We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fab Festive Weekend”
Review of Golden Lion Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Golden Lion Hotel
Ranked #10 of 20 Hotels in Stirling
Reviewed 19 December 2013

I had a great weekend at the Golden Lion with a group of friends. Thoroughly enjoyed festive partying on Friday night, band entertainment and DJ very good at encouraging all night dancing! Food excellent with good and efficient service, especially considering the number of different groups on the night. The accommodation was very comfortable with the rooms being extremely clean and generous in size. Staff were very accommodating and informative especially when asking about places to visit in the area. Generous breakfast with the best peppered haggis ever! I would highly recommend this gem of a hotel with Stirling castle very close to hand. Will definitely return when in the area. Booking for next Xmas party night a must!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LuVan77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,018)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

565 - 571 of 1,018 reviews

Reviewed 18 December 2013

My friends and I had our annual Xmas night out this year at the Golden Lion. We opted for the party night and we were so pleased we did. From start to finish the evening was fantastic, our room was spacious and nicely decorated, staff were all friendly and nothing was a bother at all.
The meal was delicious and promptly served, I loved it. For a night out I would highly recommend and will definitely return.

Room Tip: We had rooms on the 1st and 2nd floor, both were quiet at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Helen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2013

There were six of us and we joined various parties who were having Christmas nights out at the Golden Lion. We had a great meal, especially the desserts, I have a sweet tooth! The band were great and everyone joined in the dancing. We stayed the night and the rooms were up to the usual high standard of the Golden Lion, I have stayed here several times. Th staff are always very friendly and helpful. If you are looking for excellent accommodation in the Stirling area I would highly recommend this hotel. Can I just add that one of my friends put some precious sentimental pieces of jewellery under her pillow and promptly forgot about them. She had a call to to inform her and they will post them to her.

Room Tip: All the rooms I have stayed in have been excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rosieclarke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2013

Ideal if you are arriving by public transport but inconvenient if travelling by car as car park is extremely small and difficult to get to, this was our third time for a party nigh,t the band and disco were good and the meal although small was good quality and tasty.IMO there were far too many people crammed into the function room which was never the case previously which made moving within the room a little difficult.
The room we were given was small but very clean, modern and comfortable.
The breakfast was excellent as usual if not a little chaotic.
Overall this is a nice hotel in a good location right in the centre of town a short walking distance to bus and rail routes and right next to many bars and restaurants.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank toffeeskip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2013

My workmates and I stayed here on the 7th of December for a party night.
Great food,band,disco,room and stay.
Already planning to have our night out here again next year.
Also thought staff were great too.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Glenda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Goldenlionhotel S, General Manager at Golden Lion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 December 2013

Thank you for your kind comments,
I will let all the Team know and hope to be of service to you again in the foreseeable future
Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2013

The worst customer service of any hotel I have stayed in. I feel that the customers are an inconvenience that the staff have to tolerate, and frankly I am still at a loss as to why I am to blame for not getting the email sent by the hotel(which they did not produce a copy of) informing us of the need to move hotels and why the uninterested young man on reception did not tell us about it on one of the TWO times we asked if our rooms were ready.
If the need to stay in Sterling arises in the future I will certainly NOT consider this place!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Service
1  Thank 601alisonb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2013

Excellent meal Christmas meal for 50+ in the Wallace Room. Organisation from booking to table planning to set up of room was first class . This hotel was ideal for our purpose warm & welcoming , the meal was good , the staff both in the bar and serving our meal were professional and pleasant . We had a most enjoyable dinner.
I would reccomend this hotel to any group looking for a dinner or function in the Stirling area.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Neil M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Goldenlionhotel S, General Manager at Golden Lion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 December 2013

Thank you for your kind comments, I will let all the Team know
Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stirling hotels
0.2 mi away
The Stirling Highland Hotel
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Stirling
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Stirling City Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Stirling Court Hotel
Stirling Court Hotel
#7 of 20 in Stirling
592 reviews
0.1 mi away
Friars Wynd Hotel
Friars Wynd Hotel
#6 of 20 in Stirling
202 reviews
1.7 mi away
King Robert Hotel
King Robert Hotel
#2 of 3 in Bannockburn
534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Lion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Lion Hotel

Address: 8-10 King Street, Stirling FK8 1BD, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Stirling > Stirling
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 20 Hotels in Stirling
Price Range: £58 - £126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Golden Lion Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel dates back to 1786, one of Stirling's first hotels filled with old world charm in a friendly environment. IN THE HEART of historic Stirling, the Golden Lion Hotel has for more than two centuries welcomed guests including royalty and even the national bard, Rabbie Burns (plaque on wall by front door in acknowledgement of his stay). Nowadays the ideal setting for leisure, business and special occasions, the family-owned Golden Lion provides traditional Scottish hospitality in thoroughly modern style. From the splendid buffet breakfast to the contemporary comforts of the 67 beautifully rooms and the timeless elegance of the stunning Regency Ballroom, this is a hotel with character as well as professional commitment. Close to magnificent Stirling Castle, and a short trip from the famous Monument to William Wallace, the Golden Lion makes an ideal base for the tourist. Practical advantages add to the appeal: the hotel’s city centre location - with free car parking - is only a few minutes drive from the national motorway network. The principal bus and rail stations are within easy walking distance(5 minutes)of the Golden Lion’s front door. There is an excellent choice of shops on the doorstep next to the Thistle indoor shopping Mall. The warmth of our welcome awaits you! Free WIFI available in all public & conference areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Golden Lion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Golden Lion
Stirling Golden Lion
Golden Lion Hotel Stirling, Scotland
Golden Lion Stirling

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing