We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Picture of Hospitality”
Review of West Plean House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
West Plean House
Ranked #8 of 59 Stirling B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 September 2012

What really made this B&B experience exceptional was the hospitality of the lady who runs it. We arrived earlier than expected after a long flight from the States. Moira quickly made up a room for us so that we could get some rest. She gave us some really good advice on where to go while in the area in terms of attractions and restuarants.

This B&B was a great value. We paid 80 GBP for one night. It is located just outside Stirling on beautiful property. Our room was very clean and furnished with traditional English furniture. The only issue I would share is that the bed was what we in the States call a queen size. You never know what you are going to get in the UK with a "double" room. But it was spacious. No ensuite bath or Wifi if that is important to you. Breakfast was terrific.

I would visit again if I am in the area. West Plean House is a good option for a weekend in Stirling.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (93)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

63 - 69 of 93 reviews

Reviewed 5 September 2012

This working farm B&B was a delight. The room was very comfortable, spacious, and well furnished. Breakfast was hearty and delicious. As an American traveler, I particularly liked that the bed had a top sheet, instead of the duvet only that is typical of hotel beds in the UK. It is well located just a few miles outside of Stirling, which is convenient for sightseeing in the Stirling area and only about 90 minutes from the East coast fishing villages and St. Andrews. The B&B is a little hard to find (a larger sign on the highway would help), as it is off the main route and down a local road. But, this B&B is well worth it. We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LoyalCubsFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2012

A very comfortable room.

We had a fantastic breakfast with home grown eggs!

We enjoyed our stay and it was reasonably priced. Easily found and not far from Stirling

West Plean is country house in the middle of a working farm.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Geoff_W_Abbott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2012

Country estate with spacious and elegant rooms, fine food and all the comforts of home within easy driving distance of Stirling, Glasgow and Edinburgh! We enjoyed 5 lovely nights while taking in the local sights. Moira is a superb host!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelbug217560
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2012

We are a family of 4 with boys 17 and 15.
We found a very good place to stay near Stirling, 10 mn driving out of the town. The park is huge and very well kept ! We had a quiet sleep in big rooms and comfortable beds.
Breakfast was also very good !
Definitely we'll be back if in the region !

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eliotim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2012

I had the pleasure to stay at West Plean House with my boyfriend. We had found the address on internet and were very happy to stay there for a night on our way to North Scotland. Moira welcomed us and really made us feel at home. We had a charming and huge room with all the comfort. It was as good as a 4 star hotel and all this thanks to Moira. She spoiled us. We had tea and freshly baked shortbread when we arrived after a long journey in the car. The breakfast the next morning was also a real treat. Moira was also most helpful. She made restaurant suggestions but also helped us getting the most out of our trip by suggesting places to see/visit. We followed her advices and we were very happy we did. Really, a pretty and charming place with very sweet people. I would definitely stop there again on my next trip to scotland.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AMD_BD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2011

Set in lovely farmland just south of Stirling, West Plean is a delightful family run B & B. A great room and bathroom with acres of space and a lovely guest lounge, lovely garden and short walks as well.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank APWLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stirling hotels
3.9 mi away
The Stirling Highland Hotel
3.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Stirling
3.7 mi away
Premier Inn Stirling City Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Victoria Square Guest House
4.7 mi away
Ravenswood Guest House
Ravenswood Guest House
#5 of 59 in Stirling
377 reviews
4.4 mi away
Castlecroft
Castlecroft
#1 of 59 in Stirling
764 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to West Plean House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about West Plean House

Address: West Plean House Denny Road, Stirling FK7 8HA, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Stirling > Stirling
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 59 B&Bs / Inns in Stirling
Price Range: £65 - £132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — West Plean House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers and Agoda so you can book your West Plean House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
West Plean Stirling
West Plean House Stirling, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing