We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Stirling Highland Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Colessio(Stirling)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (2,182)
Filter reviews
2,182 results
Traveller rating
746
795
373
162
106
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
746
795
373
162
106
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsold schoolleisure facilitieshigh schoolspa treatmentssteam roomsteep hillpremium roomlovely hotelbeautiful buildingold buildingtown centrebirthday treatcourse mealafternoon teashort breakample parkingbuffet style
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,174 - 1,179 of 2,182 reviews
Reviewed 25 July 2014

Great location on the hill near Stirling Castle, great atmosphere, the hotel is in an old school, great gym facilities and pool, easy walk to Stirling castle in the morning and miss the crowd, good restaurants nearby. Rooms clean and the windows opened which was great in summer.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 7Sydneytraveller7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

This is a nice hotel close to Stirling Castle and in the vicinity of the city centre. The staff was friendly and helpful. The rooms are quite large and everything was clean. At least my room in the ground floor could do with a little refurbishment. It was very windy when I stayed at the hotel and the windows did not properly shut which resulted in some noise. Apart from this is ways a pleasant stay and I can recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Totti_Berkeley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

The Marine Highland Hotel has created a superb hotel using all the features of the converted school,with its' very own Harry Potter atmosphere. Staff and environment excellent. Thank you for everything including the visit to the observatory

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank era60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

We had a short break here to celebrate our anniversary and the staff and service was excellent. We had a lovely note, a bottle of wine and chocolates waiting for us when we arrived, which was an unexpected bonus. Well done guys!
The pool was fantastic as was the sauna and steam room. The gym looked in great working order although we weren't here long enough to try it out and if you're into squash, there's also a court to play on.
We had an excellent afternoon tea but were not able to cope with an evening meal in the restaurant. Instead we shared a platter in the bar area. There was a choice of meats, fish, cheese and vegetarian platters. I would say the only negative point was the small roll which we shared between us. One each would have been better!
Our room was well appointed and because we were on a corner of the building, we had windows on two sides, which could be opened more than the usual standard 1" which you get in many other hotels.

Room Tip: We had room 300 which had great views and of the main road up to Stirling Castle. We had sun coming into the room in the morning but it was quite noisy at night with traffic and the odd drunk reveller! It probably have been quieter with the windows closed!
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank LothianPinklady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2014

Hotel rooms are good quality and very clean. Wifi and internet signal is lacking but that greatly depends on your room. Restaurant boasts some great dishes especially on the specials list. Problem is the menu never changes so don't expect any surprises if you visit more than once. Staff are mostly polite and give great service.

Room Tip: try to specify that you need a room with good signal
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews