We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Golden Lion Experience”
Review of Golden Lion Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Golden Lion Hotel
Ranked #10 of 20 Hotels in Stirling
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Golden Lion Experience”
Reviewed 26 May 2014

We had an overnight stay this weekend at the Golden Lion Hotel. Following a lovely day exploring the castle etc we booked into the hotel and we were both very pleasantly surprised by our room it was lovely. We enjoyed a nice dinner in the restaurant Mike the duty manager and our waitress Basille ensured that everything went smoothly. WE will definitely be back and would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel to our family and friends. Liz and Stephen Guthrie

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank advoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

948 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    227
    308
    218
    109
    86
See reviews for
149
395
37
135
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (182)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wales
Level 6 Contributor
172 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2014

This is one of those hotels which seems to be geared to having large numbers of people visiting but who are not actually staying at the hotel. As a result we were not acknowledged as being residents and past over at lunch time as though we had just dropped in for a snack. I doubt that any member of staff actually saw us as residents. The breakfast was a buffet type affair and I couldn't find a decent egg they all looked to have been cooked hours before they met my gaze.
The plan I used on day two was to ask for breakfast to be cooked ie ask for poached egg or a kipper. They have to be cooked. Very convenient for the town train and castle (if you discount the steep hill from hotel to castle). We found our room to be on the small side and the bedding to be below the quality expected at this level.

Room Tip: Don't have a room to the front of the building because of the road noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FraternalEdward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
453 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2014

A nice hotel situated on the high street close to a number or eating establishments and pubs and just down the road from the castle.
The staff are friendly the room is clean and presentable, the resturant has a good menu.
There is parking at the hotel, my only gripe would be there is no internet in the room although you can sit in the reception area and use it.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dale H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2014

Really enjoyed the Golden Lion, lovely room, very clean bathroom. Food was nice and the staff were lovely. Car park a bit tricky to find and a bit tight to park in. Would probably not bring the car next time. Apart from that it was really nice.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandra S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Goldenlionhotel S, General Manager at Golden Lion Hotel, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Thank you for your kind comments I will pass these on to the team
Our Car park is situated in the one way system of the city Centre and can be misleading, however you can easily locate it on Sat Nav FK8 1DQ where you will find it in the cobbled street as you enter Murray place in the lane next to the Cancer Research Shop
Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victorville
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2014

I was pleasantly surprised with this hotel, which was a last minute choice for our stay in Stirling. The location was very convenient, just a short walk from the train station, Stirling Castle and just around the corner from the main shopping district and restaurants. The hotel itself was larger than I expected. The room we stayed in was large enough to accommodate 3 people and was very clean and had a nice in suite bathroom. The view from the window however was the unsightly roof of the adjoining building. Morning breakfast was typical English buffet style and was very tasty. Overall it was a very comfortable stay and highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scotty92394
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Goldenlionhotel S, General Manager at Golden Lion Hotel, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Thank you for your kind comments I will pass these on to the team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tonbridge, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014

Stayed one night on business and had one of the nicest welcomes from reception I've ever received at a hotel. The public areas are very traditional and pleasant. The room was a bit more basic but still clean and tidy. Buffet breakfast superb (haggis for breakfast was lovely,) would happily stay again

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Snapper4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Goldenlionhotel S, General Manager at Golden Lion Hotel, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Thank you for your kind comments I will pass these on to the team
We look forward to being of service to you in the foreseeable future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 April 2014

The hotel itself was nice enough, the staff were friendly and mostly helpful, the room was a good size and bed was really big and comfy but it wasn't dust free and the bathroom could have done with a really good scrub. We ate from a set menu in the restaurant on the first night of our stay, the dishes were simple and something that I would make at home but they were tasty enough. Breakfast was a different story, staff seemed to be constantly having to go away to refill things, the sausages weren't nice and the eggs and potato scones weren't cooked properly, we ate breakfast in a nearby restaurant on the second morning of our stay. The bar didn't have any ice on our first evening or the following afternoon, what kind of hotel doesn't have ice, how difficult can it be to go out and buy a few bags? Lastly, the car park was an absolute nightmare, when we came to park our car after we had been out for the day it was chaos, by entering the car park we nearly caused a stand still, cars were double parked everywhere, surely reception should know the limits of the car park and should never have buzzed us in in the first place. Won't be returning to The Golden Lion and certainly wouldn't recommend it.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lijata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Goldenlionhotel S, General Manager at Golden Lion Hotel, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to comment
I am disappointed to hear of your concerns and have addresed these with our Chef as we do take pride in offering a Good Traditrional Scottish Breakfast especially in the Heart Of Scotland's Ancient Capital
Unfortunately our Ice Machine did breakdown during the day and unable to locate ice at this late stage especially over the weekend when other business' could not assist us.
Thank you again for bringing this to our attention

Car parking is always subject to availability and we do try and control space where possible
Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stirling hotels
0.2 mi away
The Stirling Highland Hotel
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Stirling
1.9 mi away
Stirling Court Hotel
Stirling Court Hotel
#7 of 20 in Stirling
532 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Friars Wynd Hotel
Friars Wynd Hotel
#5 of 20 in Stirling
178 reviews
1.7 mi away
King Robert Hotel
King Robert Hotel
#2 of 3 in Bannockburn
506 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cook's of Stirling
Cook's of Stirling
#12 of 20 in Stirling
182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Lion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Lion Hotel

Property: Golden Lion Hotel
Address: 8-10 King Street, Stirling FK8 1BD, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Stirling > Stirling
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 20 Hotels in Stirling
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Golden Lion Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel dates back to 1786, one of Stirling's first hotels filled with old world charm in a friendly environment. IN THE HEART of historic Stirling, the Golden Lion Hotel has for more than two centuries welcomed guests including royalty and even the national bard, Rabbie Burns (plaque on wall by front door in acknowledgement of his stay). Nowadays the ideal setting for leisure, business and special occasions, the family-owned Golden Lion provides traditional Scottish hospitality in thoroughly modern style. From the splendid buffet breakfast to the contemporary comforts of the 67 beautifully rooms and the timeless elegance of the stunning Regency Ballroom, this is a hotel with character as well as professional commitment. Close to magnificent Stirling Castle, and a short trip from the famous Monument to William Wallace, the Golden Lion makes an ideal base for the tourist. Practical advantages add to the appeal: the hotel’s city centre location - with free car parking - is only a few minutes drive from the national motorway network. The principal bus and rail stations are within easy walking distance(5 minutes)of the Golden Lion’s front door. There is an excellent choice of shops on the doorstep next to the Thistle indoor shopping Mall. The warmth of our welcome awaits you! Free WIFI available in all public & conference areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Golden Lion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Golden Lion
Stirling Golden Lion
Golden Lion Hotel Stirling, Scotland
Golden Lion Stirling

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing