We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lots of problems, helpful staff” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lost Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Lost Guest House
Ranked #14 of 21 Hotels in Stirling
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lots of problems, helpful staff”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2012

When we first arrived at the terrace hotel we were greeted by a friendly and welcoming staff, given our room key and directed to our room, which was the deluxe suite.
When we entered the room we found a large damp patch on the ceiling over the bed side table which (along with the phone) was soaking wet. We complained to the manager at the desk who promised to contact the plumber immediately. We then found food stains on the blue bed throw and brown stains on the white sheets, I had to go back up to the reception to complain about these, I was then told that our phone wasnt working because they couldnt get through to contact us regarding the leak.
For the leak we were offered to be moved to a down graded room for the night and moved into the other suite for the second night (there was also a bottle of wine placed behind the bar for us). Since we had paid for a suite and not a standard room we decided just to stay in the suite for the night as the leak hadn't affected the bed or any main areas of the room.
Part of the reason we paid for the suite was for the use of the large corner bath which, when we used it, had a faulty plug hole and the water ran away as we were sitting in the bath.
On our second night we were moved into the other suite which we quickly noticed was a lot smaller and lacked the corner bath which we had specifically requested.
Later during the night around 23.30 we phoned reception to ask for some sandwhiches, which it said in the menu were availible 24hrs, the night porter answered and was particularly rude down the phone and made it clear our request was a burden to him so I said we'd just leave it, so we decided to go out and get ourselves something to eat.
The night porter let us out and said just to ring the doorbell to get back in later on, when we returned we rang the bell serveral times but were left on the door step for around 15 minutes until, eventually, the night porter arrived with his fresh cup of tea and his jacket and hat on, he'd obviously been setting himself up for his break before bothering to let us in.
The rest of the night everything else was alright but around 8am we were woken up and our room was directly beneath the restauraunt which opened for breakfast between 8 & 10am and had wooden flooring.
So, when we checked out and we were presented with the bill we brought up all our complaints again, which this manager had not heard previously, and it was very well delt with as the manager almost immediately settled our bill at just the deposit we had already paid meaning; we only paid £80 for a £300 room which was excellent!
This type of service is what makes up for the other downfalls.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank laurenp92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management T, Manager at Lost Guest House, responded to this review, 16 October 2012
Dear Sir/Madam,
Many thanks for taking the time to review the hotel. Unfortunately sometimes some things happen which are out with our control, and the leak in your bedroom was this situation.
I would like to apologise that a Sandwich was not available for you during the night. The staff member involved has been dealt with accordingly.
We acknowledge all feedback from our customers, and I am glad that you left happy with the service given. I look forward to welcoming you back to the Terraces Hotel in the future.
Kind Regards,
Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

341 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    109
    93
    54
    43
    42
See reviews for
39
176
26
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2012 via mobile

Haven't been to terraces for a little while and didn't know what to expect as some of usual staff had left. But we were really impressed staff were warm and friendly Christine who did food and bar was really fab. Food was fantastic and decent size portions good value for money. Room was clean tidy bed and pillows were comfy. Would reccomend the terraces to anyone its a two minute walk to shops and old jail. And 10 mins to castle. Also good base if u want to go to st Andrews

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jsney68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management T, Manager at Lost Guest House, responded to this review, 16 October 2012
Dear Sir/Madam,
Many thanks for your review and we are all very pleased that you had a nice stay here at the Terraces. I have passed on your review to Christine and the other staff.
We hope to welcome you back soon to the Terraces Hotel.

Kind Regards,
Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2012

The Terraces Hotel in Stirling is extremely well situated in the centre of the city. Our room was adequate for the price but there were two fundamental problems. The first was that the shower jumped from scolding hot to freezing cold every 20 seconds and the second was a whirring noise that started up every couple of minutes at all times of the day and night. It sounded like a pump of some sort and meant for a disturbed night's sleep. Thankfully, we weren't in the room too much. On the bright side, the reception staff were very friendly, welcoming and helpful. One of them was kind enough to lend me their phone charger, as I had left mine at home. I would stay at the Terraces again but not without ensuring that the shower worked properly and there were no whirring noises.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jody W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stirling, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2012

have just returned from spending a couple of days in this hotel. staff at this hotel were very friendly and couldn't be more helpful. quiet and relaxing atmosphere but also just a 5 minute walk away from city center. food was lovely, i recommend the steak! cooked just to my taste. really enjoyed my stay and will definitely be returning :)

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jill c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fareham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2012

Stayed 4 nights with wife and another couple. Small double room with single wardrobe. Staff seemed a bit thin on the ground.
Full breakfast decreased from 2 rashers of bacon and 2 sausages (with egg & beans) on day one to 1 of each on day 4. No croissants.
Wife and sister were coeliacs (intolerance to gluten). Whilst advising when rooms booked, the hotel had none to offer on day 4.
It seems the longer you stay the less you get!!!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management T, Manager at Lost Guest House, responded to this review, 28 September 2012
Dear Sir,
Firstly I would like to thank you for reviewing our hotel. We appreciate and take on board all comments.
I would like to apologise for the lack of consistency in your breakfast experience and also the lack of Gluten Free products on Day 4 of your stay.
We cater for all dietary requirements at the hotel, and I have spoken with the relevant departments to ensure this does not happen again.
Once again, thank you for your review and I hope to see you back at the hotel in the future.

Kind Regards,
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
N. Ireland
Level Contributor
43 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2012

A great hotel which is only a five minute walk from the town centre. Staff were friendly and helpful. The room was spotlessley clean with a great large flat screen TV. I stayed one night on business, and will certainly use the hotel again. I enjoyed my stay there and would recommend the Terraces to anyone planning a stay in Stirling. Could not fault it.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Secularkid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2012

Hi
I would just like to say that the staff running the hotel especially at the front desk could'nt do any more to accommodate our needs. We had a great stay. Thank you to all the staff for making our trip remarkable.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank smita s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stirling hotels
0.4 mi away
The Stirling Highland Hotel
0.2 mi away
Golden Lion Hotel
Golden Lion Hotel
#10 of 21 in Stirling
3.5 of 5 bubbles 893 reviews
2.1 mi away
Stirling Court Hotel
Stirling Court Hotel
#7 of 21 in Stirling
4.0 of 5 bubbles 478 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Friars Wynd Hotel
Friars Wynd Hotel
#3 of 21 in Stirling
4.5 of 5 bubbles 151 reviews
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Stirling
0.7 mi away
Premier Inn Stirling City Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lost Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lost Guest House

Property: Lost Guest House
Address: 4 Melville Terrace, Stirling FK8 2ND, Scotland (Formerly Terraces Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Stirling > Stirling
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 21 Hotels in Stirling
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Lost Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Lost Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Terraces Hotel Stirling
Lost Guest House Stirling, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing