coffee making facilities the room, TV, hair dryer, plenty of sockets next to the mirror. Breakfast was basic, but plenty of it, so for £43 per room it was perfect

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tige
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
106 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2013

We stayed here for two nights to attend a sporting event on the adjacent business park, and were generally pleased with our stay.

The hotel is, as noted, located a short way out of town (£5-£6 taxi fare) and while not directly convenient for nightlife or shopping it's still accessible.

Checking in was quick and easy, in part thanks to the group-wide loyalty card. While our first offered room was not satisfactory due to a pervasive smell we could most closely attribute to stale cigarette smoke and the door being ajar when we first arrived at the room; a second room of the same specification was quickly found for us.

The room was compact, as standard for this chain and had a small ensuite shower and toilet, with "two-way" door to allow for extra privacy while keeping the shower/sink available. The shower was again compact but adequate, with plenty of heat and pressure available both in the evening and morning. The bed (listed as a double) was a super-king sized bed, and comfortable enough for an uninterrupted night of sleep.

The in room kettle and TV worked as expected, and fresh supplies of milk for tea and coffee were easily obtained from reception. The heating system was responsive and gave good fine control over the temperature.

Breakfast was a self service affair from a mixed buffet, and while it is certainly not a full spread, it was satisfying enough for us, and starting at 6:30am meant that we could eat before we had to be ready at the sports centre nearby. Guests who are used to the offerings of the sisters chains from the same group may be disappointed the spread, but it is typical for the chain and included in all room rates.

At all points we met them the staff were polite and welcoming, and seemed eager to ensure guest satisfaction.

Overall, while the hotel is far from being a romantic boutique stay, it's certainly comfortable enough for a functional couple of nights.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RedHillian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
157 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 172 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2013

Clean, comfortable and easy to find. Close enough to town that the cost of a taxi is not crippling. Check in staff were friendly and offered plenty of advice about the hotel and what was where in the locality.

Any complaints? The breakfast wasn't up too much, scrambled egg looked was off putting and the sausages tasted , well, they tasted of something but not sure what!

As a place to stay that is handy for Stirling and the surrounding area it cannot be faulted though. I'd definitely use again if staying overnight in the area - but I'd probably skip breakfast.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank northotheborder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Stirling, responded to this review, 26 November 2013
Dear northotheborder,

Thank you for the review of our hotel. We are pleased to read you found our hotel clean and comfortable and our staff friendly. We give the utmost importance to our guest comments as they help us improve, and continually provide the best guest experience possible. We are disappointed for letting you down regarding the breakfast. We are working hard to ensure that our breakfast service meets our guests expectations and value your feedback.

Thank you for staying with us and we hope that we can better serve you next time.

Sincerely,

Connie D
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beverley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2013

the price via the holidayinn website was excellent for a saturday night, the location was just outside the town, but handy enough to drive/taxi in.

the rooms were modern, the bed was huge with great pillows and staff were helpful - even letting us drink our own bottle of wine in the reception area after we got in from a night out!

would recommend and stay again if in the area.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jonesg02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stirling hotels
0.9 mi away
Premier Inn Stirling City Centre Hotel
1.3 mi away
The Stirling Highland Hotel
1.9 mi away
Stirling Court Hotel
Stirling Court Hotel
#7 of 20 in Stirling
4.0 of 5 bubbles 514 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Golden Lion Hotel
Golden Lion Hotel
#10 of 20 in Stirling
3.5 of 5 bubbles 921 reviews
1.2 mi away
Friars Wynd Hotel
Friars Wynd Hotel
#4 of 20 in Stirling
4.5 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
1.2 mi away
Lost Guest House
Lost Guest House
#14 of 20 in Stirling
3.5 of 5 bubbles 352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Stirling? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Stirling

Property: Holiday Inn Express Stirling
Address: Craigleith Rd | Springkerse Business Park, Stirling FK7 7XH, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Stirling > Stirling
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 20 Hotels in Stirling
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Stirling 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay at the relaxing Holiday Inn Express Stirling hotel, 1 mile from Stirling city centre and 15 miles from Loch Lomond. You will arrive to a warm welcome at our Holiday Inn Express hotel in Stirling, where the airy lobby is set with leather armchairs and daily newspapers. Relax in our Great Room lounge with a drink from our licensed bar or catch up on email with our free WiFi, which is available throughout the hotel. The hotel is just one mile from Stirling's centre, 23 miles from Edinburgh Airport and 36 miles to Glasgow Airport. The Holiday Inn Express Stirling hotel is 15 miles from the splendour of Loch Lomond. Children under 18 stay free when sharing a room with their parents, and our friendly staff can help book tickets to nearby attractions like Blair Drummond Safari Park and Stirling Castle. Enjoy a great start to your day with our complimentary breakfast buffet which features a continental selection and a choice of hot items. Our 2 naturally lit meeting rooms can welcome up to 30 people and there is free WiFi throughout the hotel. We can arrange lunches and refreshments for your meeting, and there's a PC in the Lobby available 24 hours. Wi-Fi is free for guests who book directly with the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Expedia, IHG, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, HRS, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Stirling reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Stirling Hotel Stirling
Holiday Inn Stirling
Stirling Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Stirling Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing