We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tired and has plenty of coach parties”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Stirling Highland Hotel
Ranked #5 of 20 Hotels in Stirling
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 July 2014

We stayed here for four nights knowing it was a convenient city centre location close to the bus and train station. It worked well for a walking holiday and also had easy access to the road network.
It has a convenient car park.
However it is not value for money and is a tired place. Its four stars should be downgraded to three until it is renovated and upgraded.
It appears to focus on coach parties and therefore is far from a degree of exclusivity that it markets itself as.
All the staff we came across were professional, courteous, helpful and polite especially Mark the barman and Paulina in the breakfast restaurant.
The bar does not stock bottles of local real ale which I think is a missed opportuinity. Instead it has Tetleys as a cold gassy keg beer, no doubt Puma HQ has a goodcommercial deal for the whole of the UK. Consequently I only had a drink in the bar one night out of four and also ate elsewhere so the hotel did not maximise their potential turnover from me.
The evening restaurant was very good, it has one rosette (not the two it markets itself as). The food is well cooked and well presented and enjoyable. The service was good as well.
The restaurant for breakfast is another thing and was far from the evening dining experience. The breakfast was a help yourself cold and hot canteen style buffet which reminded me of my army days. The food was decent enough but I think this style of breakfast is such a cop out especially after the fine dining experience of the evening. Of particular note is that fried eggs are cold when they come straight out the kitchen! I would also note that for those requiring a gluten free alternative to a cooked breakfast eg fish then you have to pay extra. My wife did have this one day but the parsley butter was missing because the cook had run out (? I though it would have been made in the kitchen) and the fish appeared to be out of a packet rather than fresh. Again this is not what I would expect of a 4 star hotel. So not impressed.
So in conclusion it is a good location for Stirling but beware of lots of coach party tourists, a canteen style breakfast and no local beer to sample.
Overall for the money, not good value and needs to do much better especially with a new hotel opening next door. A long way from four star and continuing on the downward slope it seems .......

Room Tip: Lower numbers require less distance to walk to your room. First floor room 215 was OK with a car pa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Craig F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,088)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,100 - 1,106 of 2,088 reviews

Reviewed 7 July 2014

This was our sixth visit to this hotel. It has changed brand names three times during that time, but service hasn't changed.

Here for two nights, great room, good breakfast's and bar service. The waiter even brought our drinks outside for us.

Our first time eating in the hotel as we have tended treat in the restaurants around about, but we were not disappointed. Food was excellent and wine was reasonably priced for a hotel of this size.

Service could have been a little better organised, but apart from that another excellent stay.

We will be back

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank AlanG1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

The Scots have a tradition of recycling and reusing structures. This hotel had been a 19th c. primary school with a center courtyard and a planetarium. Today it has a modern pool and spa and dining rooms. The hotel rooms are rather large for European accommodations as are the bathrooms...ample shelf space for your stuff as well as heated towel racks. Breakfast includes haggis, fresh eggs, mild sausage, porridge etc as well as seasonal fruits and honey and marmelades said to have originated with Mary Queen of Scots who grew up in Stirling Castle. You can walk the steep incline to the Castle and Cathedral or descend to the town to shop and eat easily. We had a gala there to celebrate the 50th anniversary of our sister city relationship...well done by staff. Oh the manger came into our bus to bid farewell.

Room Tip: Ask for an outside room to view the town center.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DianneWheatley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2014

I recently booked rooms here for a large group of fiends and family for a family wedding. I found the rooms to be quite dated and the hotel itself in need of a spruce up. Some of the staff were what I can only describe as surly at best and the manager Chris could do with a few lessons in manners. Surely when meeting on the stairs it shouldn't be the guests that have to stand to the side without even a thank you from him?? Even a polite hello or comment on how your stay has been would be normal. On the 2nd morning the restaurant ran out of muesli and for a 4* hotel I found this strange. It was even stranger when they still hadn't any the following morning!! Nor had they any coffee pots, just tea pots for coffee, even though there were very few guests. What was most disappointing during our stay was the afternoon tea we had booked for my son and new daughter-in-law. Firstly the waitress tipped the scones and cream over her and when we eventually sampled the food it was to find that the sandwiches had barely any fillings and the bread was crispy. A really disappointing selection of scones and pastries made this the worst afternoon tea I have ever had. Please take my advice and don't book it!! The noise from the building site next door was beyond the hotel's control but if things don't improve I would imagine that customers would do better to try there when this new hotel opens.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bob E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014

Booked the Stirling on the basis of a recommendation of a friend as a convenient stop over on the way to the Highlands. Not disappointed - great location in the centre of Stirling; easy to find and park; well appointed, if slightly ageing rooms. This is a pretty good quality business hotel with the sort of facilities you would expect, including a great leisure centre and plenty of conference rooms. Breakfast was excellent and service generally was very good. My only slight quibbles with the room were: 1: it was quite dark {only one small window}; 2: the decor reminded me of the 80's and bathroom was beginning to age - though still perfectly fine. Nothing serious though - the management will need to invest soon if they want to maintain the hotel's premier status.

Room Tip: 219 was on the inside of the hotel overlooking the car park. Was OK but no idea if it was better or...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014 via mobile

My partner and I stayed here on the 7th June. We upgraded our room to a deluxe room for £50 and it also included chocolates, champagne, slippers, robes and upgraded toiletries, it was well worth the money. The hotel is beautiful and all the staff are really friendly and very helpful. We are in the hotel at the bar bistro not the restaurant. The food was delicious. I used the spa facilities which were great and very clean. Would highly recommend this hotel :)

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 0x-kara-x0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

This was a very nice hotel, good service, great breakfast, and great when the streets were closed for a pipefest at Stirling castle. Car park is great and free, although the rooms are expensive. Not easy to find.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jgscott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stirling
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Stirling
1.8 mi away
Stirling Court Hotel
Stirling Court Hotel
#7 of 20 in Stirling
586 reviews
0.2 mi away
Golden Lion Hotel
Golden Lion Hotel
#10 of 20 in Stirling
1,000 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro
1.8 mi away
King Robert Hotel
King Robert Hotel
#2 of 3 in Bannockburn
524 reviews
0.1 mi away
Friars Wynd Hotel
Friars Wynd Hotel
#6 of 20 in Stirling
196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Stirling Highland Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Stirling Highland Hotel

Address: 29 Spittal Street, Stirling FK8 1DU, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Stirling > Stirling
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 20 Hotels in Stirling
Price Range: £73 - £137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Stirling Highland Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 19th Century, four-star Stirling Highland Hotel used to be the city’s high school and is just a few minutes walk from Stirling Castle and the attractions of the city. Its 98 bedrooms include 18 premium bedrooms and 2 deluxe rooms and Stirling is the gateway to the Scottish Highlands so majestic mountains and tranquil lochs are close by. Enjoy the Trossach’s National Park before sampling a single malt in the hotel’s new on-site Stirling Whisky Shop. Unwind in the spa, enjoy award-winning food in the 2 AA Rosette Scholars Restaurant then relax with a nightcap in the Headmaster’s Bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda, LateRooms, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your The Stirling Highland Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Stirling
Stirling Highland Hotel
The Stirling Highland Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing