We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great weekend and lovely hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Stirling Highland Hotel
Ranked #6 of 20 Hotels in Stirling
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“A great weekend and lovely hotel”
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Was concerned reading some of the reviews on this hotel. I can say with confidence we got what we paid for, it was value for money and exceeded our expectations. Four of us were travelling in two twin rooms and they were able to swop this to a triple and single (even though they kept the double bed in the second room) to allow my dad privacy and a room of his own. Hotel were very accomodating during our stay, rooms spotless, breakfast good and lovely building (it was a former school). Loved stirling too. We found a lovely friendly coffee shop where we enjoyed lunch both days crema cafe - would highly recommend there too as we were so surprised that a high street cafe would be serving fresh homemade food! It was a great place - friendly staff both there and hotel. Will return to both!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank N6RDK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stewart B, General Manager at The Stirling Highland Hotel, responded to this review, 26 April 2014
Dear Dkoplewsky,

Delighted that you had a nice stay and that we exceeded your expectations.

Glad that you found the food at breakfast to be good. Next time you must have dinner, feedback is very good.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,927 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    657
    690
    334
    146
    100
See reviews for
245
1,002
63
214
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (311)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Barrow-in-furness, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 21 April 2014

This hotel and it's wonderful staff deserve to be visited. It offers as much as any other location. The staff and what the hotel offers can't be beat. We got much more than we expected. We will go back again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank subman571
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stewart B, General Manager at The Stirling Highland Hotel, responded to this review, 26 April 2014
Dear subman571,

Thank you for taking the time to pass on your comments delighted that you had such a good stay and that you will be back.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stirling
1 review
Reviewed 21 April 2014

I have stayed in this hotel before for a Spa weekend and was great but this time ive left feeling annoyed and not very relaxed.
My back massage was suppose to be an hour but I was out in less than 40 minutes and felt like I was being tickled rather than sorting out my muscles and was spoken too right through my treatment so I couldn't relax. My facial was good apart from when I was lying there for 10 minutes with a face mask she was still sitting there over me, felt very uneasy and once again was cut short.
Receptionist we got once afternoon was very sarcastic when I asked her a question but other than that the food was great and the restaurant staff were fantastic had a great experience with them but will not be back.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Mrsu2be
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stewart B, General Manager at The Stirling Highland Hotel, responded to this review, 26 April 2014
Dear Mrsu2be,

Please accept my apologies for the disappointment we caused you with your spa treatments.

I have discussed your comments with the Beauty Manager and ensured corrective training is implemented to prevent future guests having a similar experience.

Good to read that we delivered great food and fantastic service in the restaurant.

Please once again accept my apologies.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fareham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
91 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014 via mobile

Stirling hotel what a great place checked in for a wedding staff where so good rooms are very clean food was fresh and well cooked breakfast was well presented full English continental you name it it was their. Sterling itself is worth the trip lots of history

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank jonnyboy78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stewart B, General Manager at The Stirling Highland Hotel, responded to this review, 26 April 2014
Dear jonnyboy78,

Glad you enjoyed your stay and the wedding.

You should come back when you have more time to see all the attractions in Stirling.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2014

This hotel has a great atmosphere being an old school, retaining the office names such as 'Headmaster's Study' etc. The staff were very cheerful and helpful. The food and service for a party of 6 adults and 5 children was faultless. We will all return in the future. Many thanks to Bert who gave up his Saturday night to give a short tour and talk in the observatory on the roof.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank RobDEdinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stewart B, General Manager at The Stirling Highland Hotel, responded to this review, 26 April 2014
Dear RobDEdinburgh,

Delighted that we made you family occasion so special.

The observatory is definitely worth a visit, a very unique feature.

Good to read that you will return in the future.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
286 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2014

The Stirling Highland Hotel was a great place to stay in Stirling. It looks sort of like a castle, which is perfect for a Scotland vacation. Interestingly, the building was once a high school. They have parking on-site, and we never had a problem finding a parking spot. There's also a whiskey shop attached to the hotel.

One of the main reasons I picked this hotel was for its proximity to tourist attractions. We were able to walk to a plethora of shops and restaurants, as well as Stirling Castle and the Church of the Holy Rude.

Our room was clean and spacious, just as advertised. They also had free wifi, which is always appreciated. All of the hotel staff we encountered were all very friendly and helpful. They were more than happy to give us directions and advice on dinner options.

If you're traveling to Stirling, I'd definitely recommend the Stirling Highland Hotel.

Read my other reviews, complete with pictures:

Search "The Barbecue Fiend"

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank TheBarbecueFiend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stewart B, General Manager at The Stirling Highland Hotel, responded to this review, 26 April 2014
Dear TheBarbecueFiend,

Thank you for the positive review.

We may look a bit like a castle but we are actually the original High School for Stirling dating back to 1854.

We are certainly centrally located and once you have parked your car most attractions and shops are within walking distance.

Great to read that you found the staff very friendly and helpful.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barrrow in furness
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2014

Location was good, slightly away from town centre but near enough, and close to the castle. Comfortable warm quiet room,nice bathroom.

Try 'Mama Mia' the small Italian near the hotel, we thought it was very good.

But my wife and I booked a standard double room for 3 nights for our anniversary. We went for breakfast on the first morning,on our way out we were told breakfast was not included in our booking and we would have to pay nearly £25 extra per day when we check out! This was not made clear to us at all when we made the booking and was annoying and embarassing, the breakfast by the way was self service and wasn't even hot, and we had to make our own toast!
Sorry but this spoiled our short holiday.
We went to a cafe in town for our remaining two breakfasts. Strangely the bill on checking out never included the breakfast we had consumed, don't know why?

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BillBarrrowinfurness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stewart B, General Manager at The Stirling Highland Hotel, responded to this review, 17 April 2014
Dear BillBarrrowinfurness,

Thank you for the review of your recent stay.

Disappointing to read of the confusion over breakfast. I'm assuming that you booked via an on-line site and it is not always clear that breakfast is not included, they tend to quote the cheapest rate first which is normally a room only rate.

Glad that you enjoyed the location and found your room to be warm and quiet.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stirling hotels
0.1 mi away
Friars Wynd Hotel
Friars Wynd Hotel
#4 of 20 in Stirling
4.5 of 5 bubbles 165 reviews
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Stirling City Centre Hotel
0.2 mi away
Golden Lion Hotel
Golden Lion Hotel
#10 of 20 in Stirling
3.5 of 5 bubbles 917 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Stirling
1.8 mi away
Stirling Court Hotel
Stirling Court Hotel
#7 of 20 in Stirling
4.0 of 5 bubbles 513 reviews
0.3 mi away
Lost Guest House
Lost Guest House
#14 of 20 in Stirling
3.5 of 5 bubbles 351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Stirling Highland Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Stirling Highland Hotel

Property: The Stirling Highland Hotel
Address: 29 Spittal Street, Stirling FK8 1DU, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Stirling > Stirling
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 20 Hotels in Stirling
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Stirling Highland Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 19th Century, four-star Stirling Highland Hotel used to be the city’s high school and is just a few minutes walk from Stirling Castle and the attractions of the city. Its 98 bedrooms include 18 premium bedrooms and 2 deluxe rooms and Stirling is the gateway to the Scottish Highlands so majestic mountains and tranquil lochs are close by. Enjoy the Trossach’s National Park before sampling a single malt in the hotel’s new on-site Stirling Whisky Shop. Unwind in the spa, enjoy award-winning food in the 2 AA Rosette Scholars Restaurant then relax with a nightcap in the Headmaster’s Bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Lastminute, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Superbreak UK, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Stirling Highland Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Stirling
Stirling Highland Hotel
The Stirling Highland Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing