We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Needs refurbished”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Stirling Highland Hotel
Ranked #6 of 21 Hotels in Stirling
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Needs refurbished”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2014

We bought a deal online from groupon.
We had spa treatments and lunch. The treatments were of poor quality, relaxation room was more like a doctors waiting room, with dirty mugs lying all day.
Swimming pool was dirty, cobwebs etc. Lunch was average but for a hotel of this star I would expect a lot more.
I would never return here.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gem W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stewart B, General Manager at The Stirling Highland Hotel, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
Dear Gem W,

Please accept my sincere apologies that you were not satisfied with your spa day.

It was disappointing to read of the problems you encountered with cleanliness, these will be rectified.

I am confident that your experience was not indicative of our normal standards and hopefully you will return and give us another chance at some stage in the future.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,905 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    646
    686
    328
    146
    99
See reviews for
243
986
60
214
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (309)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2014

Welcoming from the first moment you arrive. The staff at the hotel are very attentive and professional. The rooms were comfortable and the food and service are excellent. Got a tour of the observatory!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank Sarah D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stewart B, General Manager at The Stirling Highland Hotel, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
Dear Sarah D,

Delighted that we provided a memorable experience for your birthday.

Our fully operational observatory is a unique feature and certainly worth a visit.

Glad that you found the staff to be very attentive and professional and the service to be of a high standard.

Please come back to celebrate your birthday next year.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kilmarnock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2014

Re-visited Stirling Highland on a dinner bed and breakfast (with bottle of wine) deal, received as a Christmas present.
We were last here over 20 years ago and remember enjoying our stay then. Coming up hill from station towards castle it is very easy to find (about 5 minutes walk) and is in an old building built around what used to be a school quadrangle, so bar is Library and Headmaster's Study. Our corner room on top floor was modern with nice en suite (with toiletries), flat screen TV and complementary bottle of water. However unfortunately the windows are single glazed and being March, they let in a lot of draughts. However bed was fortunately placed well away from corner with windows.
We enjoyed our three course well cooked dinner and our excellent breakfast.
Staff were pleasant, chatty, helpful and mainly with guid Scots tongues.
Hopefully it won't be another twenty years till we return.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dominiesabroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stewart B, General Manager at The Stirling Highland Hotel, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
Dear dominiesabroad,

Thank you for the review after your recent stay, delighted that you had a good time and please don't wait another 20 years before returning.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stirling
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2014

My husband and I have just returned home after a short stay at the Stirling Highland Hotel, unlike other reviews, we found reception pleasant and efficient. The room was clean and comfortable, both breakfast and evening meal were very good. I would not hesitate in returning to this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
4 Thank joyf8855
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stewart B, General Manager at The Stirling Highland Hotel, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
Dear joyf8855,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback after your recent stay.

Delight that you had a "great stay" and found the hotel to be clean and comfortable.

Obviously food is a very important part of the experience so glad to read that you enjoyed both breakfast and dinner.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prenton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
336 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2014

Located above the town en route to 'The Amazing Stirling Castle' this hotel has amazing views of the distant countryside.
A former School, this building was converted well into an excellent hotel. From check-in until departure the staff show a genuine desire to ensure you have a great stay.
Rooms are of a high quality and judging from the two we had booked they are spacious too. We were located on the first floor which by coincidence also housed the restaurant and bar. As two couples we were laden down with heavy luggage but this seemed no issue to one of the duty managers who helped us unload the car and roof box and almost 'Everest Sherpa' like loaded himself up with bags and cases all over him and he would not accept my offer to lighten his load, amazingly though we used the lift and he used the stairs the bags were at our room doors before we were!
Our arrival was late'ish' and we were informed by the team that we had just missed dinner in the restaurant, we were more than content with sandwiches in the bar and were in the process of ordering them when the afore mentioned 'Sherpa'/Duty Manager appeared saying that "The chef had heard of our late arrival and wondered if we would like to dine in the restaurant"! Amazing and kind gesture, having previously worked in this industry I know how keen staff can be to shut down the kitchen on reaching last orders so I truly appreciated the offer and the fact that the Duty Manager had actually taken the trouble to discuss this with the Head Chef, this is customer service folks, perceptive staff who want to deliver high standards. Puma Hotels should be extremely proud of this team.
Sandwiches were high quality too and well presented by the efficient and friendly bar team. I was initially a bit taken aback by the £50+ bill for the four rounds of sandwiches and four none too exotic drinks but on reflection given our surroundings, the service and the quality of the food I acknowledge the prices are 'fair'.
Breakfast was a fine experience, an abundance of foods hot and cold all buffet style, my wife requested Porridge and the team arranged this much to her delight, her first taste of True Scottish porridge in Scotland exceeded her expectations.
There is a beautiful leisure, club sadly our time schedule didn't permit time to enjoy it but I have to say the whole experience was fantastic enough to whet my appetite to want to return.

Over the years I've been fortunate to stay in a lot of hotels (100+), mainly on business in the past and I have to say The Stirling Highland Hotel would definitely be in my top 5 hotels.

Room Tip: Our room was courtyard facing, there are rooms overlooking the local countryside, if you are there f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stewart B, General Manager at The Stirling Highland Hotel, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
Dear Andrew S,

Thank you for such a detailed 5 star review.

Gratifying to read of the great customer care we delivered.

Please come back again soon and leave enough time to use the leisure facilities.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paisley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2014

Stayed here for a weekend birthday break. Original building out buildings and newer bedroom block lack continuity. Restaurant needs decorated and make it fit building. Fake brick paint work is poor considering history of the building. Pool. sauna, spa area needs dome TLC. Room was ok but a twin really should have two single beds not a unzipped double. Staff were all extremely friendly and professional and breakfast was good. 4 stars seem unmerited. Did not eat dinner in hotel as menu is very overpriced!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Makevy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stewart B, General Manager at The Stirling Highland Hotel, responded to this review, 20 March 2014
Dear Makevy,

Thank you for taking the time to pass on your comments after your recent stay.

Delighted that you found the staff to be all extremely friendly and professional and breakfast good.

Disappointed to read that you found the building lacked continuity. All the public areas in the hotel are housed within the old High School of Stirling dating back to 1854 and we are a grade A listed building. The hotel was created by adding a modern bedroom block, we have wall mounted flat screen tvs and free Wi-Fi in all bedrooms. We therefore feel we offer the best of both worlds.

I agree with your comments regarding the fake brick paint, but this is only in a small section of the hotel and we have plans to decorate this area of the restaurant in the near future.

Thank you once again for taking the time to provide feedback.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
glasgow
Level Contributor
27 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2014

It had been a few years since we visiting this hotel but got a fab deal on hotel connexions and returned as a treat for my hubby's birthday. I emailed the hotel in advance to book our evening meal and to asking for a nice room. We very quickly got confirmation that we had been allocated a premium room and our restaurant booking sorted. On arrival I mentioned that my only complaint from a previous visit was that we had not been allowed an ice bucket in our room. The reception staff looked horrified and assured us that one would be waiting for us when we returned from our trip to town - which it was. We had a lovely evening meal and not only was the food excellent but so too was the service. Unfortunately the breakfast was buffet style so not particularly hot but overall was fairly good. In terms of value for money, location and standard of food we had a brilliant stay and would return without hesitation. Thanks for a lovely stay.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GlasgowLainey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stewart B, General Manager at The Stirling Highland Hotel, responded to this review, 20 March 2014
Dear GlasgowLainey,

Thank you for the positive review after your recent stay, delighted that you had a "brilliant stay".

Gratifying that you found the food at diner to be excellent but obviously disappointing to read about the cold food at breakfast. This was a problem we had about a month ago due to a faulty thermostat on the breakfast buffet but we thought it had been resolved. Our maintenance team and Chef are investigating.

Glad you have already decided to return.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stirling hotels
0.1 mi away
Friars Wynd Hotel
Friars Wynd Hotel
#4 of 21 in Stirling
4.5 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Stirling City Centre Hotel
0.2 mi away
Golden Lion Hotel
Golden Lion Hotel
#10 of 21 in Stirling
3.5 of 5 bubbles 905 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Stirling
1.8 mi away
Stirling Court Hotel
Stirling Court Hotel
#7 of 21 in Stirling
4.0 of 5 bubbles 495 reviews
0.3 mi away
Lost Guest House
Lost Guest House
#14 of 21 in Stirling
3.5 of 5 bubbles 345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Stirling Highland Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Stirling Highland Hotel

Property: The Stirling Highland Hotel
Address: 29 Spittal Street, Stirling FK8 1DU, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Stirling > Stirling
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 21 Hotels in Stirling
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Stirling Highland Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 19th Century, four-star Stirling Highland Hotel used to be the city’s high school and is just a few minutes walk from Stirling Castle and the attractions of the city. Its 98 bedrooms include 18 premium bedrooms and 2 deluxe rooms and Stirling is the gateway to the Scottish Highlands so majestic mountains and tranquil lochs are close by. Enjoy the Trossach’s National Park before sampling a single malt in the hotel’s new on-site Stirling Whisky Shop. Unwind in the spa, enjoy award-winning food in the 2 AA Rosette Scholars Restaurant then relax with a nightcap in the Headmaster’s Bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotelopia, Odigeo, Lastminute, Superbreak UK, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Stirling Highland Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Stirling
Stirling Highland Hotel
The Stirling Highland Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing