We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Views, Romantic Setting”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Castlecroft

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Castlecroft
Ranked #1 of 62 Stirling B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Whittier, California
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Best Views, Romantic Setting”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2013

We stayed here in the winter and had a wonderful experience. We chose this location based on other reviews and can certainly attest that it is deserving of the accolades. Laura is a welcoming hostess, and her mother is a delight as well. The home is well located in a quiet area within a few minutes walk of Sterling Castle. It's quite a spacious property with a well kept garden and free parking. Situated on a hillside with the castle above and the valley below, the views are picturesque. There is a large lounge with a fireplace. Laura is a great cook, very cheery, and makes you feel welcome and at home. She offered great suggestions for dinner and sightseeing in town. Breakfast was ample and delicious. Came home one night and could smell her baking bread for the morning. I was impressed. Our room was clean and spacious and comfortable. Would definitely recommend this B&B.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MikeNLaurie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

717 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    663
    44
    9
    0
    1
See reviews for
139
405
30
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
210 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2013

Had a lovely overnight stay here, location is amazing virtually on top of the castle and about a ten minute walk into town, Laura is very welcoming, the guest lounge is very comfortable and a lovely place to relax, rooms are ok, spotlessly clean and the bathroom is modern and had a very nice shower, the breakfast is top notch, homemade bread and local produce, very tasty and all at a very reasonable price, would definitely stay again

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lynnie30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oldmeldrum, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2013

Believe the reviews - I chose this guest house because of the tripadvisor reviews and was not disappointed.

My husband and I stayed here with our 2 year old daughter in a family room in the Easter holidays. The room and ensuite was lovely - very good powerful shower. The breakfast was amazing, a wide variety and very fresh and tasty (in the breakfast room you can see birds and much to my daughter's surprise squirrels at the bird feeder outside.) We also appreciated that there was a selection of DVDs to choose from in the lounge to borrow to play on the flat screen tv in our room.

Castlecroft is a super place to stay, the owner Laura was very welcoming and happily provided us with all the information that we needed about Stirling, walks, shops and places to eat with a toddler. Laura is very friendly and always remembered our first names, she made a fuss of our daughter and made sure that we were happy and comfortable in our room.

Laura recommended The River House Restaurant, a two minute drive away in the car. She gave us a voucher for free drinks and told us that there was a childrens' area. I highly recommend this restauarant also whether you are a couple or like us with a child. The staff, food, views from the window seats of the ducks and swans and the toys available in the toy box were all super. It was so good we went back again the next night!

Laura also gave us a map and told us about the short walk into Stirling town. We took the safe, buggy friendly castle walk into the shops from Castlecroft as it literally starts at the front door of Castlecroft. It is a lovely walk that follows the castle walls at the bottom of the hill.

It was these recommendations, the welcome and warm hospitality that we recieved that means we rate Castlecroft as excellent.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fiona e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2013

A truly outstanding B&B. Beautiful rooms. Well presented and exceptionally clean. Laura, the owner, was definitely the hostess with the mostess. Nothing was too much trouble. The added extras made all the difference. An offer of coffee in the guest lounge with a roaring fire and amazing views. Bottled water in the bedrooms. A DVD/TV combi in the bedroom with a selection of DVDs available to borrow. An outstanding breakfast. Delicious. With locally sourced produce and homemade bread. A real hidden gem and well worth checking out. On the doorstep of Stirling Castle with walking distance to all local amenities, it is THE place to stay when visiting Stirling.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hiddengems_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockport, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2013

I have stayed in a great many B&B's through both work and travel, but this place sets the Standard; B&B's in the UK, take a note, this is what your customers want, and it needn't cost you a lot.

I cannot recommend this place highly enough; the perfect hostess, wonderful room, superb breakfast, excellent views from the delightful lounge. Laura, I will be back with the family when I get a spare week, keep doing what you're doing, it's spot-on.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Freeport, Maine
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2013

It is hard to beat the warm attention to detail given to the guests by Laura the owner. She has done a wonderful job of refurbishing this B&B over the last couple of years and you quickly learn that there is a good reason she has won the certificate of excellence awards in past years. She is friendly, helpful and accomodating. The short walk to Stirling Castle is definitely a plus. The atmosphere in the common living room with the fire going is an added benefit. Of course the best is saved to the last and that is the great breakfast that she makes herself and is served by Laura and her friendly employee. We stayed two nights and had a wonderful time.

Room Tip: We had the lower room downstairs near the breakfast room and it was quiet and had its own entrance f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank billgilman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bolton, England
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2013

The reviews are all correct - this is a great B&B and we would recommend it to anyone staying in Stirling. We received a wonderful welcome from Laura, together with a tray of tea, coffee and biscuits which was a very welcome surprise. You feel at home right from the start and the bedrooms and guest lounge are all superb and very cosy. The views from the guest lounge are amazing and as we were a party of 6 it was great to all be able to sit together in the evening. The lounge is large enough, and well enough laid out that several different groups could all use the room at the same time easily. We walked up to Stirling Castle and then into the town centre, both of which are a lovely 10 mins walk through the trees. The bedrooms are all a good size and the furnishings are lovely. We stayed in one of the lower floor rooms which had doors out onto a large patio area, shared only with one other bedroom - this was a real sun trap and would be fabulous to sit out in when the weather gets a litle warmer. The ensuite bathrooms have all been recently updated to a very good standard and are all bright, clean and crisp. The breakfast was delicious and had a huge variety - it certainly set us up for the day. We would recomment this B&B to anyone and hope to come back next year. Thank you Laura for looking after us so well!

Room Tip: The rooms on the upper floor have the best views but the lower floor has the private patio area. Al...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GoDiscover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stirling hotels
0.6 mi away
The Stirling Highland Hotel
0.9 mi away
Premier Inn Stirling City Centre Hotel
0.7 mi away
Golden Lion Hotel
Golden Lion Hotel
#10 of 21 in Stirling
3.5 of 5 bubbles 904 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Stirling
0.6 mi away
Friars Wynd Hotel
Friars Wynd Hotel
#4 of 21 in Stirling
4.5 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
0.5 mi away
Victoria Square Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castlecroft? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castlecroft

Property: Castlecroft
Address: Castlecroft Ballengeich Road, Stirling FK8 1TN, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Stirling > Stirling
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 62 B&Bs / Inns in Stirling
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Castlecroft 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in an elevated position under the towering magnificence of Stirling Castle, Castlecroft offers comfortable modern facilities, superb panoramic views over the King's Park Golf Course, the Royal Gardens and the hills of the Trossachs. All rooms with new modern en-suites, Free wifi, Guest PC, All rooms have flat screen TVs with DVD players, Large on site free parking area, 10 minute walk to town centre along a lovely footpath, Amazing views, Large, beautiful guest lounge with balcony off the lounge, Breakfast cooked to order with local ingredients and home made bread. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Castlecroft reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castlecroft Hotel Stirling
Castlecroft Stirling, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing