We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely Hotel, Lovely Room, Lovely Staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Lost Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Lost Guest House
Ranked #14 of 21 Hotels in Stirling
masaimaragirl
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely Hotel, Lovely Room, Lovely Staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2012

I had a really lovely break, 3 nights at the Terraces Hotel. It was a lovely traditionally scottish hotel with friendly, helpful staff. I attended the Murder Mystery on the Saturday with a friend who lives in the area and it was such a fun night, with great actors and great atmosphere. My room was spacious and clean, with a lovely view of a church. The staff were very accomodating and helpful when I left my bank card at shop, they did everything they could to help me track it down. Stirling offers lots to do, great shopping within walking distance of the hotel, and I used the Spa next door which was lovely.
Breakfast was great, well cooked and good quality. I dined in the restaurant and obviously the Murder Mystery, on both occasions it was tasty, quality food. The hotel is also very reasonably priced. I would very much reccomend the Terraces and the Murder Mystery Dinners.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank masaimaragirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

345 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    110
    95
    54
    43
    43
See reviews for
41
177
27
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2012

I stayed at the Terraces Hotel with a group of friends. We were all there for the murder mystery evening as part of my friends hen night. Check in was at 2 but we turned up to the hotel at around 3 and our rooms were still not ready. We eventually got in to our rooms at around 4pm. The room I was in was clean enough however there were no duvet covers and the duvet was simply covered by a white sheet. My friend's room had not been properly cleaned, their sanitary bin was full from previous guests and they found a dirty fork and a colouring pen in the wardrobe. Later in the evening, they noticed that there were ants in the room, as well as dead flies under the kettle etc. the murder mystery itself was very entertaining. However the dinner we were given was vile. I'm not usually very fussy with my food but the soup was inedible, the main was dry with rubbery vegetables. The only thing I did enjoy htwas the dessert. The cooked breakfast was very good and the staff who brought our food at both the dinner and breakfast were extremely friendly. I think management at this hotel have a beautiful building and pleasant staff, they just need to up the quality of the house keeping and the food.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jirvine123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Stirling hotels

scotland
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2012

We stayed at this hotel for 2 nights in june 2012,2 nights to many i may add.On checking in receptionist kept changing all details regarding times of meals,told us our room number and i had to ask her if she could tell us how to get to room,oh she said im doing everything wrong today which brings us to our next problem,we were told breakfast was between 7.30 and 09.30.arrived at approx 08.55 next morning to be met by a cheeky comment from waitress sayin oh you,re to late for cooked breakfast as they close at nine,told her we were told 09.30,asked us who told us that an could we describe her,then said she would have to go and check to see if we could have breakfast,came back and said yes we can and proceeced to tell us of again,this was done in front of diners,very embarassing,during breakfast she cleared buffet table and all other tables which meant that what we thought was supposed to be a relaxing start to our day was a nightmare,room not very clean and could hear people in next room using the loo and also it seems we could hear all the loos flushing in the corridor and the fans going on and off constantly,will not be back,dont think they,ll care as they didnt even ask if we enjoyed our stay on check out.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank debbi123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management T, Manager at Lost Guest House, responded to this review, 21 June 2012
Dear Madam,

I am very disapointed to hear that you had a disapointing stay at the Terraces. It is very rare that we recieve negative feedback regarding our staff, so I can assure you it's something we will certainly deal with.
I apologise for your welcome to the hotel not being as it should, and the information given not accurate and again your welcome at Breakfast. It is certainly not acceptable and our staff are very much trained to deal with our guests in a much better manner. We would of liked you to raise your issues whilst at the hotel so we could of tried to compensate in some way however I do have your details and will be in touch to discuss this matter further. May I assure you that we do very much care about all of our guests experience.
Kind Regards, Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2012

Location was good ..room was not cheap for what you got. Room (standard) was 2nd floor which was fine but it was on the west end and all night it was noisy from some sort of machinery going on and off. Bed was to hard and bad pillows old I would say.Shower was not good hard to control water hot/cold. I do not know what it is but bathrooms have no space to put anything out..hang towels... and you never get a face cloth. Better to stay at the B&B much better value.Staff was nice.

Room Tip: Go to the B&B up the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Julie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2012

Very high standard of customer service. Friendly check-in from receptionist and again from night porter, when we came in late. Misunderstanding over the breakfast days/times meant we arrived in the bar 10 mins after breakfast was due to finish. However, this was no problem and very helpful staff arranged a full cooked breakast for us. The hotel has good parking facilities and is 2 mins walk from the centre of Stirling so is ideal for sightseeing, eating out, etc. We will definately use this hotel again.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Level Contributor
117 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

With good old-fashioned tartan decor, great service, and prime location at reasonable cost, this hotel was excellent value for money. The staff were really helpful and friendly, especially the manager. And the hotel is located less than 5 minutes walk from the city centre but yet set back from the main road enough to ensure peace and quiet for a good night's sleep! There were nice little touches, and although some things about the place may have been slightly tired, such as the unsightly tile chippings in the shower floor, it was well-cleaned and comfortable. Couldn't really have asked for more for what we paid!!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GlasgowChocaholic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GLASGOW
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

Having stayed here before, our expectations were high and I am happy to say we weren't disappointed. We couldn't get the room we had last visit but it was lovely all the same. Nice comfy bed, large flat screen tv and the bathroom was beautiful and well equipped and very clean. The public areas again were very clean and cosy and the dining room is bright and fresh. Our breakfast and evening meals were magnificent but only a close second to the larger than life personality of the chef who made our night each time by personally coming out to check everything was ok -a real credit to the business and really funny. All staff were lovely and we took a particular shine to the little red head on reception.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a superior room for £20-suites are enormous
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bigbombay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stirling hotels
0.3 mi away
The Stirling Highland Hotel
0.2 mi away
Golden Lion Hotel
Golden Lion Hotel
#10 of 21 in Stirling
3.5 of 5 bubbles 904 reviews
2.1 mi away
Stirling Court Hotel
Stirling Court Hotel
#7 of 21 in Stirling
4.0 of 5 bubbles 494 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Stirling
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Stirling City Centre Hotel
0.3 mi away
Friars Wynd Hotel
Friars Wynd Hotel
#4 of 21 in Stirling
4.5 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lost Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lost Guest House

Property: Lost Guest House
Address: 4 Melville Terrace, Stirling FK8 2ND, Scotland (Formerly Terraces Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Stirling > Stirling
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 21 Hotels in Stirling
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Lost Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Lost Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Terraces Hotel Stirling
Lost Guest House Stirling, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing