We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Primary School for Travelers” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Stirling Highland Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Stirling Highland Hotel
Ranked #6 of 21 Hotels in Stirling
Dunedin, Florida
Level Contributor
774 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 288 helpful votes
“A Primary School for Travelers”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014

The Scots have a tradition of recycling and reusing structures. This hotel had been a 19th c. primary school with a center courtyard and a planetarium. Today it has a modern pool and spa and dining rooms. The hotel rooms are rather large for European accommodations as are the bathrooms...ample shelf space for your stuff as well as heated towel racks. Breakfast includes haggis, fresh eggs, mild sausage, porridge etc as well as seasonal fruits and honey and marmelades said to have originated with Mary Queen of Scots who grew up in Stirling Castle. You can walk the steep incline to the Castle and Cathedral or descend to the town to shop and eat easily. We had a gala there to celebrate the 50th anniversary of our sister city relationship...well done by staff. Oh the manger came into our bus to bid farewell.

Room Tip: Ask for an outside room to view the town center.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DianneWheatley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,878 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    638
    675
    324
    144
    97
See reviews for
241
969
60
212
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (304)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ballymena, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2014

I recently booked rooms here for a large group of fiends and family for a family wedding. I found the rooms to be quite dated and the hotel itself in need of a spruce up. Some of the staff were what I can only describe as surly at best and the manager Chris could do with a few lessons in manners. Surely when meeting on the stairs it shouldn't be the guests that have to stand to the side without even a thank you from him?? Even a polite hello or comment on how your stay has been would be normal. On the 2nd morning the restaurant ran out of muesli and for a 4* hotel I found this strange. It was even stranger when they still hadn't any the following morning!! Nor had they any coffee pots, just tea pots for coffee, even though there were very few guests. What was most disappointing during our stay was the afternoon tea we had booked for my son and new daughter-in-law. Firstly the waitress tipped the scones and cream over her and when we eventually sampled the food it was to find that the sandwiches had barely any fillings and the bread was crispy. A really disappointing selection of scones and pastries made this the worst afternoon tea I have ever had. Please take my advice and don't book it!! The noise from the building site next door was beyond the hotel's control but if things don't improve I would imagine that customers would do better to try there when this new hotel opens.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bob E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Checkendon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
164 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014

Booked the Stirling on the basis of a recommendation of a friend as a convenient stop over on the way to the Highlands. Not disappointed - great location in the centre of Stirling; easy to find and park; well appointed, if slightly ageing rooms. This is a pretty good quality business hotel with the sort of facilities you would expect, including a great leisure centre and plenty of conference rooms. Breakfast was excellent and service generally was very good. My only slight quibbles with the room were: 1: it was quite dark {only one small window}; 2: the decor reminded me of the 80's and bathroom was beginning to age - though still perfectly fine. Nothing serious though - the management will need to invest soon if they want to maintain the hotel's premier status.

Room Tip: 219 was on the inside of the hotel overlooking the car park. Was OK but no idea if it was better or...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014 via mobile

My partner and I stayed here on the 7th June. We upgraded our room to a deluxe room for £50 and it also included chocolates, champagne, slippers, robes and upgraded toiletries, it was well worth the money. The hotel is beautiful and all the staff are really friendly and very helpful. We are in the hotel at the bar bistro not the restaurant. The food was delicious. I used the spa facilities which were great and very clean. Would highly recommend this hotel :)

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 0x-kara-x0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maitland, Florida
Level Contributor
60 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014

This was a very nice hotel, good service, great breakfast, and great when the streets were closed for a pipefest at Stirling castle. Car park is great and free, although the rooms are expensive. Not easy to find.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jgscott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2014

We first visited this hotel some twenty years ago and have fond memories of that visit, so our disappointment with the customer experience on our visit this time for the Battle of Bannockburn re-enactment was greater. The accommodation and public areas of the hotel desperately need refurbishment as they are shabby and tired looking. Even worse the quality of the food is appalling and overpriced; the Scholars restaurant claims to have a AA Rosette but the food is over salted and cold, the standard of service is poor and staff are untrained and therefore have no idea how to provide a professional service. At the price this hotel is a disgrace and creates a very poor image of hospitality in Scotland.

Room Tip: Stay clear of this place
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Gwen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kilmarnock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2014 via mobile

Great hotel and located perfectly for the city centre. The rooms were great, clean and spacious. The breakfast was first class. No complaints. The only thing I could complain about was the poor WiFi signal. Having stayed at a few puma hotels, this was up there with the best of them.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Gary R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stirling hotels
0.7 mi away
Premier Inn Stirling City Centre Hotel
0.2 mi away
Friars Wynd Hotel
Friars Wynd Hotel
#4 of 21 in Stirling
4.5 of 5 bubbles 151 reviews
0.2 mi away
Golden Lion Hotel
Golden Lion Hotel
#10 of 21 in Stirling
3.5 of 5 bubbles 893 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Stirling Court Hotel
Stirling Court Hotel
#8 of 21 in Stirling
4.0 of 5 bubbles 476 reviews
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Stirling
0.4 mi away
Lost Guest House
Lost Guest House
#14 of 21 in Stirling
3.5 of 5 bubbles 341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Stirling Highland Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Stirling Highland Hotel

Property: The Stirling Highland Hotel
Address: 29 Spittal Street, Stirling FK8 1DU, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Stirling > Stirling
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 21 Hotels in Stirling
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Stirling Highland Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 19th Century, four-star Stirling Highland Hotel used to be the city’s high school and is just a few minutes walk from Stirling Castle and the attractions of the city. Its 98 bedrooms include 18 premium bedrooms and 2 deluxe rooms and Stirling is the gateway to the Scottish Highlands so majestic mountains and tranquil lochs are close by. Enjoy the Trossach’s National Park before sampling a single malt in the hotel’s new on-site Stirling Whisky Shop. Unwind in the spa, enjoy award-winning food in the 2 AA Rosette Scholars Restaurant then relax with a nightcap in the Headmaster’s Bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotelopia, Superbreak UK, Lastminute, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your The Stirling Highland Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Stirling
Stirling Highland Hotel
The Stirling Highland Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing