We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Rating says average - but if allowed I would say good - but not very good!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Stirling Highland Hotel
Ranked #6 of 21 Hotels in Stirling
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Rating says average - but if allowed I would say good - but not very good!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014

Booking via Hotel Connexions - as always excellent!
Arrival at hotel Parking ok - lucky enough to find space - hotel entrances many - but reception sign guided us in right direction. Reception staff it has to be said on both check in and check out - excellent service. On checking in everything we needed to know was pointed out to us without any prompting from us, dinner was easily booked , reception staff were very welcoming - good start!!
Unfortunately it was at dinner our stay started to fall apart.
We were a party of eight and our food order was taken without drinks being offered. Reasonable to say with the chat at the table we did not realise until starters arrived that the wine had not been ordered. So wine ordered and arrived JUST in time for main course.
It was very unfortunate (and accidents happen) but as the second plate was being put down on the table a third fell to the floor splashing a cream jacket on the way down. Apologies from the waitress were plentiful and she took the jacket away with an offer to have it dry cleaned.
Moments later the restaurant manager arrived back at the table with jacket in hand almost waiting to be acknowledged rather than excusing himself before explaining as it was the weekend the jacket would not go to cleaners till Monday - back Tuesday therefore they would have to post it out if that was ok. So apart from him appearing a bit abrupt it was felt the problem was being dealt with.
Later when it was explained to the waitress that the room key had actually been left in the jacket the restaurant manager came to the table again and THREW the key down as he passed with no acknowledgement at all.
To be fair it was a Saturday night and the restaurant seemed reasonably busy as you would expect on a weekend evening but a small amount of courtesy would not have taken much time!
Back to the restaurant for breakfast in the morning - remembering we booked in as 8 - dined the evening before as 8 so when the waitress - as we approached the restaurant- asked us to wait a few moments till she set a table for 8 we were happy with this. A few moments later RESTUARANT MANAGER FROM PREVIOUS EVENING came out saying - 'you're waiting for a table for 8' - proceeded to show us to 2 tables set for 4 each!! No apology , no explanation! One of our party asked him if we could not have a table for eight to be told they don't take bookings for breakfast!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
The breakfast is a bit disjointed as self serve from a couple of side tables and a hot buffet , we were not late for breakfast in fact there were several other guests who came in after us but when we approached the tables and buffet bar , all juices were low - croissants and muffins almost finished and the hot buffet was all needing replenished. I asked for help with this and by the time this was addressed a queue had formed. Usually in a self serve situation there is some member of staff constantly checking things are running smoothly, this was definitely not the case - although there were plenty of staff clearing and going in and out of the kitchen. Although the tea and coffee was part of the self serve , for some reason we were kindly asked by a passing member of staff if we would like tea or coffee and were served a pot - however there were no teaspoons to be seen anywhere and not enough milk on the table - lets say breakfast was a bit of a disaster!
On check out the guest who had the unfortunate accident with the jacket spoke again with the restaurant manager who made it quite clear he thought that getting the jacket cleaned for the guest was a gesture of good will. Says it all really!!
As we all waited in reception for each of us checking out it became clear to reception staff from our conversation with each other that we had a few complaints with our stay. Reception staff apologised for the problems we had incurred during our stay. Again reception staff were excellent.
We thought the hotel offered a great location, lovely rooms - food in restaurant was really good as well. Staff , even in the restaurant where we had our problems , were good........................ BUT we would suggest the Restaurant Manager is maybe not quite fully trained to hold this position. Or maybe he could do with having a refresher course in management skills , dealing with guests and common courtesy!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank haggishunter66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stewart B, General Manager at The Stirling Highland Hotel, responded to this review, 26 April 2014
Dear haggishunter66,

Please accept my apologies for the unfortunate nature your problems were dealt with. This approach was certainly out of character and I have discussed this "performance" with the individual concerned.

I hope that all the good points you mention (excellent staff at reception and in the restaurant) and the fact you found the food to be "really good" made up for the other shortcomings you encountered.

Please once again accept my apologies.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,904 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    646
    685
    328
    146
    99
See reviews for
243
986
60
214
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (309)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014

This hotel is set in the old part of Stirling quite close to the castle and the town centre. The hotel is the old high school and has been adapted to a high standard. The reception staff were polite, professional and welcoming. As they are the first people that you meet they create your first impressions of the hotel. The rooms are comfortable and contained everything that you would expect. The restaurant was busy but there were adequate waiting staff and the service was superb. The food was a delight with a good choice of starters. The slow cooked British beef was delicious. When asked the cut the waitress asked the chef who advised that it was feather cut of Dob. I must admit a cut of meat that I had not heard of but when cooked for several hours it melts in the mouth. The staff were attentive and were very helpful when needed. If they have the Beef Wellington as a special then go for it, the meat was cooked to perfection and the puff party was light and flaky without being greasy. The facilities are good and can be an enjoyable experience. Overall. Wonderful hotel with everything going for it, we have already decided that we will be back, hopefully within the near future.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stewart B, General Manager at The Stirling Highland Hotel, responded to this review, 26 April 2014
Dear David G,

Thank you for the 5 star review. Delighted that you had such a positive experience and found the staff to be "superb"

Glad that you enjoyed the slow cooked beef it is certainly one of the most popular dishes.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort william
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014 via mobile

Our overall experience in the hotel was amazing. Loved the location, hotel clean and the room was great. Our middle daughter came with us for a weekend stay. She thought it was great the her and my wife could go swimming before breakfast. She could help herself at breakfast and food was great. We were made to feel welcome and all the staff that we encountered was friendly and courteous even going that extra mile. We had one slight issue, the bar meals were not being served due to the chef saying it was too busy and could not get a table until 9 pm. The staff were very helpful and recommended places to eat as 9pm is to late for our daughter. This has not put us off and we hope to bring the whole family next time later in the year. Thank you for a great stay.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stewart B, General Manager at The Stirling Highland Hotel, responded to this review, 26 April 2014
Dear Mark H,

Glad that you had a great experience.

Very please that the staff were "friendly and courteous even going that extra mile", that is certainly what we aim for.

Sorry about the bar meals, if we have a large function and the restaurant going full on it is difficult to do third menu.

Delighted you will be coming back with all the family.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014

Was concerned reading some of the reviews on this hotel. I can say with confidence we got what we paid for, it was value for money and exceeded our expectations. Four of us were travelling in two twin rooms and they were able to swop this to a triple and single (even though they kept the double bed in the second room) to allow my dad privacy and a room of his own. Hotel were very accomodating during our stay, rooms spotless, breakfast good and lovely building (it was a former school). Loved stirling too. We found a lovely friendly coffee shop where we enjoyed lunch both days crema cafe - would highly recommend there too as we were so surprised that a high street cafe would be serving fresh homemade food! It was a great place - friendly staff both there and hotel. Will return to both!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank N6RDK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stewart B, General Manager at The Stirling Highland Hotel, responded to this review, 26 April 2014
Dear Dkoplewsky,

Delighted that you had a nice stay and that we exceeded your expectations.

Glad that you found the food at breakfast to be good. Next time you must have dinner, feedback is very good.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barrow-in-furness, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014

This hotel and it's wonderful staff deserve to be visited. It offers as much as any other location. The staff and what the hotel offers can't be beat. We got much more than we expected. We will go back again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank subman571
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stewart B, General Manager at The Stirling Highland Hotel, responded to this review, 26 April 2014
Dear subman571,

Thank you for taking the time to pass on your comments delighted that you had such a good stay and that you will be back.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stirling
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014

I have stayed in this hotel before for a Spa weekend and was great but this time ive left feeling annoyed and not very relaxed.
My back massage was suppose to be an hour but I was out in less than 40 minutes and felt like I was being tickled rather than sorting out my muscles and was spoken too right through my treatment so I couldn't relax. My facial was good apart from when I was lying there for 10 minutes with a face mask she was still sitting there over me, felt very uneasy and once again was cut short.
Receptionist we got once afternoon was very sarcastic when I asked her a question but other than that the food was great and the restaurant staff were fantastic had a great experience with them but will not be back.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Mrsu2be
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stewart B, General Manager at The Stirling Highland Hotel, responded to this review, 26 April 2014
Dear Mrsu2be,

Please accept my apologies for the disappointment we caused you with your spa treatments.

I have discussed your comments with the Beauty Manager and ensured corrective training is implemented to prevent future guests having a similar experience.

Good to read that we delivered great food and fantastic service in the restaurant.

Please once again accept my apologies.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fareham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
90 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2014 via mobile

Stirling hotel what a great place checked in for a wedding staff where so good rooms are very clean food was fresh and well cooked breakfast was well presented full English continental you name it it was their. Sterling itself is worth the trip lots of history

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank jonnyboy78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stewart B, General Manager at The Stirling Highland Hotel, responded to this review, 26 April 2014
Dear jonnyboy78,

Glad you enjoyed your stay and the wedding.

You should come back when you have more time to see all the attractions in Stirling.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stirling hotels
0.1 mi away
Friars Wynd Hotel
Friars Wynd Hotel
#4 of 21 in Stirling
4.5 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Stirling City Centre Hotel
0.2 mi away
Golden Lion Hotel
Golden Lion Hotel
#10 of 21 in Stirling
3.5 of 5 bubbles 904 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Stirling
1.8 mi away
Stirling Court Hotel
Stirling Court Hotel
#7 of 21 in Stirling
4.0 of 5 bubbles 494 reviews
0.3 mi away
Lost Guest House
Lost Guest House
#14 of 21 in Stirling
3.5 of 5 bubbles 345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Stirling Highland Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Stirling Highland Hotel

Property: The Stirling Highland Hotel
Address: 29 Spittal Street, Stirling FK8 1DU, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Stirling > Stirling
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 21 Hotels in Stirling
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Stirling Highland Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 19th Century, four-star Stirling Highland Hotel used to be the city’s high school and is just a few minutes walk from Stirling Castle and the attractions of the city. Its 98 bedrooms include 18 premium bedrooms and 2 deluxe rooms and Stirling is the gateway to the Scottish Highlands so majestic mountains and tranquil lochs are close by. Enjoy the Trossach’s National Park before sampling a single malt in the hotel’s new on-site Stirling Whisky Shop. Unwind in the spa, enjoy award-winning food in the 2 AA Rosette Scholars Restaurant then relax with a nightcap in the Headmaster’s Bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotelopia, Superbreak UK, Hotels.com, Lastminute, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Stirling Highland Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Stirling
Stirling Highland Hotel
The Stirling Highland Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing