We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced terrible service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Stirling Highland Hotel
Ranked #6 of 20 Hotels in Stirling
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Overpriced terrible service”
Reviewed 14 June 2014

Stayed here in June 2014 for one night with my wife. The rooms are clean but furnishings are extremwly old, while advetised that the hotel has free wifi in the room, in our room we had no reception at all. We asked the reception staff to rectify the issue but nothing was done. And the room windows were going right onto noisy construction site which noone let us know about when we booked. The quality of the rooms is 3 star at besr but the prices are of a good 5 star hotel...we paid less for a castle stay in a gorgeous luxurious accomodation in Yorkshire. Service was shocking. Reception staff were unwelcoming, provided no information on breakfast times etc. No porter service at all was offered. In the room menu it says sandwiches are available 24 hours, however when we rang to order they said only some of those are available not all. And than it took them over an hour and a half to deliver a simple ham sandwich and a cup of tea at 11:30pm. Just appauling service and overpriced hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kevin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,982 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    675
    712
    341
    151
    103
See reviews for
256
1,034
63
218
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (319)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2014 via mobile

Gorgeous looking hotel friendly staff but if you happen to visit in June be prepare to sleep in a sweat lodge. No A/C No Fans provided and the windows only open a crack.. Air does nor circulate so you room is very stuffy. Front desk staff promised a fan but were not able to deliver. Visit Stirling in the Fall you will enjoy your visit.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
Thank WittyK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2014

Stayed for a couple of nights recently. Formerly a school the hotel retains most of the original features. Staff were excellent as was the breakfast. Stayed in room 325 which overlooked a building site. The hotel is located about 400 yards from the castle. It's on a fairly steep hill which will make accessibility difficult for some. Could do with more spaces in the car park for the disabled.The lift didn't sound well and eventually broke down on our second day. Pity.

Room Tip: Check there's no building work going on.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank William_Robert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stewart B, General Manager at The Stirling Highland Hotel, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
Dear William_Robert,

Thank you for the review of your recent stay. Apologies about the view from the room, thankfully the building next door will be completed soon. The lift has obviously been repaired since your stay - apologies for any inconvenience caused.

Glad that you found the staff and breakfast to be excellent.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2014

We stayed for a weekend in May at the Stirling Highland Hotel. The staff were all lovely. The room was a little tired, but this didn't affect our weekend, it was clean but just could do with a little attention. It was a basic double en-suite room so we weren't expecting much anyway.

We ate in the restaurant on the first evening, both having a three course dinner with wine. The waitresses were all extremely friendly, and helpful. The food was really lovely. I had the tomato and basil soup with garlic croutons, wild mushroom ravioli, and sticky toffee pudding so I was very full afterwards as it was so good I didn't leave a scrap!

I would visit this hotel again just for the restaurant, it really was very good indeed. I would recommend booking for dinner though, as it was very busy.

The breakfast buffet was fantastic. Vegetarian sausages made to order, lovely runny fried eggs on the buffet, and tattie scones!!! Superb.

Room Tip: I would recommend upgrading your room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cacheena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stewart B, General Manager at The Stirling Highland Hotel, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
Dear Cacheena,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback after your recent stay.

Delighted that you found the food at both dinner and breakfast to be so good and the staff to be extremely helpful and friendly.

Apologies that there were certain areas of the room that could have done with a little more attention.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inchture, null, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014

Took up the Sunday spa deal of spa treatment,dinner and bed and breakfast. Had a fantastic time. Could not fault anything. The room was nicely decorated and clean, the bed comfy. The spa treatment was very relaxing. The dinner was excellent, every course was delicious and cooked perfectly. The staff were pleasant and friendly. All in all I was impressed and would stay again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stewart B, General Manager at The Stirling Highland Hotel, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
Dear Christine B,

Thank you for the 5 star review, delighted that you were so happy with all aspects of your stay.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cumbria, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014 via mobile

As a single guest I was turned away from the restaurant saying I would have to wait 45 mins!! No-one even bothered to answer the phone from room service!! I was there to work so didn't want to have to go out but ended up over the road at a fab little Italian!!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stewart B, General Manager at The Stirling Highland Hotel, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
Dear Lynn M

Thank your the review and please accept my sincere apologies for the shortcomings you experienced.

You should have been asked at check-in if you wished to dine and table reserved at the requested time, we do get busy at times and it is not possible to have everyone walk in to the restaurant at the same time, hence the 45 minute wait.

Not sure what happened regarding the room service 'phone. These calls actually go through to reception so that the calls can be answered 24 hours a day - apologies.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shipston-on-Stour, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014 via mobile

Friendly and helpful staff on reception on arrival and check out. Room was a good size with a comfortable bed, a spotlessly clean bathroom with a full-sized bath for a decent soak. On the down side, the age of the hotel means the windows are quite small, so my initial impression on entering my room was that it was dingy (and it overlooked a building site) and the thick walls meant the free wifi reception in the room was iffy (although good in the public areas). Food was excellent, but it would be a good idea to book in advance as the restaurant is very popular. Bar and waiting staff were friendly and efficient. I'd certainly stay there again.

Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stewart B, General Manager at The Stirling Highland Hotel, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Dear David C,

Thank you for taking the time to pass on your feedback after your recent stay.

Delighted that you found the hotel to be clean and comfortable and the staff to be friendly and efficient.

Glad you are thinking of returning.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stirling
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Stirling
0.2 mi away
Golden Lion Hotel
Golden Lion Hotel
#10 of 20 in Stirling
950 reviews
1.8 mi away
Stirling Court Hotel
Stirling Court Hotel
#7 of 20 in Stirling
535 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Friars Wynd Hotel
Friars Wynd Hotel
#5 of 20 in Stirling
180 reviews
1.8 mi away
King Robert Hotel
King Robert Hotel
#2 of 3 in Bannockburn
506 reviews
5.0 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Stirling Highland Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Stirling Highland Hotel

Property: The Stirling Highland Hotel
Address: 29 Spittal Street, Stirling FK8 1DU, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Stirling > Stirling
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 20 Hotels in Stirling
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Stirling Highland Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 19th Century, four-star Stirling Highland Hotel used to be the city’s high school and is just a few minutes walk from Stirling Castle and the attractions of the city. Its 98 bedrooms include 18 premium bedrooms and 2 deluxe rooms and Stirling is the gateway to the Scottish Highlands so majestic mountains and tranquil lochs are close by. Enjoy the Trossach’s National Park before sampling a single malt in the hotel’s new on-site Stirling Whisky Shop. Unwind in the spa, enjoy award-winning food in the 2 AA Rosette Scholars Restaurant then relax with a nightcap in the Headmaster’s Bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Lastminute, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Stirling Highland Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Stirling
Stirling Highland Hotel
The Stirling Highland Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing