We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Stirling Highland Hotel
Ranked #5 of 20 Hotels in Stirling
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 June 2014

Poor service which put a damper on the weekend. Reception and front of house staff were excellent. However, restaurant manager needs lessons in customer service. We were not offered wine list when ordering our meal although several of us did adk. Ed eventually got our wine with our desserts! Restaurant manager had serious attitude problems during our experience. Could not seat 8 of us together for breakfast although we had been seated together the night before for dinner.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Diborth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stewart B, General Manager at The Stirling Highland Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2014

Dear Diborth,

Thank you for your review.

I'm sorry you did not enjoy your stay back in April. I am certain that I have responded to another of your party (comment regarding table for 8 at breakfast) previously.

The issues you encountered have been addressed and please accept my apologies for the disappointed the lapse in our normally high standards caused.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,104)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,145 - 1,151 of 2,104 reviews

Reviewed 5 June 2014

I have twice stayed in this hotel now, although my wife has stayed more often. Both of us love staying here. The hotel is in the buildings formerly occupied by the Stirling High School and the school theme runs rather quaintly throughout the hotel. The rooms are of a good size, clean and comfortable. The food is also very good and the staff very friendly and helpful.
The hotel is well situated close to Stirling Castle, the Old Gaol, Holy Rude Church, the old City Wall and the city centre, and car parking is free (a bonus I noticed being utilised by some locals too), although the car park can become quite full at times.
We will definitely stay here again and look forward to it. I would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tom S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stewart B, General Manager at The Stirling Highland Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

Dear Thomas S,

Thank you for the review after your recent stay.

Gratifying that you found everything to your liking and enjoyed the school theme.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014

Stayed here on short break, primarily to visit the Castle. The location for this is perfect..5mins walk ( uphill ) to the castle. A lovely old converted Grammar School. Great atmosphere and very pleasant and helpful staff, from front desk to housekeeping. Restaurant serving excellent quality, well presented food, well worthy of it's rosette. Very comfortable well equipped rooms...all in all very impressed with a lovely hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank jimatanfi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stewart B, General Manager at The Stirling Highland Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

Dear jimatanfi,

Thank you for taking the time to pass on your positive comments.

Delighted you had such a good stay and enjoyed the food.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Arrived on Friday 30th May for 2 nights. On arrival in the room I received a lovely box of Belgian chocolates and a birthday card from the management. Great surprise. This was our 2nd stay here and it won't be the last. We were on a 5pm deal which included 2 breakfasts, 3 course dinner with bottle of wine on the 1st night and afternoon tea. All the food was beautifully presented and tasted fabulous. Our room had a great view and was spacious and immaculately clean. Our only complaint was that our starter took exactly an hour to be served and as it was my birthday evening this was a little long to wait. The staff brought a cake out and sang to me so this made up for the wait.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Kirsten M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stewart B, General Manager at The Stirling Highland Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

Dear Kirsten M,

Thank you for the positive review, glad that we made your birthday celebrations that little bit more special.

Please accept my apologies for the delay in serving your starter, I know we were very busy in the restaurant on 30th May, obviously not our normal standard of service.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

We have just had 6 nights at the Stirling Highland Hotel and we could not have had a better time. The hotel is lovely, very clean and in an ideal setting. All of the staff were so friendly, kind and helpful, nothing was any trouble for them. A special thank you to Amy who was so good with our daughter. There was a wedding on the last night so we were a little concerned what the noise would be like but we needn't have worried, there was no problem at all. The leisure facilities are very good and we all enjoyed the pool and jacuzzi. Really good to be able to see the observatory. The hotel is in a great spot very close to Stirling Castle (well worth a visit), the Falkirk Wheel and the Kelpies (really good), Loch Lomond (took the water taxi from Balmaha to the island - brilliant afternoon in the sun!), and a little bit further but worth it to St. Andrews (gorgeous beaches!!). Will definitely be back! Thank you all!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank B0bbles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stewart B, General Manager at The Stirling Highland Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

Dear B0bbles,

Thank you for taking the time to post such positive feedback after your stay.

Very gratifying to read that you were so pleased with you stay and the staff looked after you.

As you say, the hotel is in a great location not only to visit Stirling castle but to visit many other great places in central Scotland.

Delighted that you "will definitely be back".

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

This very charming hotel has a feeling of being a medieval castle. The rooms are of adequate size. The staff are very friendly. The hotel is walking distance from many quaint and charming historical attractions such as the Stirling Castle and the Old Jail, etc.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank RobScott12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stewart B, General Manager at The Stirling Highland Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

Dear RobScott12,

Thank you for the 5 star review and delighted you enjoyed your stay.

Hopefully you will stay with us again if you return to Scotland.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights midweek on a special 2 nights for 1, and there is nothing special about this hotel. Its dirty and badly needs refurbished. The room was small and had no view at all room 329, the bed was most uncomfortable, would have had a better sleep in a Premier Inn, The bathroom was very outdated with hard to turn on taps and they leaked too.If you like hills then this is a good location for you but it is steep if you are older then avoid.The breakfast was good with a wide range of items but if you look out the windows to the Wallace monument then look at the dirt on the windows...not nice. Wont be back.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank cujimeScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stewart B, General Manager at The Stirling Highland Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

Dear cujimeScotland,

Thank you for the feedback regarding you stay.

Obviously disappointed to read that you were not satisfied with certain aspects of your stay.

We are an old building and are continually decorating to keep the building in good condition but looks like we have fallen behind in a few areas. Te cleanliness issues you have highlight have been addressed, you will not from other feedback that this is unusual.

Glad that you enjoyed breakfast.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stirling
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Stirling
1.8 mi away
Stirling Court Hotel
Stirling Court Hotel
#7 of 20 in Stirling
588 reviews
0.2 mi away
Golden Lion Hotel
Golden Lion Hotel
#10 of 20 in Stirling
1,006 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Stirling City Centre Hotel
1.8 mi away
King Robert Hotel
King Robert Hotel
#2 of 3 in Bannockburn
528 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Stirling Highland Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Stirling Highland Hotel

Address: 29 Spittal Street, Stirling FK8 1DU, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Stirling > Stirling
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 20 Hotels in Stirling
Price Range: £70 - £124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Stirling Highland Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 19th Century, four-star Stirling Highland Hotel used to be the city’s high school and is just a few minutes walk from Stirling Castle and the attractions of the city. Its 98 bedrooms include 18 premium bedrooms and 2 deluxe rooms and Stirling is the gateway to the Scottish Highlands so majestic mountains and tranquil lochs are close by. Enjoy the Trossach’s National Park before sampling a single malt in the hotel’s new on-site Stirling Whisky Shop. Unwind in the spa, enjoy award-winning food in the 2 AA Rosette Scholars Restaurant then relax with a nightcap in the Headmaster’s Bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Expedia, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Ebookers so you can book your The Stirling Highland Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Stirling
Stirling Highland Hotel
The Stirling Highland Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing