We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Stirling Highland Hotel
Ranked #4 of 20 Hotels in Stirling
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Our overall experience in the hotel was amazing. Loved the location, hotel clean and the room was great. Our middle daughter came with us for a weekend stay. She thought it was great the her and my wife could go swimming before breakfast. She could help herself at breakfast and food was great. We were made to feel welcome and all the staff that we encountered was friendly and courteous even going that extra mile. We had one slight issue, the bar meals were not being served due to the chef saying it was too busy and could not get a table until 9 pm. The staff were very helpful and recommended places to eat as 9pm is to late for our daughter. This has not put us off and we hope to bring the whole family next time later in the year. Thank you for a great stay.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stewart B, General Manager at The Stirling Highland Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2014

Dear Mark H,

Glad that you had a great experience.

Very please that the staff were "friendly and courteous even going that extra mile", that is certainly what we aim for.

Sorry about the bar meals, if we have a large function and the restaurant going full on it is difficult to do third menu.

Delighted you will be coming back with all the family.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,139)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,219 - 1,225 of 2,140 reviews

Reviewed 21 April 2014

Was concerned reading some of the reviews on this hotel. I can say with confidence we got what we paid for, it was value for money and exceeded our expectations. Four of us were travelling in two twin rooms and they were able to swop this to a triple and single (even though they kept the double bed in the second room) to allow my dad privacy and a room of his own. Hotel were very accomodating during our stay, rooms spotless, breakfast good and lovely building (it was a former school). Loved stirling too. We found a lovely friendly coffee shop where we enjoyed lunch both days crema cafe - would highly recommend there too as we were so surprised that a high street cafe would be serving fresh homemade food! It was a great place - friendly staff both there and hotel. Will return to both!

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank N6RDK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stewart B, General Manager at The Stirling Highland Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2014

Dear Dkoplewsky,

Delighted that you had a nice stay and that we exceeded your expectations.

Glad that you found the food at breakfast to be good. Next time you must have dinner, feedback is very good.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

This hotel and it's wonderful staff deserve to be visited. It offers as much as any other location. The staff and what the hotel offers can't be beat. We got much more than we expected. We will go back again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank subman571
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stewart B, General Manager at The Stirling Highland Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2014

Dear subman571,

Thank you for taking the time to pass on your comments delighted that you had such a good stay and that you will be back.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

I have stayed in this hotel before for a Spa weekend and was great but this time ive left feeling annoyed and not very relaxed.
My back massage was suppose to be an hour but I was out in less than 40 minutes and felt like I was being tickled rather than sorting out my muscles and was spoken too right through my treatment so I couldn't relax. My facial was good apart from when I was lying there for 10 minutes with a face mask she was still sitting there over me, felt very uneasy and once again was cut short.
Receptionist we got once afternoon was very sarcastic when I asked her a question but other than that the food was great and the restaurant staff were fantastic had a great experience with them but will not be back.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Mrsu2be
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stewart B, General Manager at The Stirling Highland Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2014

Dear Mrsu2be,

Please accept my apologies for the disappointment we caused you with your spa treatments.

I have discussed your comments with the Beauty Manager and ensured corrective training is implemented to prevent future guests having a similar experience.

Good to read that we delivered great food and fantastic service in the restaurant.

Please once again accept my apologies.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014

Stirling hotel what a great place checked in for a wedding staff where so good rooms are very clean food was fresh and well cooked breakfast was well presented full English continental you name it it was their. Sterling itself is worth the trip lots of history

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
Thank jonnyboy78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stewart B, General Manager at The Stirling Highland Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2014

Dear jonnyboy78,

Glad you enjoyed your stay and the wedding.

You should come back when you have more time to see all the attractions in Stirling.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2014

This hotel has a great atmosphere being an old school, retaining the office names such as 'Headmaster's Study' etc. The staff were very cheerful and helpful. The food and service for a party of 6 adults and 5 children was faultless. We will all return in the future. Many thanks to Bert who gave up his Saturday night to give a short tour and talk in the observatory on the roof.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank RobDEdinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stewart B, General Manager at The Stirling Highland Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2014

Dear RobDEdinburgh,

Delighted that we made you family occasion so special.

The observatory is definitely worth a visit, a very unique feature.

Good to read that you will return in the future.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2014

The Stirling Highland Hotel was a great place to stay in Stirling. It looks sort of like a castle, which is perfect for a Scotland vacation. Interestingly, the building was once a high school. They have parking on-site, and we never had a problem finding a parking spot. There's also a whiskey shop attached to the hotel.

One of the main reasons I picked this hotel was for its proximity to tourist attractions. We were able to walk to a plethora of shops and restaurants, as well as Stirling Castle and the Church of the Holy Rude.

Our room was clean and spacious, just as advertised. They also had free wifi, which is always appreciated. All of the hotel staff we encountered were all very friendly and helpful. They were more than happy to give us directions and advice on dinner options.

If you're traveling to Stirling, I'd definitely recommend the Stirling Highland Hotel.

Read my other reviews, complete with pictures:

Search "The Barbecue Fiend"

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Jared K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stewart B, General Manager at The Stirling Highland Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2014

Dear TheBarbecueFiend,

Thank you for the positive review.

We may look a bit like a castle but we are actually the original High School for Stirling dating back to 1854.

We are certainly centrally located and once you have parked your car most attractions and shops are within walking distance.

Great to read that you found the staff very friendly and helpful.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stirling hotels
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Stirling City Centre Hotel
1.8 mi away
Stirling Court Hotel
Stirling Court Hotel
#7 of 20 in Stirling
601 reviews
0.2 mi away
Golden Lion Hotel
Golden Lion Hotel
#10 of 20 in Stirling
1,025 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Stirling
0.1 mi away
Friars Wynd Hotel
Friars Wynd Hotel
#5 of 20 in Stirling
204 reviews
1.8 mi away
King Robert Hotel
King Robert Hotel
#2 of 3 in Bannockburn
546 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Stirling Highland Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Stirling Highland Hotel

Address: 29 Spittal Street, Stirling FK8 1DU, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Stirling > Stirling
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 20 Hotels in Stirling
Price Range: £71 - £137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Stirling Highland Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 19th Century, four-star Stirling Highland Hotel used to be the city’s high school and is just a few minutes walk from Stirling Castle and the attractions of the city. Its 98 bedrooms include 18 premium bedrooms and 2 deluxe rooms and Stirling is the gateway to the Scottish Highlands so majestic mountains and tranquil lochs are close by. Enjoy the Trossach’s National Park before sampling a single malt in the hotel’s new on-site Stirling Whisky Shop. Unwind in the spa, enjoy award-winning food in the 2 AA Rosette Scholars Restaurant then relax with a nightcap in the Headmaster’s Bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Stayforlong S.L., TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Stirling Highland Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Stirling
Stirling Highland Hotel
The Stirling Highland Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing