We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Stirling Highland Hotel
Ranked #6 of 20 Hotels in Stirling
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 December 2013

We stayed in this hotel by accident after the hotel we had booked (Golden Lion - don't bother) failed, on arrival, to provide the three rooms we had booked 3 months earlier. This hotel was on the list of possibles for our trip, but a little further from the rugby ground we were visiting. If we visit Stirling again, however, we will certainly stay here as it is very close to the castle and all the cities amenities.
The staff were excellent, the rooms were of a good quality, though ask if there is a connecting door with the adjoining room as you can hear the occupants clearly through the door. The general ambiance is charming, the bar is cozy and the breakfast first class.
All in all a very pleasant hotel in a very convenient location. Has plenty of on site parking.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms with inter-connecting doors.
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DavidNRM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,044)
There are newer reviews for The Stirling Highland Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,239 - 1,245 of 2,045 reviews

Reviewed 10 December 2013 via mobile

We booked a last minute night away here. The forth time we have stayed here in the last couple of years.

Excellent service again and nice room. I get what some people say about elements of the room being slightly tired, but not enough for us to mark the room down. We are trying to look at the overall.

We decided to have breakfast in bed and this too was excellent. Must admit we have never eaten I the resturant, but we did have the afternoon tea which was very good and a reasonable price.

Good hotel in an excellent location. Friendly staff and good service. We are back in January!!

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank AlanG1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2013

Stayed at the Highland Hotel overnight with my wife on a visit to family in Stirling. We were welcomed at the hotel by a very pleasant and efficient receptionist. The room, 331 was very clean, comfortable and warm, and had all that we required for our stay. We had dinner at the hotel which was well prepared and very tasty, a good quality meal. sat in the bar area after dinner which was comfortable and pleasant, only downside was the breeze coming through the open door, had to request for this to be closed over. had a good nights sleep in a large and very comfortable bed. Breakfast was a let down as buffet food was luke warm. Overall I would recommend staying at this hotel which is only a couple of minutes walk from the city centre, bus and trains.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Smythers01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2013

Room not ready until 4.30pm. Party night was very poor, worse I've been to. The 'party room' was very small and didn't feel very welcoming. No heating in very drafty room. Gym area felt a little tired and again very cold and drafty outside pool area.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank DCtrip2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_StirlingHighland, General Manager at The Stirling Highland Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 December 2013

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on the festive event you attended at the hotel. I was surprised to read your comments as we had over 80 guests attending the event and the other feedback has been very positive.

I also note from our records that you checked-in to your room at 15.10 and not 16.30 but apologise if you were kept waiting.

Thank you once again for taking the time to provide feedback and I am genuinely sorry you left the hotel disappointed.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2013

A group of friends and I ended up being booked into this hotel following an almighty cock up by the staff at The Golden Lion just down the road, on a weekend away to watch the rugby.

The group of 6 of us were put upon this hotel at the very last minute and I cannot praise them highly enough for their assistance and customer service. We were made to feel welcome from the moment we arrived to the moment we left, despite them being passed incorrect information by the manager at The Golden Lion about the rooms we required. They sorted everything out quickly and efficiently, for which we were extremely grateful.

This hotel is in a great location, just a few minutes walk from the town centre and close to pubs and restaurants as well as the fabulous Stirling Castle (well worth a visit). The beds are among the comfiest I have ever slept in, I didn't want to get out! Breakfast was also excellent.

Thank you so much to the hotel management for coming to our rescue after such a disaster at The Golden Lion.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nrfcmad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_StirlingHighland, General Manager at The Stirling Highland Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 December 2013

Delighted to read that we managed to help out when you had been let down by another hotel.

Hopefully we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back at some stage in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2013

I bought a deal through Living Social for the weekend 6-8th December for a birthday break and take in the sights. The welcome at the hotel was very friendly and professional. The room was good but not what I would call 4 star. It was all a bit tired looking. The bed was comfortable and facilities in the room were adequate. We ate in the restaurant on the first evening and although the food was nice I thought that it was a bit overpriced for the quality on the plate. Waitresses etc were particularly friendly. Buffet breakfast on both mornings was busy and staff were stretched clearing tables for new diners. Scrambled egg was poor and some items were not replenished on time for some diners to have all of the choices.

Room Tip: It was worth the few pounds extra for upgrade to premier room.
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 980Bernie1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_StirlingHighland, General Manager at The Stirling Highland Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 December 2013

Thank you for the detailed feedback on your recent stay. Disappointing to read that there were certain aspects of your stay that did not meet your expectations.

Breakfast does get very busy late on at the weekends but we know this so we should be able to respond appropriately with fresh supplies, we will carry out the necessary training to ensure this is not repeated in the future.

Particularly disappointed to read of your comments regarding dinner. We were awarded an AA rosette last year for the restaurant and the feedback we receive if generally very good.

Thanks again for the detailed response.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2013

This hotel is very friendly and standard of service was excellent.
The food was excellent my only comment would be that the menu was practically the same on the second night so some of us had to have the same food as the night before. Other than that I would recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Ann H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_StirlingHighland, General Manager at The Stirling Highland Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 December 2013

Delighted to read that you had an enjoyable stay.

In addition to an a la carte menu we do offer daily specials to ensure guests get variety if staying for more than one night. Not sure why this was not offered to your party, sorry.

Hopefully have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stirling
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Stirling
1.8 mi away
Stirling Court Hotel
Stirling Court Hotel
#7 of 20 in Stirling
566 reviews
0.2 mi away
Golden Lion Hotel
Golden Lion Hotel
#10 of 20 in Stirling
974 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
King Robert Hotel
King Robert Hotel
#2 of 3 in Bannockburn
516 reviews
5.0 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro
0.1 mi away
Friars Wynd Hotel
Friars Wynd Hotel
#5 of 20 in Stirling
188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Stirling Highland Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Stirling Highland Hotel

Address: 29 Spittal Street, Stirling FK8 1DU, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Stirling > Stirling
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 20 Hotels in Stirling
Price Range: £81 - £152 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Stirling Highland Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 19th Century, four-star Stirling Highland Hotel used to be the city’s high school and is just a few minutes walk from Stirling Castle and the attractions of the city. Its 98 bedrooms include 18 premium bedrooms and 2 deluxe rooms and Stirling is the gateway to the Scottish Highlands so majestic mountains and tranquil lochs are close by. Enjoy the Trossach’s National Park before sampling a single malt in the hotel’s new on-site Stirling Whisky Shop. Unwind in the spa, enjoy award-winning food in the 2 AA Rosette Scholars Restaurant then relax with a nightcap in the Headmaster’s Bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Superbreak UK, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your The Stirling Highland Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Stirling
Stirling Highland Hotel
The Stirling Highland Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing