We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel but does anyone know what they're doing?!!”
Review of Hotel Colessio

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Colessio
Ranked #6 of 20 Hotels in Stirling
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Visited the Colessio to view as a potential wedding venue after seeing on their website that they had an open day. When we arrived there was no open day as the hotel had not opened yet!! The receptionist who greeted us had very bad English and had no idea what we were saying. I had to fill out wedding detail forms myself as she was misspelling everything we said. We were shown around the hotel by one of the wedding co-ordinators who advised she would email us over package prices later that day. The next day we had not got an email so I called to be told she was not in the office and would call me back. I got no phone call. I called again and was told they did not know when she would be back. After several more phone calls I spoke to someone who seemed to be a bit more clued up and it turned out the girl actually left!! So now I am dealing with another person (the clued up one so I thought) who said she would email me. No email was received and I had to call again. Eventually the email was sent. I was then advised to wait until the events manager is back and deal with her. I email her to call me to arrange an appointment but do not hear back. I have to call the hotel yet again to arrange the appointment. 3 emails and 2 phonecalls later we go back to the hotel. After visiting the hotel I email with several questions regarding the venue and 4 days later I got a reply but only answering 1 question!! Needless to say we gave up after this and booked our wedding somewhere else. Terrible service and communication. How do you expect people to trust you with such an important day if you cant even get this part right.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
10  Thank Sile0609
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AuroraHC, Marketing & PR consultant at Hotel Colessio, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

Thank you for taking time to review your recent experience of Hotel Colessio, and my apologies for the delay in responding. I am so sorry to hear of the failings our team in handling your enquiry and that they did not provide the service which we expect of them.

We take your feedback very seriously and I would be grateful if you could email me at Elizabeth@aurorahotelcollection.com with your contact details and more information on who you were dealing with. I will then discuss with Steven McLeod, Chief Executive, and get back to you as a priority. While disappointing to read your comments, I appreciate you taking the time to provide your feedback as this is essential to ensure we improve our customer service. I look forward to hearing from you and, again, my sincere apologies. Kind regards, Elizabeth

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (786)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

725 - 731 of 786 reviews

Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

I had my first visit to Colessio to the grill room for dinner on Monday night. I was hoping to prove the reviews I have previously read wrong but this was not the case!

On arrival we sat at the table and took in the decor which was very extravagant, an acquired taste and verged on tacky. We were intrigued to see how the evening would unfold.

Sadly from the beginning to the end there were numerous negatives mainly relating to inexperienced staff. The staff mainly appeared to be untrained, lacking in certainty and making mistakes.

We were asked more than once if we wanted drinks when we had already placed an order, our drinks order was wrong on two occasions (once a drink we hadnt ordered was brought and once they got the drink wrong completely), staff were seen going to wrong tables with food and several members of staff didn't know where the toilets were to direct us to (Surely that's the first thing they would be informed before their first shift? BIZARRE!) AND the manager/ supervisor seemed to require a waiter to carry our tray of coffees for her while she incorrectly placed them down on our table.. Is she not able to carry a tray? She also wasn't able to identify a mocha and instead gave me my friends cappuccino. Additionally all of our coffees were cool.

The lack of numerous basics completely took away from our experience! To be fair the staff were very pleasant, this was ashame as the food was also tasty but both were spoiled by everything else.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
3  Thank Nicola K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AuroraHC, Marketing & PR consultant at Hotel Colessio, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

Thank you for taking time to review your recent experience of Hotel Colessio, and my apologies for the delay in responding. I am so sorry to hear of the failings our team and that they did not provide the service which we expect of them. We take your feedback very seriously and I would be grateful if you could email me at Elizabeth@aurorahotelcollection.com with your contact details. I will then discuss with Steven McLeod, Chief Executive, and get back to you as a priority. While disappointing to read your comments, I appreciate you taking the time to provide your feedback as this is essential to ensure we improve our customer service. I look forward to hearing from you and, again, my sincere apologies. Kind regards, Elizabeth

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

I turned up here without a reservation, I was staying in the hotel next door but their restaurant was full (no room even for residents!!). I was made to feel very welcome, even as a single diner.
The starter of shredded duck bons bons was amazing, followed by Thai Salmon and baked Alaska - perfect.
The staff were friendly and the decor very modern but comfortable.

Ps I shall here in future rather than the Stirling Highland next door

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Mandi P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AuroraHC, Marketing & PR consultant at Hotel Colessio, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

Thank you so much for your lovely comments and my apologies for the delay in responding. I am delighted that you had such a good time, enjoyed your dining experience at Hotel Colessio and that our team looked after you. We really appreciate you taking the time to provide your comments and hope to welcome you back very soon. Should you ever require any assistance, please don't hesitate to contact me on elizabeth@aurorahotelcollection.com. Kind regards, Elizabeth

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We stayed with a fairly large group for the Commonwealth Games. The hotel had been open for just a few days and naturally there were a few snags as you'd expect for such a major refurbishment of an historic building. Our guests who travel all over the world with us supporting British athletes were very happy with the Colessio. One told me he'd like to take the hotel home with him
I can't speak highly enough of the staff who are mostly local people. They are great ambassadors for Stirling and the Colessio hotel.
This is a lovely place to stay and will be even better once its been open for a while

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Terry A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AuroraHC, Marketing & PR consultant at Hotel Colessio, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

Thank you so much for your comments about your recent stay at Hotel Colessio and I'm delighted that you and your party enjoyed your stay. As a newly opened hotel, there are always a few issues which need to be sorted out and I appreciate your understanding of this. It is fantastic to hear that our team looked after you so well, and I hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future. Should you ever require any assistance, please do not hesitate to contact me on elizabeth@aurorahotelcollection.com. Kind regards, Elizabeth

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

My family and I had lunch there on Monday, found the Grill Room very comfortable and decorated to a high standard, all the staff were very attentive and not over powering, food was well presented and tasted fresh, desserts were mouth watering and the highlight of our lunch, I would recommend this hotel for its food and service

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kenneth A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AuroraHC, Marketing & PR consultant at Hotel Colessio, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to review your recent experience at Hotel Colessio. I am delighted that you and your family enjoyed your lunch with us and that our team looked after you. I do hope that we will have the opportunity to look after you again soon. Kind regards, Elizabeth

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

We visited the Colessio for the first time on Thursday after every other restaurant in Stirling seemed to be fully booked & so happy we did! Everything was great from the door being opened for us as we walked in, to the bowl of assorted nuts we got with our G&T's whilst browsing the menu in the bar. The service was spot on, our waitresses Rebecca & Lynsey (I think!) were both really lovely, really professional and really knew the menu inside out.

We had the sharing platter to start, I followed this with monkfish tail (which was melt in the mouth stuff!) my boyfriend had the steak, all washed down with a bottle of red which was also really great. There was no rush to get us out, no pushy-ness with the bill, we were free to stay as long as we wanted.

As for the reviews below regarding staff training - please give the place a break, it has only been open for a few weeks, and as with anything new, there are bound to be teething problems.

I'm already planning to go back to sample their afternoon tea with our mums, cannot recommend this place highly enough. EXACTLY what Stirling was missing.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank katie86871
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AuroraHC, Marketing & PR consultant at Hotel Colessio, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to post your comments on your recent experience at Hotel Colessio. I am delighted that you enjoyed both the food and our service at the Grill Room. We pride ourselves on the quality and service we offer, and it is always heartening to receive positive comments such as yours. As a newly opened hotel, our team are still settling in and I appreciate your understanding in this matter. We look forward to welcoming you back very soon and please don't hesitate to contact me if you ever require any assistance at elizabeth@aurorahotelcollection.com. Kind regards, Elizabeth

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

My husband treated me to a night out for dinner and I was'nt disappointed , the hotel was amazing, yes some of the staff are still learning but were all very pleasant and helpful, as for the meal, well what can I say, it was truly the best meal out ever, compliments to the chef and her team"keep up the good work" we will def be back

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Suzylookie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AuroraHC, Marketing & PR consultant at Hotel Colessio, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

Thank you so much for your lovely comments and my apologies for the delay in responding. I am delighted that you and your husband enjoyed your experience at our Grill Room and that our food and service met your expectations. We really appreciate you taking the time to provide your feedback and I shall pass on your comments to our Executive Chef, Linsey, and her team. We look forward to welcoming you back very soon. Kind regards, Elizabeth

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stirling
0 mi away
The Stirling Highland Hotel
2.5 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#2 of 2 in Bridge of Allan
815 reviews
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Stirling City Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Stirling
7.7 mi away
Airth Castle & Hotel
1.8 mi away
Stirling Court Hotel
Stirling Court Hotel
#7 of 20 in Stirling
600 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Colessio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Colessio

Address: 33 Spittal Street, Stirling FK8 1DU, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Stirling > Stirling
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 20 Hotels in Stirling
Price Range: £76 - £190 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Colessio 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Stayforlong S.L., getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Colessio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Colessio Stirling, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing