We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Bed and Breakfast”
Review of West Plean House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
West Plean House
Ranked #11 of 59 Stirling B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Mississauga
Level Contributor
113 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Wonderful Bed and Breakfast”
Reviewed 25 July 2009

This a wonderful bed and breakfast located in the countryside near Stirling Scotland. It a large rambling country house on a working farm. The house dates back to the 1700s as I recall. The hosts are very welcoming and provide excellent advice on restaurants and attractions. The guests have their own sitting room with TV and WI game console. We had two rooms and each room came had its own bathroom. There are wonderful gardens and walking trails. Breakfast was excellent. Great location to explore the Trossachs and Stirling.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank annrcg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    71
    8
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
24
40
2
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Phillipston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
62 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2007

We arrived here for the first night of our two week trip in Scotland. Our only mistake was only staying here one night! Our party consisted of myself, my sister and my boyfriend taking up two rooms. We were welcomed with a tea service on a day when the family had other obligations but waited an extra hour (trouble with car rental). It was nice to finally arrive and get settled after the transatlantic flight. Our rooms were decorated in the Victorian style that matches the rest of the home. It was very clean and moderately sized. It is about average for rooms/bathrooms in the UK. The gardens are beautiful to wander in but we took little advantage of it because we were there so short a time. The drive is a long way from the main road making you feel isolated but you are certainly not. There is so much to see and do in such a small area. The breakfast was wonderful as was the service provided by the hosts. I highly recommend this property.

  • Liked — location, gardens, comfort, cleanliness, service
  • Disliked — nothing negative
  • Stayed June 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Phillipstonian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore
Level Contributor
167 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2007

We loved this place. The location was perfect, the owners were gracious and friendly and room was very nice. I highly recommend it. Book ahead, however, they only have a limited number of rooms.

  • Stayed June 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nick P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 20 June 2006

I found this via Frommer's website as a suggestion of it being kid friendly. We booked the family room - two single beds with double pull out and private bathroom. Comfortable room and very clean. The breakfasts are huge and tasty! Fresh everything and cooked to order. Moira and her family were very welcoming and wonderful hosts. We stayed for 5 nights and wish we could have stayed longer - it was so relaxing. The house is just over a mile from a huge motorway roundabout, butyou wouldn't know it. It seems like you're way out in the country - it's quiet quite scenic. About 5 minutes to Stirling and a half hour or so to Edinburgh and Glasgow. I would definitely stay here again in the future and highly recommend this great find to anyone.

  • Stayed June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stirling hotels
3.9 mi away
The Stirling Highland Hotel
3.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Stirling
5.4 mi away
Stirling Court Hotel
Stirling Court Hotel
#7 of 20 in Stirling
522 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Victoria Square Guest House
4.9 mi away
The Old Tram House
The Old Tram House
#6 of 59 in Stirling
545 reviews
4.7 mi away
Ravenswood Guest House
Ravenswood Guest House
#4 of 59 in Stirling
365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to West Plean House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about West Plean House

Property: West Plean House
Address: West Plean House Denny Road, Stirling FK7 8HA, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Stirling > Stirling
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 59 B&Bs / Inns in Stirling
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — West Plean House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your West Plean House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
West Plean Stirling
West Plean House Stirling, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing