We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A welcoming place to stay”
Review of Hillview Cottage

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hillview Cottage
Ranked #24 of 59 Stirling B&B and Inns
Reviewed 3 August 2013

After a shaky start to our time in Stirling, we were met by the owner of Hillview Cottage with a welcoming smile.
Although the property is in the middle of nowhere, it is a lovely setting. Our room was comfortable and well resourced. We were allocated a family room, even though there was only myself and my teenage daughter! (A double bed, a single & bunk beds proved more than enough places to sleep!)
The house itself is a magical myriad of interesting items. Many seem to have been collected on travels around the world and the remainder, a reminder that this is still a family home. We especially loved Maddy the Moose in the living/ dining room!
It was recommended that we try the local pub, a short drive away, for our evening meal - which was lovely.
Breakfast was served at a huge table, where everyone sat as a huge 'family'.
It was almost a shame to have to leave the next morning, to continue our travels, but our home for the night gave easy access into Stirling.
I am sure we will return to this charming cottage again on our next visit to Scotland!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Debbie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (111)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

38 - 44 of 111 reviews

Reviewed 2 August 2013

The hotels in Stirling were to expensive for us, so we chose this hotel. I guess, it's good enough for one night. Rooms and breakfast were OK.
The biggest con would be location - it's literally in middle of nowhere. As owner said himself, even to see cows or horses you have to take a car. It's about 5 miles till Stirling and about the same till little village Doune, which has a castle, we visited.
As someone already mentioned, in the bathroom there was warning to not flush anything except toilet paper,but there wasn't any bin. In the room there was a heavily burned black heater, which does not inspire much confidence in heating system.
Another huge con for me - water heating. I personally do not understand british love for separate taps of cold and hot water. I guess it's alright, if you are doing the dishes or washing something. But what if you want to wash hands or brush your teeth. in other hotels i simply let both taps run together and stuck my hands periodically under hot or cold water. However in this hotel the hot water was scorching hot and even the tap itself got hot in a few seconds, so I was forced to wash my hands under cold water, which was freezing. The british water heating system is truly idiotic.
Another mishap for me - glasses on breakfast tables. In my country we only drink vodka from such glasses and here we drank juice. perhaps it was strange way to save some expense on drinks, when serving juice in such ridiculously small glasses.
Finally, The owner did not allow guests much space to themselves, which felt a bit invasive. He also proved to be a bit of a snoop and thus could improve his manner towards guests.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Agne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2013

It was a pleasure to meet John and his family, we sat outside in the evening with them and their friend over a glass of wine discussing travelling in general. The room was clean, comfortable with plenty of hot water! The recommendation for the evening meal was great ( the local pub, 5 min drive away) would not hesitate to stay here again, nearly forgot to mention a really good breakfast! 10 out of 10 thanks.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Jacqueline E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2013

The guest accommodation is accessed via the owner's hallway. The room was bright and attractive, with a skylight, large, clean and nicely decorated. There were no fire protection systems evident in the room. The furniture was squeezed against the beds and there was limited clothes-hanging space, which was near the door. There was a sign above the loo indicating, in a patronising way, that only toilet paper and human waste should be flushed down the toilet, albeit there was no bin in the shower room.

The owner forgot to provide us with the internet security code and did not allow guests much space to themselves, which felt a bit invasive. He also proved to be a bit of a snoop and thus could improve his manner towards guests. He remarked that he hated his job, and in response to a comment on the nice location of his house said that it was "okay".

I have not commented on the quality of sleep, shower facility or breakfast, as we chose to leave during the evening of the day we arrived due to some of the factors mentioned above.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LAMGlasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2012

Our party of 3 was met at the car when we pulled up by our charming host John. Not being used to such a courteous greeting, to my shame, I was initially put off by John's appearance outside, mistakenly thinking there may have been a problem with our booking and he was about to tell us to turn around and find alternative accommodation. Thankfully that wasn't the case, and after the initial awkwardness we were settled nicely into our rooms. The rooms were spacious, clean and basic, with an overall impression of it being not only a B&B but very much a family home as well. The communal breakfast table was a welcome change in this often impersonal world and John was keen to engage in pleasant conversation and was very informative of local and wider attractions. He happily accommodated a special breakfast request not on the menu which I was very grateful for and generally provided us with a memorable and enjoyable stay. The only negative I have to offer is the property was a little difficult for us to find based on the map and conflicting road signs, however it may very well have come down to our navigation skills! Overall I would highly recommend this B&B.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NicoleGW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2012

The two B and B rental rooms have comfortable space and amenties with nice bathrooms and a nice skylight. The innovative rooms and dining room were constructed out of three old peasant cottages that were on the site years ago. The host is very pleasant and talkative and really makes the overnight stay memorable. He was good at suggesting a golf course and a place to eat in Callander. I was so glad we visited this area and if we ever come back to Stirling we will come here.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 42golf56_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2012

Great stay for one night with John and family. Made to feel very welcome and pub that he recommended to eat in that night was excellent!

The bedroom that we stayed in was lovely; plenty big enough for the four of us and very clean. I loved the exposed stone wall and beam above the bedroom window and the kids loved the electronic blinds on the skylight. Bathroom great too and we were offered extra towels which was a nice touch. Free Wifi was appreciated by the kids. The breakfast was very tasty and John happy to cater for one fussy eater!

This B&B is well situated for Blair Drummond safari park (2 mins down the road) which we visited on the Sunday having been to Blair Horse Trials on the Saturday.

Great value for money and we will definately be back next year!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Caroline R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stirling hotels
6.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Stirling
5.3 mi away
Stirling Court Hotel
Stirling Court Hotel
#7 of 20 in Stirling
577 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Woodside Hotel
The Woodside Hotel
#3 of 7 in Doune
104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Red Lion Inn
Red Lion Inn
#4 of 7 in Doune
142 reviews
3.5 mi away
Lion & Unicorn Country House Hotel
7.0 mi away
Coralinn Bed & Breakfast
Coralinn Bed & Breakfast
#35 of 59 in Stirling
23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hillview Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hillview Cottage

Address: Hillview Cottage Kirk Lane | Blairdrummond, Stirling FK9 4AN, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Stirling > Stirling
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 59 B&Bs / Inns in Stirling
Price Range: £57 - £95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hillview Cottage 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury B&B in an exclusive rural location close to Stirling Castle, Wallace Monument, Loch Lomond and Trossachs. Edinburgh and Glasgow a short drive away. Great hill views with all rooms ensuite. Warm and welcoming log fires, with a vaulted lounge. Internet access available! Excellent service tailored to individual needs ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hillview Cottage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hillview Cottage Stirling, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing