We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Stirling Highland Hotel
Ranked #6 of 20 Hotels in Stirling
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 December 2013

This hotel is very friendly and standard of service was excellent.
The food was excellent my only comment would be that the menu was practically the same on the second night so some of us had to have the same food as the night before. Other than that I would recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Ann H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_StirlingHighland, General Manager at The Stirling Highland Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 December 2013

Delighted to read that you had an enjoyable stay.

In addition to an a la carte menu we do offer daily specials to ensure guests get variety if staying for more than one night. Not sure why this was not offered to your party, sorry.

Hopefully have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,045)
There are newer reviews for The Stirling Highland Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,245 - 1,251 of 2,045 reviews

Reviewed 1 December 2013

Stayed here for business which was in the conference facilities of the hotel. The meeting rooms were great, the bed rooms were great but the food was very disappointing. We had a buffet lunch in the restaurant. They appeared very short staffed and after waiting 25 mins for them to bring the soup, there was very little left in the buffet. Very few vegetarian options. We then sat with 3 courses of dirty dishes at the table and no staff came to clear them. Dinner was again very poor quality food and only one option for veggies, but to be fair to the staff they arranged for us to have something else from the other menu which was ok. The staff themselves were very friendly and helpful but there wasn't enough of them to provide a decent service. Waited for ever for tea to arrive at breakfast and had to take cutlery and cups off another table myself. No staff came to the table throughout. Considering the money we paid and the high standard of rooms, the issues could be resolved with a little more imagination and thought on the food and on the menu, particularly for veggies, and they clearly need much more staff. Wouldn't hurry back.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BIGFOODGlasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2013

Excellent location and excellent service and facilities.
Accommodation very traditional, comfortable and plush clean surroundings.
Staff could not have been more helpful and informative.
Thoroughly enjoyed stay and would definitely use hotel again both for business and pleasure.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Joan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2013

I think we got what we paid for in a bargain break. Room was adequate but shabby (not chic). Restaurant was perfectly adequate but food variable in quality and portion size - house wine excellent, Bar took 30 mins to serve a pint of lager - problems with the pump. However good value for dbb including a bottle of wine at £119 for two and the character of the hotel more than made up for its poor décor and the most basic ladies facilities for a 4*

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Ruthboys2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2013

We stayed at The Stirling Highland hotel on 22nd - 24th November. Our stay did not start well as the room we were allocated was a total mess when we opened the door. Upon our return to reception the staff were most apologetic and offered us a premium room on the 3rd floor. As we knew this room overlooked a building site we took a basic room on the first floor. This turned out to be an error on our part as the building site outlook is not as bad as some reviews state. The basic room is of a good standard. We stayed on a DB&B deal and made the error of not booking our meal times until late in the day. The dinners we had were first class and the service was very high quality. A good variety of food with attentive, but not overbearing, staff was just what we wanted. The breakfasts were very good as well. The Hotel is situated in the Old Town and both the castle and shopping centre are in walking distance. We would recommend this hotel for anyone staying in Stirling.

Room Tip: 3rd floor looking into town is best.
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank coxapaua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2013

Stayed for one night. I like the church-like design of this hotel. The room was spacious, the only down side being that the shower water pressure was very veeeeeery weak! Breakfast was good with sufficient options.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
Thank AKWShix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2013

stayed two nights during the rememberance weekend loved the hotel and the atmosphere the building had like tom brown school days and a lot of the old features have been kept in perfect condition
the staff where just perfect the breakfast welcome is second to none shown to the table all our requirments where attended to
one disapointment the haggis was not a veggie option made do with the tattie scones
the room was clean and tidy and comfortable slept like a log a really good nights sleep loved the bed
pity we had food out with family as the food our friends had enjoyed was exceptionial will try next visit

Room Tip: we had a room over looking the courtyard gave us a great sense of being in the school the thrid floo...
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank trueblue48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stirling
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Stirling
1.8 mi away
Stirling Court Hotel
Stirling Court Hotel
#7 of 20 in Stirling
566 reviews
0.2 mi away
Golden Lion Hotel
Golden Lion Hotel
#10 of 20 in Stirling
974 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
King Robert Hotel
King Robert Hotel
#2 of 3 in Bannockburn
516 reviews
5.0 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro
0.1 mi away
Friars Wynd Hotel
Friars Wynd Hotel
#5 of 20 in Stirling
188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Stirling Highland Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Stirling Highland Hotel

Address: 29 Spittal Street, Stirling FK8 1DU, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Stirling > Stirling
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 20 Hotels in Stirling
Price Range: £81 - £152 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Stirling Highland Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 19th Century, four-star Stirling Highland Hotel used to be the city’s high school and is just a few minutes walk from Stirling Castle and the attractions of the city. Its 98 bedrooms include 18 premium bedrooms and 2 deluxe rooms and Stirling is the gateway to the Scottish Highlands so majestic mountains and tranquil lochs are close by. Enjoy the Trossach’s National Park before sampling a single malt in the hotel’s new on-site Stirling Whisky Shop. Unwind in the spa, enjoy award-winning food in the 2 AA Rosette Scholars Restaurant then relax with a nightcap in the Headmaster’s Bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Superbreak UK, LateRooms, Ebookers, Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your The Stirling Highland Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Stirling
Stirling Highland Hotel
The Stirling Highland Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing