We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Didn't Impress”
Review of Golden Lion Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Golden Lion Hotel
Ranked #10 of 20 Hotels in Stirling
Reviewed 26 April 2014

I came for a conference and to be honest, I wasn't exactly bowled over by the place. The conference was held in the function suite on the first floor and the lift was a joke since it only had two speeds: dead slow or stop. It is also quite small and can only accommodate a standard size wheelchair, it is not big enough for a larger one or a motorised one.

Having enquired about the disabled facilities prior to attending, I had been told they were excellent and had won awards. I am not sure what the awards were for since the disabled toilet facilities were no better than the average public toilet, with no wash hand basin inside the wide cubicle and no grab rails or emergency cord should you have a fall and require assistance.

Locating their car park was impossible and I ended up parking on the street, thankfully I have a blue badge so I didn't have to keep going out to feed the meter.

The only plus side was the waiting staff who were very helpful, especially when I asked for a more suitable chair to sit on and they brought an arm chair from one of the lounges for me. Would I consider going back there? Unlikely, it just wasn't that great. Maybe they should consider getting their lift seen to so it isn't so slow and I would definitely advise they upgrade their disabled toilet facilities.

Room Tip: If all you want is somewhere close to the shopping centre which is within easy walking distance from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pamela M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Goldenlionhotel S, General Manager at Golden Lion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2014

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent visit to our Hotel.
Please accept our apologies for any inconvenience caused albeit we have just recently refurbished our Lift which is not an express lift and does cover over 7 floors in a listed Building.

I am not quite sure why you were under any impression we had won awards for our disabled facilities which we do not profess to have.

I appreciate our Car park can be hard too find since the new one way system has been introduced to the City Centre which is easily found on Sat Nav FK8 1DQ next to the lane by the Cancer Research Shop
Thanking you again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,000)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

511 - 517 of 1,000 reviews

Reviewed 25 April 2014

Stayed here on our last night in Scotland. Lovely clean hotel and very well decorated. Comfortable room and very nice breakfast, although staff was sparse. Found all staff to be very pleasant and helpful and the parking at the hotel is a real bonus. We did not eat in the restaurant, as we arrived too late, but the menu looked wonderful. Would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Grant G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014

Just back from a 2 night stay at this Hotel. Very good indeed. Room was good and very clean. We had asked for a room at the front of the hotel and got one. All the staff were very friendly. Breakfast excellent. Would certainly use this hotel again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pamela475
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014

The reception area and dining area were impressive. We were very satisfied with the service, quality and price. Dinner menu is a wee bit limited but the small print seems very accommodating for any food preferences and requests. Would recommend and return.

Room Tip: Did not stay overnight.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bernadette H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014

Booked this thru Great Glasgow Deal. 2 nights dinner first night and breakfast 2 mornings.
Staff at reception was very nice night porter the same.meal on Friday was very enjoyable.
As it was my birthday husband have brought with him a bottle of champagne for breakfast and asked hotel for some ice. The receptionist came up with a ice bucket and two champagne glasses.
Could not fault anything and staff were all very pleasant.
The lift is very slow.
Most enjoyable week end

Room Tip: If not fit ask for a room on lower floors as lift is very slow.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank superchicGlasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014

Me and my fiance stayed here for 2 nights dinner bed and breakfast. Great location. The bar and restaurant are nice and traditional, tartan carpets etc. Staff were very friendly. Room was clean and had everything you need. The highlight for us was the evening meals. We both love our food and both nights we ate extremely well. Lovely home made soup...scotch broth the first night, lentil the second night. Mains were chicken with blackpudding served with peppercorn sauce, potatoes + veg. Second night was steak pie with potatoes + veg. You get a choice of 3 starters, main & desserts, and the menu changed on the second night. Breakfast was good also. We throughly enjoyed our stay and would return in a heatbeat.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sunshinelover84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2014

stayed at this hotel at the weekend , and I don't understand some of the reviews I read about the place, took the wife and she can be fussy? but fist impressions looked good, very friendly welcome and quickly booked in, went to room and was impressed very clean and tidy good space and very nice bathroom. hade evening meal was very nice and plenty of, could not finish main course, but very enjoyable. had a couple of drinks in the bar and again staff very pleasant and made our stay enjoyable. very central for anywhere you want to go or see with plenty of bars ect.. we had breakfast, and again was very good with a choice of full Scottish breakfast or continental or have both if you liked , with fresh toast, tea or coffee, and again staff very friendly and willing to assist, all in all a very good weekend and would certainly return to this hotel again, so don't know why people try to run place down. was there 12th April

Room Tip: had room 322 at back of hotel very quite
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank willywonkascotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stirling hotels
0.2 mi away
The Stirling Highland Hotel
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Stirling
1.9 mi away
Stirling Court Hotel
Stirling Court Hotel
#7 of 20 in Stirling
586 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
King Robert Hotel
King Robert Hotel
#2 of 3 in Bannockburn
524 reviews
0.1 mi away
Friars Wynd Hotel
Friars Wynd Hotel
#6 of 20 in Stirling
196 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#2 of 2 in Bridge of Allan
787 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Lion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Lion Hotel

Address: 8-10 King Street, Stirling FK8 1BD, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Stirling > Stirling
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 20 Hotels in Stirling
Price Range: £70 - £128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Golden Lion Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel dates back to 1786, one of Stirling's first hotels filled with old world charm in a friendly environment. IN THE HEART of historic Stirling, the Golden Lion Hotel has for more than two centuries welcomed guests including royalty and even the national bard, Rabbie Burns (plaque on wall by front door in acknowledgement of his stay). Nowadays the ideal setting for leisure, business and special occasions, the family-owned Golden Lion provides traditional Scottish hospitality in thoroughly modern style. From the splendid buffet breakfast to the contemporary comforts of the 67 beautifully rooms and the timeless elegance of the stunning Regency Ballroom, this is a hotel with character as well as professional commitment. Close to magnificent Stirling Castle, and a short trip from the famous Monument to William Wallace, the Golden Lion makes an ideal base for the tourist. Practical advantages add to the appeal: the hotel’s city centre location - with free car parking - is only a few minutes drive from the national motorway network. The principal bus and rail stations are within easy walking distance(5 minutes)of the Golden Lion’s front door. There is an excellent choice of shops on the doorstep next to the Thistle indoor shopping Mall. The warmth of our welcome awaits you! Free WIFI available in all public & conference areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Golden Lion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Golden Lion
Stirling Golden Lion
Golden Lion Hotel Stirling, Scotland
Golden Lion Stirling

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing