We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“X-factor”
Review of Castlecroft

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Castlecroft
Ranked #1 of 59 Stirling B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cardigan, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“X-factor”
Reviewed 17 November 2013

I had planned to stay one night but ended up staying for three nights as it was such a lovely cosy
Place to stay as the lovely Laura was just sooo nice and even brought me a pot of tea and cake after a hard day on my Mountain bike what more can you ask for!. The town centre is just a 10 minute walk and the castle a 5 minute walk away but still felt rural and peaceful.Laura was also brilliant and informative with things to do and see.the Scottish breakfast was also top notch with
Homemade bread mmmm.
I will definitely stay here again. .

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank taffibach r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

721 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    667
    44
    9
    0
    1
See reviews for
140
407
31
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Waban,ma
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2013

We spent one night late Octobner at this B&B. from the minute we arrived we werre made to feel at home. Laura, our host, was very friendly and helpful - suggesting places to eat and the various footpaths one could take to get to the center of town and climb the hill to visit the castle. The room was very clean and comfortable. We had a room on the lower floor with its own private patio. Unfortunately, it rained so we were not able to use it. The traditional Scottish breakfast was wonderful. WOuld definitely stay here again and recommend it to all! We were sorry we could only stay one night before moving on.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pepe P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
90 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2013

Easy to find from the M9 with good car parking. A very warm and friendly welcome from Laura and Isobel on arrival (with tea), good advice on walks into town and to the Castle (10-15 minutes), and for restaurants.Lovely bedroom with good shower, really excellent breakfasts. Triple aspect lounge with great views for relaxation in the evenings. Easy walks into town, to main attractions, shops, station etc. Several good restaurants within easy walking distance. A really perfect stay in Stirling.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tunku41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2013 via mobile

I stayed here at the beginning of November with my 9 year old son. It was his birthday and so I was treating him to a visit to Stirling Castle. Castlecroft is ideally situated for the castle with a short walk through a leafy path to get there. Upon arriving Laura welcomed us and was very helpful in showing us on the map how to get to places and where were the best places to eat. She offered us tea and biscuits once we'd got settled into our room, which was a very good size and very clean. Breakfast was lovely, with a selection of cereals and fresh fruit followed by a cooked breakfast of your choice with homemade bread for toast. I chose Castlecroft after seeing the reviews on here and I wasn't disappointed. Should I need to stay in Stirling again I would definitely stay here again and I would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Erebob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2013

We booked our stay at Castlecroft on the strength of all the glowing reviews on Tripadvisor and we weren't disappointed! We had a very enjoyable stay on Sept 24 (sadly could only be accommodated the one night). We found Castlecroft easily as we had first visited Stirling Castle (just further up the hill) and were welcomed by the very friendly Laura who served us afternoon tea in the B&B's charming lounge. Castlecroft was so clean and welcoming. The three of us shared the very comfortable family room upstairs. After a great night's sleep we enjoyed Laura's fabulous breakfast. Also appreciated the free Wi-Fi and Laura's restaurant suggestion that proved tops. Would highly recommend (like everyone else) a stay at Castlecroft.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jo C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2013

We have just spent3 nights in this lovely b&b. we were made most welcome with afternoon tea just after we arrived. We had two rooms one in the middle of the house and the other on the first floor. Easy access to to lower floor if needed. Laura was lovely. She expected you to treT her own as your own and really could not be more obliging. Breakfast was lovely witha vast choice. And Laura's home made bread is a must. It's gorgeous. This b&b is in a lovely position at the foot of sterling castle and many little footpath walks around and easy to get about. I just wish we had stayed longer. Hair dryer in room, lovely toiletries provide dead,bottled water still and sparkling in room, biscuits and chocolates, even a flannel as well as towels. Laura really has thought of everything and lots of wardrobe, drawer space etc. A huge lounge with lots of big sofas to relax in and all rooms had tv with DVD player and Laura has a huge collection of dvd's and cd's for you to use if you wish. Overall a lovely break.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mandyandy_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Truro, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2013

By far the best guest house we have stayed in - anywhere in the UK!
Perfect setting and our room (with patio) was excellent with everything provided that we needed - and more.
Laura was so friendly, welcoming and helpful and we felt nothing would be too much trouble for her. The breakfasts were wonderful and the whole guest house was so spacious and well furnished.
Stayed for 4 nights but wished we could have stayed longer - so we will definitely return and will recommend to anyone wishing to stay in the Stirling area as couldn't fault anything.

Room Tip: Rooms on the ground floor are excellent for those with difficulty on stairs (although there was even...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank katy52672
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stirling hotels
0.6 mi away
The Stirling Highland Hotel
0.9 mi away
Premier Inn Stirling City Centre Hotel
0.7 mi away
Golden Lion Hotel
Golden Lion Hotel
#10 of 20 in Stirling
3.5 of 5 bubbles 920 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Stirling
0.6 mi away
Friars Wynd Hotel
Friars Wynd Hotel
#4 of 20 in Stirling
4.5 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
0.5 mi away
Victoria Square Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castlecroft? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castlecroft

Property: Castlecroft
Address: Castlecroft Ballengeich Road, Stirling FK8 1TN, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Stirling > Stirling
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 59 B&Bs / Inns in Stirling
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Castlecroft 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in an elevated position under the towering magnificence of Stirling Castle, Castlecroft offers comfortable modern facilities, superb panoramic views over the King's Park Golf Course, the Royal Gardens and the hills of the Trossachs. All rooms with new modern en-suites, Free wifi, Guest PC, All rooms have flat screen TVs with DVD players, Large on site free parking area, 10 minute walk to town centre along a lovely footpath, Amazing views, Large, beautiful guest lounge with balcony off the lounge, Breakfast cooked to order with local ingredients and home made bread. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Castlecroft reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castlecroft Hotel Stirling
Castlecroft Stirling, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing