We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best B&B I've stayed in” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Castlecroft

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Castlecroft
Ranked #1 of 61 Stirling B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Best B&B I've stayed in”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2013

Booked Castlecroft, based on Tripadvisor reviews, and found the best B&B I've stayed in. Laura was immediately welcoming, even though she was in the middle of something else, and showing us her recommendations for where to eat in Stirling. I was captivated by the fantastic views over the Trossachs, from the lounge area. Lovely room, with an outside seating area, close proximity to the castle (well worth a visit) and shops, restaurants etc., and the most wonderful breakfast, with home-made bread. We thanked Laura for all the little personal touches that made this such an enjoyable visit. Would definitely stay here again in Stirling bound.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kaffeeundkuchenbitte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

713 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    660
    43
    9
    0
    1
See reviews for
138
403
30
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
36 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2013

PERFECT B&B. Clean, rooms were large, nice bath, great breakfast. We had a little private patio with our room. The B&B is literally under the castle. Laura brings you tea and cakes when you arrive. Chocolates, cookies and tea and coffee in the room. Things could not have been more perfect. It was a short walk into town, so you do not have to use your car. I HIGHLY recommend this B&B.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travelhorse60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2013

I booked us in well in advance after reading previous reviews, so glad we did. Had a wonderful stay. Laura made us feel very welcome and gave us handy tips for the local area. Breakfast was a real treat. Our bedroom/ensuite was beautifully decorated and very clean. Shower pressure excellent.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ket_Cat1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Hardy, Canada
Level Contributor
42 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2013

We recently stayed for 3 nights at Castlecroft. Great location, excellent hostess,, great custom-cooked breakfasts and lots of other extras. Stayed with my 8 year - made to feel totally welcome with lots of great travel tips provided by host. Nice 15 min walk to downtown and lots of great restaurants, 10 min to the castle. Leave the car parked and walk!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sixstoriesBC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2013

This was not only my first trip outside of the USA but also my first time staying at a B&B.
Laura's warmth and hospitality made this just a wonderful experience. The location was great and we walked to all of sights in the city. The room was spacious with a very nice en-suite. We traveled across Scotland and her bread was the very best.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pat N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2013

Stayed here last week and I really have to say it is hard adding anything new to previous reviews.
Although not absolutely central I loved the location. It is only 10 mins walk to the centre through the Back Walk through the woods which is a great way to start the day. I even managed a couple of runs in the morning through the woods in preparation for a marvellous breakfast.
Laura is a delightful host and was so welcoming . Although she took great pains to tell us the room was the smallest they had, it was perfectly fine and comfortable.
I am from the Stirling area and so know the area reasonably well. If you are spending some time here don't stay in any the hotels, stay here. You will love it.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank martin5533
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Old Hill
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2013

What a fantastic B&B, Laura and her lovely Mum are passionate about providing the very best for their guests, everything you could possibly want is provided and more. Although we were only able to stay one night as not surprisingly Castlecroft was fully booked Laura made us feel like VIPs, such a warm and genuine welcome. We can't understand why it only gets 5/5!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank APLopes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stirling hotels
0.5 mi away
The Stirling Highland Hotel
0.6 mi away
Friars Wynd Hotel
Friars Wynd Hotel
#3 of 21 in Stirling
4.5 of 5 bubbles 151 reviews
1.2 mi away
Premier Inn Stirling City Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Stirling
0.7 mi away
Golden Lion Hotel
Golden Lion Hotel
#10 of 21 in Stirling
3.5 of 5 bubbles 893 reviews
0.6 mi away
Victoria Square Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castlecroft? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castlecroft

Property: Castlecroft
Address: Castlecroft Ballengeich Road, Stirling FK8 1TN, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Stirling > Stirling
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 61 B&Bs / Inns in Stirling
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Castlecroft 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in an elevated position under the towering magnificence of Stirling Castle, Castlecroft offers comfortable modern facilities, superb panoramic views over the King's Park Golf Course, the Royal Gardens and the hills of the Trossachs. All rooms with new modern en-suites, Free wifi, Guest PC, All rooms have flat screen TVs with DVD players, Large on site free parking area, 10 minute walk to town centre along a lovely footpath, Amazing views, Large, beautiful guest lounge with balcony off the lounge, Breakfast cooked to order with local ingredients and home made bread. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Castlecroft reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castlecroft Hotel Stirling
Castlecroft Stirling, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing