We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Christmas Party night and stay.”
Review of Golden Lion Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Golden Lion Hotel
Ranked #10 of 20 Hotels in Stirling
Rosie in glasgow
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Christmas Party night and stay.”
Reviewed 16 December 2013

There were six of us and we joined various parties who were having Christmas nights out at the Golden Lion. We had a great meal, especially the desserts, I have a sweet tooth! The band were great and everyone joined in the dancing. We stayed the night and the rooms were up to the usual high standard of the Golden Lion, I have stayed here several times. Th staff are always very friendly and helpful. If you are looking for excellent accommodation in the Stirling area I would highly recommend this hotel. Can I just add that one of my friends put some precious sentimental pieces of jewellery under her pillow and promptly forgot about them. She had a call to to inform her and they will post them to her.

Room Tip: All the rooms I have stayed in have been excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rosieclarke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

933 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    224
    300
    214
    109
    86
See reviews for
144
388
37
134
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (181)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Falkirk ,Scotland
Level Contributor
39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2013

Ideal if you are arriving by public transport but inconvenient if travelling by car as car park is extremely small and difficult to get to, this was our third time for a party nigh,t the band and disco were good and the meal although small was good quality and tasty.IMO there were far too many people crammed into the function room which was never the case previously which made moving within the room a little difficult.
The room we were given was small but very clean, modern and comfortable.
The breakfast was excellent as usual if not a little chaotic.
Overall this is a nice hotel in a good location right in the centre of town a short walking distance to bus and rail routes and right next to many bars and restaurants.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank toffeeskip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stirling, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2013

My workmates and I stayed here on the 7th of December for a party night.
Great food,band,disco,room and stay.
Already planning to have our night out here again next year.
Also thought staff were great too.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Glenda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Goldenlionhotel S, General Manager at Golden Lion Hotel, responded to this review, 14 December 2013
Thank you for your kind comments,
I will let all the Team know and hope to be of service to you again in the foreseeable future
Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2013

The worst customer service of any hotel I have stayed in. I feel that the customers are an inconvenience that the staff have to tolerate, and frankly I am still at a loss as to why I am to blame for not getting the email sent by the hotel(which they did not produce a copy of) informing us of the need to move hotels and why the uninterested young man on reception did not tell us about it on one of the TWO times we asked if our rooms were ready.
If the need to stay in Sterling arises in the future I will certainly NOT consider this place!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alison B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Stirling hotels

Strathaven, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2013

Excellent meal Christmas meal for 50+ in the Wallace Room. Organisation from booking to table planning to set up of room was first class . This hotel was ideal for our purpose warm & welcoming , the meal was good , the staff both in the bar and serving our meal were professional and pleasant . We had a most enjoyable dinner.
I would reccomend this hotel to any group looking for a dinner or function in the Stirling area.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Neil M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Goldenlionhotel S, General Manager at Golden Lion Hotel, responded to this review, 14 December 2013
Thank you for your kind comments, I will let all the Team know
Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2013

Others from our group have already reviewed this hotel and the mess they made of our booking, but I feel it necessary to add....
On arrival the receptionist was clearly not interested in us. We were early and he did not check if our rooms were ready (or would have discovered they were storm damaged). Checking twice and making the specific point the we wanted our arrival registered so that there was no problem with a let check-in on our return from a rugby match should have been enough to avoid the subsequent problems. When we went into the bar for a beer the service was very slow and the dirty table we sat at was never cleared.
The attitude of the manager when dealing with the problem was very poor. He repeatedly talked over me and interrupted me until I had to insist that he stop doing so. Only after some considerable time was an apology made.
I do not know what the hotel is like to stay in, but from what we saw it falls very far short in terms of staff training. The hotel we were moved to however was excellent, and only 5 minutes away. Best advice - look elsewhere.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DavidNRM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dumfries, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2013

Stayed here with family on Saturday night - will never return and do not recommend this hotel to anyone! Advised staff members on three occasions (from 1pm to 5.30pm) that our heating was not working and nothing was done about it. Eventually asked for the General Manager who to be honest was not really interested but said he would send the Duty Manager to investigate. Eventually he appeared and advised the heating could not be fixed but would send us a heater. Unfortunately we did not have any hot water either and were advised there were no other rooms and it was basically "too bad"! We were offered a bottle of wine in the bar but when it came it was lukewarm and undrinkable house rubbish. After returning from dinner we still did not have a heater in our room! The Duty Manager was also rude to another family member who had booked a family room and were given a room right above the ballroom and the two young children were kept awake all night with the loud boom boom disco music until 1am. He was told "you should have checked the website before booking"! Apart from no heating or hot water, all three rooms we booked were shabby, dirty and very dated. Breakfast was average, nothing to write home about. After some haggling we managed to get a refund for the "ice room", but not much in the way of an apology..............................do not ever book room 506

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank keith d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Goldenlionhotel S, General Manager at Golden Lion Hotel, responded to this review, 12 December 2013
Thank for commenting on your recent stay with us, Yes there was an issue with the heating and Hot water in your room only, this has now been addressed and we thank you for this.

You were offered an alternative larger room which you declined to accept, therefore we refunded you the one night's stay with out having to 'haggle', it was offered to you.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stirling hotels
0.2 mi away
The Stirling Highland Hotel
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Stirling
1.9 mi away
Stirling Court Hotel
Stirling Court Hotel
#7 of 20 in Stirling
522 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Friars Wynd Hotel
Friars Wynd Hotel
#4 of 20 in Stirling
170 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lost Guest House
Lost Guest House
#14 of 20 in Stirling
360 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cook's of Stirling
Cook's of Stirling
#12 of 20 in Stirling
180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Lion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Lion Hotel

Property: Golden Lion Hotel
Address: 8-10 King Street, Stirling FK8 1BD, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Stirling > Stirling
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 20 Hotels in Stirling
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Golden Lion Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel dates back to 1786, one of Stirling's first hotels filled with old world charm in a friendly environment. IN THE HEART of historic Stirling, the Golden Lion Hotel has for more than two centuries welcomed guests including royalty and even the national bard, Rabbie Burns (plaque on wall by front door in acknowledgement of his stay). Nowadays the ideal setting for leisure, business and special occasions, the family-owned Golden Lion provides traditional Scottish hospitality in thoroughly modern style. From the splendid buffet breakfast to the contemporary comforts of the 67 beautifully rooms and the timeless elegance of the stunning Regency Ballroom, this is a hotel with character as well as professional commitment. Close to magnificent Stirling Castle, and a short trip from the famous Monument to William Wallace, the Golden Lion makes an ideal base for the tourist. Practical advantages add to the appeal: the hotel’s city centre location - with free car parking - is only a few minutes drive from the national motorway network. The principal bus and rail stations are within easy walking distance(5 minutes)of the Golden Lion’s front door. There is an excellent choice of shops on the doorstep next to the Thistle indoor shopping Mall. The warmth of our welcome awaits you! Free WIFI available in all public & conference areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Golden Lion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Golden Lion
Stirling Golden Lion
Golden Lion Hotel Stirling, Scotland
Golden Lion Stirling

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing