We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Ol' Fashioned Hospitality”
Review of Hillview Cottage

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hillview Cottage
Ranked #28 of 59 Stirling B&B and Inns
Reviewed 15 October 2012

Our party of 3 was met at the car when we pulled up by our charming host John. Not being used to such a courteous greeting, to my shame, I was initially put off by John's appearance outside, mistakenly thinking there may have been a problem with our booking and he was about to tell us to turn around and find alternative accommodation. Thankfully that wasn't the case, and after the initial awkwardness we were settled nicely into our rooms. The rooms were spacious, clean and basic, with an overall impression of it being not only a B&B but very much a family home as well. The communal breakfast table was a welcome change in this often impersonal world and John was keen to engage in pleasant conversation and was very informative of local and wider attractions. He happily accommodated a special breakfast request not on the menu which I was very grateful for and generally provided us with a memorable and enjoyable stay. The only negative I have to offer is the property was a little difficult for us to find based on the map and conflicting road signs, however it may very well have come down to our navigation skills! Overall I would highly recommend this B&B.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NicoleGW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (114)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

43 - 49 of 114 reviews

Reviewed 24 September 2012

The two B and B rental rooms have comfortable space and amenties with nice bathrooms and a nice skylight. The innovative rooms and dining room were constructed out of three old peasant cottages that were on the site years ago. The host is very pleasant and talkative and really makes the overnight stay memorable. He was good at suggesting a golf course and a place to eat in Callander. I was so glad we visited this area and if we ever come back to Stirling we will come here.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 42golf56_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2012

Great stay for one night with John and family. Made to feel very welcome and pub that he recommended to eat in that night was excellent!

The bedroom that we stayed in was lovely; plenty big enough for the four of us and very clean. I loved the exposed stone wall and beam above the bedroom window and the kids loved the electronic blinds on the skylight. Bathroom great too and we were offered extra towels which was a nice touch. Free Wifi was appreciated by the kids. The breakfast was very tasty and John happy to cater for one fussy eater!

This B&B is well situated for Blair Drummond safari park (2 mins down the road) which we visited on the Sunday having been to Blair Horse Trials on the Saturday.

Great value for money and we will definately be back next year!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Caroline R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2012

We did not wanted to stay in a hotel so we went for this cottage, John the owner was very friendly and he makes you feel like if you are at home , we stayed for 3 nights as we wanted to visit the area and drive in the country , if you are not expecting too much this Cottage will do fine for a night or two
The breakfast was good

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MotorBikeHoliday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2012

I stayed there with my friends. The Cottage was very countryside like and was just exactly what we were expecting. The host, John was very friendly and accommodative. Breakfast was great and overall experience was very pleasant.

I'm sure to stay there again the next time I visit Stirling, Scotland.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shritar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2011

My nephew and I stayed a week and it was just so good. John was an excellent host and breakfast chef. The place was warm, clean and the beds were very comfortable. Top marks all round!

Room Tip: All rooms are warm and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tim E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2011

The pictures on the website totally undersold this B&B. My room was a lovely en-suite, the setting ideal and Jon the proprietor was an excellent, friendly host. Hillview is clean and homely and I would be happy to recommend it to anyone, friend or family.
This B&B is located in an area well situated for visiting some of the most beautiful locations in central Scotland and near enough to Stirlings' historic town for shopping and exploring. Expect a hearty cooked breakfast in the morning and a warm, cosy room.
If you are looking for places to eat out, Jon will have some great suggestions that I have tried and loved! Fab, loved the experience.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Katie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stirling hotels
5.7 mi away
Premier Inn Stirling City Centre Hotel
6.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Stirling
2 mi away
The Woodside Hotel
The Woodside Hotel
#3 of 7 in Doune
107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.7 mi away
West Plean House
West Plean House
#9 of 59 in Stirling
94 reviews
5.9 mi away
Linden Guest House
Linden Guest House
#12 of 59 in Stirling
152 reviews
7.6 mi away
Hillhead Farm Lets
Hillhead Farm Lets
#2 of 2 in Bannockburn
96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hillview Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hillview Cottage

Address: Hillview Cottage Kirk Lane | Blairdrummond, Stirling FK9 4AN, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Stirling > Stirling
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 59 B&Bs / Inns in Stirling
Price Range: £57 - £111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hillview Cottage 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury B&B in an exclusive rural location close to Stirling Castle, Wallace Monument, Loch Lomond and Trossachs. Edinburgh and Glasgow a short drive away. Great hill views with all rooms ensuite. Warm and welcoming log fires, with a vaulted lounge. Internet access available! Excellent service tailored to individual needs ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Agoda, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hillview Cottage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hillview Cottage Stirling, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing