We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great choice” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Golden Lion Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Golden Lion Hotel
Ranked #10 of 21 Hotels in Stirling
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great choice”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2013

We were looking for a central location near to the thistle shopping centre for a bit of xmas shopping and this hotel was a perfect choice. Our room was very large and spotless. The 3 course dinner was more than ample and very enjoyable as was the buffet style breakfast. There was a graduation ball in full flow whilst we stayed here on saturday night and it looked as if everone was enjoying themselves in this well run establishment. The staff were very pleasant at all times and the atmosphere in the hotel was very relaxing. The location is great for a wee wander to sample some of the nearby pubs and would recomend a visit to no2 Baker St. where the place was buzzing to the sound of great live music. All in all a great place to stay and for £90 for DBB great value indeed. We will not hesitate in staying here in future and look forward to a return visit

Room Tip: Our room was at the rear and very queit.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank james c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

893 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    213
    288
    205
    104
    83
See reviews for
135
368
34
128
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (175)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2013

Untidy, Noisy and the worst breakfast I've had in a very long time. The bar was covered in flies and so was breakfast. The service however was very good. In the morning I went to the manager to tell him about my experience, I was surprised to notice it was the young man who served me in the bar the night before. Upon asking him if he was the manager he replied " I like to think so" with a huge smile. This instantly broke the ice and I couldn't help but smile. He was so polite and really seemed to care. I was assured that all the points I raised will be instantly addressed.

I hope for the sake of the Golden Lion they listen to this young man.

ps Go to McDonalds for breakfast. It's a short walk.

Room Tip: Higher floor away from the ballroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank IGG445
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2013 via mobile

I recently attended a function here, we went for a drink in the main bar first - a diet cola (which turned out to be a half pint glass half filled) was £2.70. We should not have been surprised later when asking for a tiny dash of lemonade in a pint of lager took the price from £3.50 to £4.20.
Service and quality of food during the function was shocking, 15 mins after the desserts started being brought out there were still tables yet to be served their main. Food was dry, chewy, tasteless and the amount served varied wildly from plate to plate. Our table was visited once to ask if everything was ok but the gentleman turned around and walked away before anyone at the table had a chance to respond.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Foxklf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Goldenlionhotel S, General Manager at Golden Lion Hotel, responded to this review, 27 November 2013
Thank you for taking the time to coment on the recent event you attended, This event well extremely well and we have received numerous comments from the other guests who indicated how good it was on this event

I believe you did speak with myself on the night when you queried the flow of service which I did say was due to late comers sitting down at your table where other tables had already been served due to the event being informal and tables were served on an adhoc basis as this was a Party night where all tables are treated individually on a more personal basis

After investigating the drinks charge for the tops , it appears our new Gpos till were charging for the dash of lemonade which should not have happened , this has now been addressed and thank you for bringing this to our attention

I have discussed your comments with our chef who was concerned to hear of your disatisfaction who will endeavour to ensure we meet our clients expectations in future

Once again, thank you for taking the time to comment

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Stirling hotels

Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2013 via mobile

Pleasantly surprised by the Golden Lion room a little basic and old fashioned but given it was one of the un refurbished rooms, and the price good value. Excellent location with parking and very friendly staff, and I'd have no hesitation in recommending it.

Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Geoff0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Goldenlionhotel S, General Manager at Golden Lion Hotel, responded to this review, 19 November 2013
Thank you for your kind comments
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2013 via mobile

My husband and I booked a family room for a visit to Stirling with our adult son. The room was spacious and seemed clean but that's the best I can say for it. Peeling wall paper, cracked tiles in the bathroom. It looked like it hadn't been renovated since the 1980's. Really I expect more for £100. Breakfast was nothing special but it was plentiful. The location was good and we loved the town but I'd stay elsewhere next time.

Stayed October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Brooklynwinelover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Goldenlionhotel S, General Manager at Golden Lion Hotel, responded to this review, 19 November 2013
Thank you for your feedback, we have just completed another refurbishment and tidy up after our busy Summer Season at the end of October where you may have not noticed this during your recent stay with us.

We are always striving to maintain and improve our facilities and do take your comments on board which is appreciated

Thank you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
170 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2013

Stayed here for business , the hotel was very comfortable and the welcome was fine . Car park is hard to fine and is also a tight squeeze but I won't not let this put me off staying again . Breakfast is very nice . One thing about the hotel is that it is very central right in the middle of the town.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Deepcargreeks55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
132 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2013

Just back from an overnight stay, found the Hotel staff to be very friendly, our room was a lot more modern than i expected, very compact though!
Good value for money for a B&B stay, the bar was a wee bit pricey considering the location (Lots of choice cheaper elsewhere) Breakfast was quite good, if a wee bit old fashioned and nothing was piping hot so not sure how long it had been out. Would definitely stay again as had a great time.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stirling hotels
0.2 mi away
The Stirling Highland Hotel
0.1 mi away
Friars Wynd Hotel
Friars Wynd Hotel
#3 of 21 in Stirling
4.5 of 5 bubbles 151 reviews
0.6 mi away
Premier Inn Stirling City Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Stirling Court Hotel
Stirling Court Hotel
#7 of 21 in Stirling
4.0 of 5 bubbles 478 reviews
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Stirling
0.2 mi away
Lost Guest House
Lost Guest House
#14 of 21 in Stirling
3.5 of 5 bubbles 341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Lion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Lion Hotel

Property: Golden Lion Hotel
Address: 8-10 King Street, Stirling FK8 1BD, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Stirling > Stirling
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 21 Hotels in Stirling
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Golden Lion Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel dates back to 1786, one of Stirling's first hotels filled with old world charm in a friendly environment. IN THE HEART of historic Stirling, the Golden Lion Hotel has for more than two centuries welcomed guests including royalty and even the national bard, Rabbie Burns (plaque on wall by front door in acknowledgement of his stay). Nowadays the ideal setting for leisure, business and special occasions, the family-owned Golden Lion provides traditional Scottish hospitality in thoroughly modern style. From the splendid buffet breakfast to the contemporary comforts of the 67 beautifully rooms and the timeless elegance of the stunning Regency Ballroom, this is a hotel with character as well as professional commitment. Close to magnificent Stirling Castle, and a short trip from the famous Monument to William Wallace, the Golden Lion makes an ideal base for the tourist. Practical advantages add to the appeal: the hotel’s city centre location - with free car parking - is only a few minutes drive from the national motorway network. The principal bus and rail stations are within easy walking distance(5 minutes)of the Golden Lion’s front door. There is an excellent choice of shops on the doorstep next to the Thistle indoor shopping Mall. The warmth of our welcome awaits you! Free WIFI available in all public & conference areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Golden Lion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Golden Lion
Stirling Golden Lion
Golden Lion Hotel Stirling, Scotland
Golden Lion Stirling

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing