We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ruined Our Big Day”
Review of Hotel Colessio

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Colessio
Ranked #4 of 20 Hotels in Stirling
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 June 2011

We were supposed to be married at the Hotel Colessio this year and to my dismay were told 4 months before our wedding and only with a lot of phones call to the sales manager that it would not go ahead!!! I would strongly advise anyone considering having their wedding reception at this hotel to please make sure that you can actually get in to see the hotel and its progess.... even then i would wait until they have actually opened their doors to the public! There was no end to the stress and anxiety that this so called 'Reputable Company' added to what was supposed to be the best day of my life so please take note and do not put yourself through what myself and my fiance went through and not to mention the financial strain it has now put us under trying to find a suitable venue that is to our liking!

To make matters worse these people did not even try to console us with any nice gestures or even apologise correctly for the undue stress and sleepless nights they have given us for the past year!!!

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
32  Thank stressedbride26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AuroraHC, Marketing & PR consultant at Hotel Colessio, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

Steven McLeod, Chief Executive of the Aurora Hotel Collection, has asked me to get in touch with you. While it is several years since you posted your comments regarding the cancellation of your wedding at Hotel Colessio, he has never forgotten the massive disappointment and upset this caused you and truly regrets that you were let down, particularly for such a special occasion. Unfortunately the delays to the opening were beyond his control, but this cannot excuse the failings in how you were dealt with. As you may be aware, the hotel has now opened its doors and he would very much like to welcome you as his guest on a complimentary basis. While he appreciates that this is little compensation for your earlier experience, Steven hopes that you will accept his invitation and enjoy a stay at the hotel with his compliments. If you could email me at elizabeth@aurorahotelcollection.com with your contact details, I will get back to you as a priority. I look forward to hearing from you and, again, my sincere apologies. Kind regards, Elizabeth

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (753)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

722 - 728 of 753 reviews

Reviewed 7 June 2011

Our wedding was booked for 16th October 2010,we were scheduled to be the first couple to get married at the so-called 5 star boutique hotel. The company provided us with many assurances that the hotel would be open on time. We met with the wedding co-ordinator 10 weeks prior to our wedding and finalized everything from menus to room availability. During this meeting we were also given further reassurance that the hotel would definitely be open in time for our wedding, albeit it was behind schedule.
Thereafter, 7 weeks before our wedding, we received a phone call to say the venue would not be ready. We then spent the next few days frantically trying to find another venue, which thankfully, we did.
Overall the company treated us in an appalling manner, we have never received any formal apology or form of compensation for the added stress and cost of re-arranging suppliers. Another interesting point is that following our horrendous experience with the company I posted the facts on the Scottish Wedding Directory website, in order to make other couples aware, my post however was subsequently deleted.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Service
10  Thank PenelopePitstop3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AuroraHC, Marketing & PR consultant at Hotel Colessio, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

Steven McLeod, Chief Executive of the Aurora Hotel Collection, has asked me to get in touch with you. While it is several years since you posted your comments regarding the cancellation of your wedding at Hotel Colessio, he has never forgotten the massive disappointment and upset this caused you and truly regrets that you were let down, particularly for such a special occasion. Unfortunately the delays to the opening were beyond his control, but this cannot excuse the failings in how you were dealt with. I noted your comments about your post being deleted from the Scottish Wedding Directory website, however I can assure you that we had nothing to do with this and can only assume that the team at SWD removed your comments.

As you may be aware, the hotel has now opened its doors and he would very much like to welcome you as his guest on a complimentary basis. While he appreciates that this is little compensation for your earlier experience, Steven hopes that you will accept his invitation and enjoy a stay at the hotel with his compliments. If you could email me at elizabeth@aurorahotelcollection.com with your contact details, I will get back to you as a priority. I look forward to hearing from you and, again, my sincere apologies. Kind regards, Elizabeth

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2011

Having visited the Airth Castle Hotel from the same group, I was recommended to visit the site for the planned Hotel Colessio to consider as an option for my upcoming wedding. We met with more than one Sales Manager who confirmed the hotel would be completed and open by Christmas 2010, and advised us to take advantage of discounted rates by booking ahead. We took the gamble - and spent the next 5 months worrying and trying to make contact with someone who would explain why the hotel had not opened and, furthermore, the works had not even started - there are still no windows in this building today!
We attended various wedding fayres and were told stories of couples in the same position, who have lost money by placing their trust with this hotel group.
Eventually we made contact with the hotel, who advised the works had been delayed and that our wedding would need to be cancelled. Although extremely upset, the sales person advised a new date should be set just 2 months later as would definitely be completed by then. With the nearby church etc already booked, we thought this would be the most reasonable option. We were wrong.
Following the cancellation of our second date, we began to research the company and were dismayed to find the business listed as "in liquidation". On speaking with the company to try to get an explanation, we were told "our Chief Executive has advised that if you don't stop asking questions, your booking will be cancelled". Appalling.
Eventually, the worst was confirmed. Our wedding was to be cancelled - for the third time- one person advising due to cashflow issues, the other due to issues with the construction company.
Our experience with the Hotel Colessio has been stressful and upsetting, and has not only affected us but our friends and family who had reserved rooms to stay on the night of the wedding and were with us throughout this nightmare.
Thankfully we have now booked a wedding with an established, reputable hotel group. Although we are at a loss financially, we have at least now got a very special day ahead of us.

* I am aware of this group still actively taking bookings for Weddings, although they do not know when this hotel will be open and as yet the works appear to be stalled. Please fully research our experience, and the experiences of tens of other couples before considering this as a venue for your special day.
(the venue was fully booked from May-October 2011 - so lots of disgruntled customers).

Room Tip: Do not book
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank spotlightdancestudio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AuroraHC, Marketing & PR consultant at Hotel Colessio, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

Steven McLeod, Chief Executive of the Aurora Hotel Collection, has asked me to get in touch with you. While it is several years since you posted your comments regarding the cancellation of your wedding at Hotel Colessio, he has never forgotten the massive disappointment and upset this caused you and truly regrets that you were let down, particularly for such a special occasion. Unfortunately the delays to the opening were beyond his control, but this cannot excuse the failings in how you were dealt with. As you may be aware, the hotel has now opened its doors and he would very much like to welcome you as his guest on a complimentary basis. While he appreciates that this is little compensation for your earlier experience, Steven hopes that you will accept his invitation and enjoy a stay at the hotel with his compliments. If you could email me at elizabeth@aurorahotelcollection.com with your contact details, I will get back to you as a priority. I look forward to hearing from you and, again, my sincere apologies. Kind regards, Elizabeth

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2011

Hotel cancelled booking due to cash flow problems. Service was a disgrace and have never had such poor service.

  • Stayed: September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
15  Thank Robert1981uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lilogironde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: April 2017
Thank Stephanie Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: probabilmente le stanze ai piani bassi sono migliori
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Cristina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stirling
0.0 mi away
The Stirling Highland Hotel
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Stirling
0.1 mi away
Golden Lion Hotel
Golden Lion Hotel
#10 of 20 in Stirling
1,000 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#2 of 2 in Bridge of Allan
786 reviews
1.8 mi away
Stirling Court Hotel
Stirling Court Hotel
#7 of 20 in Stirling
586 reviews
5.0 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton, Dunblane-Hydro
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Colessio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Colessio

Address: 33 Spittal Street, Stirling FK8 1DU, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Stirling > Stirling
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 20 Hotels in Stirling
Price Range: £64 - £189 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Colessio 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Odigeo, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Colessio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Colessio Stirling, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing