We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Could be loverly, but...”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Lost Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Lost Guest House
Ranked #14 of 21 Hotels in Stirling
Rushden, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Could be loverly, but...”
Reviewed 30 June 2014

The Staff were great.
The food was tasty and imaginative.
But the Hotel itself is tired and in need of refurbishment. The bedrooms all need a good dusting too. A shame really because the latter greatly effects the rating that I give.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zayerman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

342 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    109
    94
    54
    43
    42
See reviews for
39
176
27
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kilmarnock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

My husband & I spent two nights 27th & 28th June For Armed Forces Day. When we arrived the Receptionist was dealing with an American couple whose room had been cancelled by an outside agency. I was really impressed with the way she phoned round various places until she managed to get them alternative accommodation. The room was "jaded" & could do with refurbishment however it was clean & bedding towels were spotless so we could live with that. When we booked some time ago we were asked if we wanted B&B or DBB we opted for B&B but were told if we wanted Dinner it wouldn't be a problem as we were residents. On Friday we asked if we could book for Sat. but were told the Restaurant was closed due to two weddings. On returning on Friday night we asked if we could have a drink & were told to go into the Bistro, about ten people were finishing meals. There seemed to be only one member of staff & after ten minutes waiting we left. Returning to the hotel on Saturday night we were met with the Disco in full flow from one of the weddings. The noise could be heard all over the hotel & sleep was impossible. Breakfast was average, with the choice of fruit etc. very limited. I don't think we would use this hotel in the future.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HILARY K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014

Although It's no fault of the staff, we were looking forward to a lovely stay at the terraces hotel but the hot water service which came on every time anyone turned the hot water tap on and made a terrible loud buzzing noise, made it impossible to sleep, at least in room 17. My husband complained to the porter at ten and eleven and at twelve midnight thought about sleeping in the car to get some peace and quiet! We were moved the next night into a much better room although by then our stay was spoiled. We would not stay there again.

Room Tip: Don't have anything past room fifteen
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rachel A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Stirling hotels

Brighton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 June 2014 via mobile

this accomodation is as the title says: good value for your money. the rooms are not beautifully done, but they are clean, and silent where you can have a good, restful night.
the customer service is goo, whenever I needed them they were there.
I saw some bad reviews, which surprised me, as I think this place gave me what they promised - so don't expect a 5* stay - but you can trust that you get what you paid for.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank ilovetravel770879
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

We went to the Terraces Hotel on a last minute whim in order to catch a movie which was only still playing in Stirling. Clean very spacious room, good breakfast, no complaints. It's pretty central and you get what you pay for.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PGradaus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 27 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed with my husband for the weekend and had a lovely time. The room was great and staff very friendly. Good value for the price, good location. Could use better toilet paper and nicer shampoo conditioner.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sofia A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Had a great stay at the Terraces. Great location for our purposes, friendly people, always happy to help, we had a nice trip. Room was as expected, we did not encounter any problems with cleanliness. Would recommend to friends & family.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HLeaver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stirling hotels
0.3 mi away
The Stirling Highland Hotel
0.2 mi away
Golden Lion Hotel
Golden Lion Hotel
#10 of 21 in Stirling
903 reviews
2.1 mi away
Stirling Court Hotel
Stirling Court Hotel
#7 of 21 in Stirling
492 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Stirling
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Stirling City Centre Hotel
0.3 mi away
Friars Wynd Hotel
Friars Wynd Hotel
#4 of 21 in Stirling
160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lost Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lost Guest House

Property: Lost Guest House
Address: 4 Melville Terrace, Stirling FK8 2ND, Scotland (Formerly Terraces Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Stirling > Stirling
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 21 Hotels in Stirling
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Lost Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Lost Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Terraces Hotel Stirling
Lost Guest House Stirling, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing