We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well situated ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Stirling Highland Hotel
Ranked #6 of 20 Hotels in Stirling
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Well situated ”
Reviewed 4 April 2014 via mobile

Stayed for two nights DBB had a standard room which was lovely, the bed was comfortable
The food was excellent be aware the bar gets very busy. Castle and shops all within walking distance. My only complaint is the parking, something needs to be done about it. That said would definitely stay at hotel again

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Daisyditto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stewart B, General Manager at The Stirling Highland Hotel, responded to this review, 7 April 2014
Dear Daisyditto,

Thank you for posting your comments after your stay.

Delighted that you found the food to be excellent.

The car park can get busy at times but as you say the Castle and shops are all within a few minutes walk so once you are in you can forget about it.

Please don't leave it too long before your next stay.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,009 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    680
    724
    347
    154
    104
See reviews for
262
1,048
65
219
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (327)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stirling, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2014

We attended for a spa day today and like another reviewer we were a bit disappointed in some of what we saw. We were warmly greeted by staff which was probably the 'warmest' bit of the visit. The Relaxation room was physically cold and univiting and there were cobwebs on the windows & walls. The treatment room was also cold although the staff were lovely. On the way up to the treatment area there was cleaning in progress in the toilets however there were loo rolls, tissues cleaning products strewn over the stairs outside the toilets...screaming health & safety. The poolside area is very mix and match with cracked window, damp on the walls and patch up jobs...I was really surprised by this given it's star rating. Lunch was the best bit of the day and the food was amazing with great service. I really think the decor lets the dining area down. Many layers of paint were obvious to see..dust on the seats around the fireplace..so many different types of wood which can look nice but again it just seemed very mix and match. I feel bad writing such a negative review but some of this is so easily rectified...shame.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ally C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stewart B, General Manager at The Stirling Highland Hotel, responded to this review, 7 April 2014
Dear Ally C,

Please accept my apologies that there were certain aspect of your visit that disappointed you. I have noted your comments and will address them with the departmental manager concerned to ensure these shortcomings are rectified.

Delighted that the amazing food and great service at lunch saved the day.

Thank you for taking the time to highlight these issues so that they can be rectified.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
perth scotland
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2014

fantastic hotel...the one night dinner bed and breakfast was gifted as a 50th for my husband and a late anniversary present.
everyone of the staff were welcoming and happy, our room was brilliant with bathrobes and slippers on arrival.(we upgraded) lighting is a little dull but just made me more relaxed. Bed is so comfy and the bath s lovely and deep even i fitted in and im a big girl..
Food is outstanding, lunch time I had fish and chip and hand on heart say it was the best iv ever had...fish batter melted in your mouth it was so light.. the husband was so jealous as he had the steak burger but couldn't fault it neither.
dinner was also very delicious (very worth a 5 star rating)and was most impressed with the fast service .
we were very kindly shown the observatory and am just so sorry it was a foggy night .however we got to see a close up of the Wallace monument and could make out the brick work !
if you have the time. please make a point of visiting the observatory.
breakfast was a sight disappointment with the scrambled eggs being very watery,i asked for a fresh fried egg and received a poached one instead? lol
but they have a lovely selection , the bacon is also fantastic !

loved this hotel.....would I go back again....its a big fat YES !!

Room Tip: room 308, the building opposite is being renovated but the view over Stirling and surrounding area i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1madchick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stewart B, General Manager at The Stirling Highland Hotel, responded to this review, 7 April 2014
Dear 1madchick,

Delighted that you had such an enjoyable stay and found the food to be "outstanding".

The observatory is a unique feature and certainly worth a visit.

My apologies for the egg incident at breakfast but as you kindly gave us 5 stars that presumably did not detract from the enjoyment of your stay too much.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Motherwell, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 31 March 2014

A beautiful hotel. We arrived after getting married to be presented with an upgrade from the lovely team. Friendly staff, great room, good pool/spa & delicious breakfast. Would go back a hundred times.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Sullysarah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stewart B, General Manager at The Stirling Highland Hotel, responded to this review, 7 April 2014
Dear Sullysarah,

Delighted that we provided such an enjoyable end to your special day - congratulations!

Please remember us when you are thinking of where to stay to celebrate your anniversary.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Falkirk, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2014

My daughter chose this hotel for her wedding day and despite a few hiccups, we were not disappointed. The 'hiccups' mainly related to a lack of communication between staff however, these were easily resolved in a very professional manner. The staff were professional, warm and friendly. Our wedding guests received reduced rates. All meals were delicious and very well presented. With the regards to the wedding, we could not speak highly enough of the service we received. The ceremony , dining and evening reception rooms were beautifully decorated and the chef should be very proud of the wedding breakfast. Beautiful food and very well presented. The hotel staff from wedding planner to housekeeping staff went out of their way to provide whatever we required and they all contributed to a very happy day. The only area which was slightly disappointing was the relaxation room in the spa. As a mother and daughter 'pampering' time and a stress reduction start to the day for the bride- we had treatments booked. The therapist were great and we have no complaints regarding our treatments - wonderfully relaxing, however, the hotel really needs to redesign the 'relaxation room'. Very basic - and not at all relaxing. There were no loungers, just chairs against the wall - feels more like a waiting room. As I say a few 'hiccups' but nothing that wasn't rectified quickly and if you are looking for a wedding venue who specialises in smaller weddings (max 100) then I have no hesitation in recommending this hotel. Thanks to the staff my daughter had a fantastic wedding day and our guests had a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Annmarie56_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stewart B, General Manager at The Stirling Highland Hotel, responded to this review, 7 April 2014
Dear Annmarie56_13,

Disappointing to read that there were a few "hiccups" we would prefer to avoid these but delighted that on the whole you had a fantastic day and would recommend us as a wedding venue.

It was particularly pleasing to read of the very positive attitude of all the staff you encountered and that they were "professional, warm and friendly".

Thank you for taking the time to provide such detailed feedback.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunbar
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2014

We arrived on a cold Saturday afternoon and were delighted to find the hotel
was nice and warm in all common areas such as "check in" corridors etc.
This hotel is well placed for visiting the area with good access to motorways as well as being central for exploring the town by foot. The staff were excellent, knowledgeable on the local area and attentive at all times.
Our room was a good size with ensuite, also a table with two tub chairs and tv, everything was clean and shining as if new, superb.
It was a great experience and we WILL return hopefully for longer nextime.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank adwsydersweb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stewart B, General Manager at The Stirling Highland Hotel, responded to this review, 7 April 2014
Dear adwsydersweb,

Thank you for taking the time to pass on your positive feedback.

Very pleasing that we provided such a warm welcome and that you will be returning for a longer stay next time.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for our wedding anniversary on 28th march. Nice, clean and friendly staff especially reception. Only one disappointment, we requested Soya milk for my wife due to being lactose intolerant but despite request on arrival there was none available for breakfast and when you don't eat full English struggled to find a suitable compromise. Still if this is all we had to complain about then nothing spoilt it certainly would not stop us going back to this hotel and beautiful city. Food was excellent for our evening meal and also had high tea on arrival.....scrumptious

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank stevemusgrove81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stewart B, General Manager at The Stirling Highland Hotel, responded to this review, 2 April 2014
Dear stevemusgrove81,

Delighted that on the whole you had a very enjoyable stay but please accept my sincere apologies for the lack of soya milk, very disappointing.

I'm glad that the mix up with the milk did not spoil your stay and hopefully we will welcome you back again in the not too distant future, I promise we will have the milk!

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stirling
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Stirling
0.2 mi away
Golden Lion Hotel
Golden Lion Hotel
#10 of 20 in Stirling
961 reviews
1.8 mi away
Stirling Court Hotel
Stirling Court Hotel
#7 of 20 in Stirling
554 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
King Robert Hotel
King Robert Hotel
#2 of 3 in Bannockburn
510 reviews
5.0 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro
2.5 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#2 of 2 in Bridge of Allan
750 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Stirling Highland Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Stirling Highland Hotel

Property: The Stirling Highland Hotel
Address: 29 Spittal Street, Stirling FK8 1DU, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Stirling > Stirling
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 20 Hotels in Stirling
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Stirling Highland Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 19th Century, four-star Stirling Highland Hotel used to be the city’s high school and is just a few minutes walk from Stirling Castle and the attractions of the city. Its 98 bedrooms include 18 premium bedrooms and 2 deluxe rooms and Stirling is the gateway to the Scottish Highlands so majestic mountains and tranquil lochs are close by. Enjoy the Trossach’s National Park before sampling a single malt in the hotel’s new on-site Stirling Whisky Shop. Unwind in the spa, enjoy award-winning food in the 2 AA Rosette Scholars Restaurant then relax with a nightcap in the Headmaster’s Bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Stirling Highland Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Stirling
Stirling Highland Hotel
The Stirling Highland Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing