We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great service, lovely rooms, superb location”
Review of Castlecroft

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Castlecroft
Ranked #1 of 59 Stirling B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great service, lovely rooms, superb location”
Reviewed 13 May 2014

A lovely experience staying here. Laura was most welcoming. The rooms are comfortable and impeccably clean. The location is superb, just short walk to the Stirling Castle and to town. The room has a lovely set up of tea and biscuits; so welcoming for weary travelers. And i can't enough about the amazing breakfasts. There is a lovely bar of fruit and cereal, but a menu of hot items including eggs, bacon, sausage (veggie option was delicious), vegetables and home made bread. It was the perfect send off each morning. I wonderful B&B - I would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DeborahD449
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

721 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    667
    44
    9
    0
    1
See reviews for
140
407
31
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cornwall, Canada
Level Contributor
195 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014

Agree with all the positive statements, adequete parking, great location, comfortable beds,large shower with great water pressure, very friendly, helpful host, breakfast was excellent with a large selection and you order your choice in the morning-not having to order a day ahead like some other B&B's and there were 2 & 4 seat tables so you could eat in private if preferred. Had coffee. tea & cookies as many good B&B's do in the room but also provided bottled water and chocolates. Great old trail to walk right outside the gate that took you to town and the castle. Wish we had planned to stay longer. Great stay - thank you Laura.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2014

Two years since our last - perfect - stay, en route to Skye. As good, if not better this time. Well equipped, spacious and comfortable family room. Excellent breakfast and the most charming and helpful hosts you could ask for. Thoroughly recommended.

Room Tip: Great if you need a proper family room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nick170
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 22 April 2014

It was a pleasure to stay at Castlecroft . Laura gave us such a friendly, informative welcome ,and we enjoyed fresh coffee out on the deck on arrival.As others have said Castlecroft is very well situated,being only a short walk, through most attractive woodland, into town and the castle. Breakfast was delicious , with nothing too much trouble. We would happily return .The George family.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank george1016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014

I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again. Great breakfast, friendly owner, and very well located near the castle. Castlecroft is just outside of the town centre of Stirling, but within easy walking distance of everything. It's a short cab ride from the train station. Laura is very friendly, makes a wickedly good breakfast and is full of great suggestions of things to do in the area.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jroberts100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
136 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

We loved our stay here. We had had a difficult day dealing with a hire car company, but our stay at Castlecroft was a breath of fresh air. Our ground floor room was decorated beautifully - warm and cosy with a very nice modern ensuite. The complimentary tea and coffee tray was the best stocked one we have ever come across. Looking out onto the garden patio is delightful. Laura, our hostess, recommended several places for dinner and the one we chose was excellent.
Our breakfast - in the room opposite our bedroom - was excellent. It was fantastic to watch the antics of birds and squirrels perfoming acrobatics from a feeder placed outside the breakfast room windows. We also loved being so close to Stirling's Back Walk and had an early morning stroll along Lower Back Walk and returned on Upper Back Walk. These woods are a lovely place to be and I remember feeling a bit emotional because this is what we had come from the other side of the world to see. All the different greens are amazing and this is all on the doorstep of Castlecroft. We were only here one night - but of everywhere we stayed - this is the place we wish we had stayed longer. (The lounge area is delightful, but unfortunately we didn't have a chance to sit and enjoy it - another time, hopefully)

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pip2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NC
Level Contributor
207 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2014

We spent 1 night at Castlecroft on our way down to Edinburgh. Laura greeted us and was very friendly and helpful with a dinner recommendation. We were not particularly impressed with our room- it did not appear very clean/had a run-down appearance, but the view of the castle was nice. The sheets were worn and did not fully cover the mattress, and the bed was of average comfort. However, the bathroom was modern/updated and very clean. Breakfast in the morning was ok- eggs were overcooked but the mushrooms & tea were good.

We did not have the best overall experience in Stirling during our brief stay (due to things unrelated to the hotel), so I've tried not to be too harsh in our review of Castlecroft. All-in-all, I don't think we'd return but the service was good and it was okay for a one night stay.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank laurenpk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stirling hotels
0.6 mi away
The Stirling Highland Hotel
0.9 mi away
Premier Inn Stirling City Centre Hotel
0.7 mi away
Golden Lion Hotel
Golden Lion Hotel
#10 of 20 in Stirling
3.5 of 5 bubbles 922 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Stirling
0.6 mi away
Friars Wynd Hotel
Friars Wynd Hotel
#4 of 20 in Stirling
4.5 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
0.5 mi away
Victoria Square Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castlecroft? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castlecroft

Property: Castlecroft
Address: Castlecroft Ballengeich Road, Stirling FK8 1TN, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Stirling > Stirling
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 59 B&Bs / Inns in Stirling
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Castlecroft 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in an elevated position under the towering magnificence of Stirling Castle, Castlecroft offers comfortable modern facilities, superb panoramic views over the King's Park Golf Course, the Royal Gardens and the hills of the Trossachs. All rooms with new modern en-suites, Free wifi, Guest PC, All rooms have flat screen TVs with DVD players, Large on site free parking area, 10 minute walk to town centre along a lovely footpath, Amazing views, Large, beautiful guest lounge with balcony off the lounge, Breakfast cooked to order with local ingredients and home made bread. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Castlecroft reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castlecroft Hotel Stirling
Castlecroft Stirling, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing