We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely varied menu”
Review of Lost Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Lost Guest House
Ranked #16 of 20 Hotels in Stirling
Reviewed 5 October 2013

----What choices for £10, 6 of us visited and we were given the option of the dining area or a room for only us -thats what we chose, it was dressed lovely and we were in no danger of anyone else hearing our conversation.food is good and freshly cooked, our waiter was very attentive(a bit o.t.t.) we were loking forward to the eton mess which was dissapointing-more like a fruit sundae, but tasted nice.hotel is situated almost in the city centre and has parking at the front and side,would be an ideal base for anyone who wanted to tour central Scotland.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank janiceHome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (390)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

199 - 205 of 390 reviews

Reviewed 4 October 2013

7 us went out for my mum's birthday at the weekend there! The food was really yummy...between the 7 of us we had a taste of most of the menu...everyone enjoyed their meal (lot's of "mmm, you should try this" and "can I have a bit of yours"). The quality of the food was very surprising....with 3 courses for £10, I had low expectations (a family friend had recommended The Terraces so we gave it a go) but I needn't have worried...it was good, freshly prepared, tasty food! We had a lovely night. All of the staff were friendly, polite and attentive!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Elsiesays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2013

i decided to pop into the terraces for lunch today as I was told by friends that the food was good and they had good deals.. I had lasagne and my partner had steak pie, and mine was the best I have had in a looooooong time. Both myself and my partner cleared our plates lol. And for being 3 courses for £10 you'd think the food would be rubbish but it was amazing and the homemade sticky toffe pudding was that good i stole my partners aswell lol.

Room Tip: would definately recommend this hotel to anyone!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank michelle r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management T, Manager at Lost Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2013

Thanks for the great review, hope you’ll be back soon for another second helping of sticky toffee pudding!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2013

My wife and I decided to give theTerraces a visit to try their new £10.00 dinner menu. Absolutely excellent value and would highly recommend a visit for anybody looking for a wide choice and a wonderful meal.

Stayed: September 2013
Thank James M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2013

Me and my wife decided to take a few days away from home.
A bit unsure about staying here at first as I had heard bad reviews about the hotel. I even tried to cancel but we didn't. On arrival we were greeted by a happy chap who informed us about what we needed to know about the hotel and the city. Our room wasn't grand but it was comfortable and clean, just what we needed for our stay. Clean towels every day
We never ate in the restaurant until the 3rd night and we wished we ate there every night. Food was to die for. Amazing and very cheap too. A 3 course meal for £10. Well worth it I say.
The staff were very attentive in the hotel, maybe a bit too much for some. The chap in the restaurant liked to talk - my only dislike this as we were trying to eat and he kept chatting to us.
Overall I would recommend this hotel and their restaurant.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GarethD85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management T, Manager at Lost Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2013

Thank you for the review. You’ve picked out some of the things the new management team here have been working hard on like the warm welcome, attentive service, clean comfortable rooms and great food at a great price. A review like this makes all the hard work worthwhile, thanks.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2013

Thanks to great actors a disaster was averted. If we find out where else they put on their murder mysteries we would book again but not at this hotel. No hot water from the time we arrived and couldn't even have a cold shower, meal extremely disappointing - even the tea was lukewarm and stewed.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JLN17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2013

This dump could have spoilled our surprise 60th celebrations. We booked up for the Murder Mystery night. First sign that all was not as advertised was the tired, washed out decor. We could live with that, however our rooms, three in all, we're less from clean. The shower room absolutely filthy. No hot water in any of the rooms. The food barely edible, the menu on the website was very promising, but changed without discussion. Food basic, over cooked and cold. They even forgot to bring out the birthday cake. No water in the ladies loo - surely this must break a few hygiene rules. Kitchen staff dropped plates, cutlery, un- eaten food all over the place. It was so comical that we thought it was all part of the act. The Murder Mystery gang were hilarious and thank goodness for that else our party celebrations would have been totally spoilt. Terrace - you should be ashamed of yourselves.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank tracyu1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management T, Manager at Lost Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2013

Sorry that you stay has not lived up to your and our expectations. There was a failure with the hot water system over the weekend which has been rectified with the installation of a brand new boiler. That aside we are a new team working hard to try and improve the hotel. Our aim is to be a hotel where we make special times all the more special. We clearly haven’t managed that for you and your friends who have also written reviews , we’ll be in touch to see how we can put things right.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stirling hotels
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Stirling
0.2 mi away
Golden Lion Hotel
Golden Lion Hotel
#10 of 20 in Stirling
1,025 reviews
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Stirling City Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Stirling Highland Hotel
1.5 mi away
King Robert Hotel
King Robert Hotel
#2 of 3 in Bannockburn
546 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cook's of Stirling
Cook's of Stirling
#12 of 20 in Stirling
208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lost Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lost Guest House

Address: 4 Melville Terrace, Stirling FK8 2ND, Scotland (Formerly Terraces Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Stirling > Stirling
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 20 Hotels in Stirling
Price Range: £46 - £123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Lost Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo and Evoline ltd so you can book your Lost Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Terraces Hotel Stirling
Lost Guest House Stirling, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing