We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous B&B, wonderful location!”
Review of Castlecroft

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Castlecroft
Ranked #1 of 59 Stirling B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Marblehead, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
455 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
“Fabulous B&B, wonderful location!”
Reviewed 23 July 2014

We loved this B&B - clean comfortable rooms, beautiful gardens, and easy walk to stirling Castle and in town Stirling. Owner is absolutely delightful and helpful and breakfast is outstanding. good dining for dinners close by too.

Room Tip: all rooms are lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank smthibs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

736 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    681
    45
    9
    0
    1
See reviews for
143
417
32
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2014

We booked based on the near unanimous praise on TripAdvisor and elsewhere although as city folks we were put-off by the suburban-style ranch-rambler look of the property's facade. Don't worry; this ideally located place is a joy with extensive, well cultivated gardens, a patio and a deck with a wonderful view, very tastefully and comfortably furnished rooms and public areas with many large windows. The short walk through the woods into town is extremely pleasant.

And that's aside from Laura, who is almost certainly the most agreeable and competent innkeeper you will ever meet. Her made-to-order breakfasts are as healthy and as good as everyone else has written.

Laura has made this a very special place for travelers.

Room Tip: book very early
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MCinDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunedin, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2014

Laura you make staying so easy, welcome from the moment you walk in the door, to the farewell when you feel you have a new best friend. Never before have we been offered coffee or tea on arrival at a B & B, served in the spacious and airy lounge. The room was clean, bright and comfortable. Breakfast service was professional and efficient. A handy walk to the castle or the town, plenty of off street parking, easy to find, the list goes on. Thinking of visiting Stirling, stay at Castlecroft, you would be mad not to.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RM361
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviewed 11 July 2014

Laura runs an amazing B&B. She makes you feel welcome from the moment of your reservation to the time you leave. The rooms are beautiful and very comfortable. The breakfast is incredible!! I would highly recommend staying here!

Room Tip: The rooms downstairs with the garden patio was beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JessK987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 July 2014

Just come back from a two day stay at the castlecroft with my partner and my mam and dad, it was just as good as when me and my partner were there in april.laura was her at hostest best yet again her hospitality is second to none by far ive never been anywhere were you get that kind of hospitality from a bnb. The weather was superb wich was a good bonus, we done the wallace monument wich is a challenge 246 steps to climb to the top and the views are to die for. Well done laura yet again!!!!!! Certainly going back.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights at the beginning of our 3-week visit to Scotland, with our primary objective being a visit to Stirling Castle. Castlecroft has a lovely position just below the Castle, with views from the lounge to the Trossachs in the distance and one of the Castle's gardens called the King's Knot. We chose to take the walk from the hotel to the Castle through a canopy of trees rather than drive, and we were glad we did. Not only was it a pleasant, quiet walk (we actually recorded the beautiful bird songs) but we also avoided the full parking lot at the Castle.

As others have said, Laura was a perfect host, with a Canadian connection. At the beginning of our trip, this connection made it even more special for us and resulted in some great conversations, with the first one over tea in the lounge when we arrived. Laura was ready with a full description of the area, including a huge binder of menus for evening meals. Our room was on the lower floor just across from the breakfast room and had its own patio area (although we didn't get a chance to use it). Laura's home met all of our criteria for a great stay: clean, quiet for sleeping, comfortable bed, good-sized bathroom, great breakfast, friendly and helpful host. We would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kris_Quotes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014

We received a very warm welcome from Laura who quickly brought a tray of tea and biscuits out onto the decking for us. Our rooms were great, as was the breakfast and after walking into Stirling and back we relaxed in the very comfortable lounge.

Room Tip: If you can't manage stairs, there is a ground floor bedroom near the dining room and a chairlift...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Olive L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stirling hotels
0.6 mi away
The Stirling Highland Hotel
1.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Stirling
0.9 mi away
Premier Inn Stirling City Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Stirling Court Hotel
Stirling Court Hotel
#7 of 20 in Stirling
531 reviews
0.6 mi away
Friars Wynd Hotel
Friars Wynd Hotel
#5 of 20 in Stirling
178 reviews
0.5 mi away
Victoria Square Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castlecroft? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castlecroft

Property: Castlecroft
Address: Castlecroft Ballengeich Road, Stirling FK8 1TN, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Stirling > Stirling
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 59 B&Bs / Inns in Stirling
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Castlecroft 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in an elevated position under the towering magnificence of Stirling Castle, Castlecroft offers comfortable modern facilities, superb panoramic views over the King's Park Golf Course, the Royal Gardens and the hills of the Trossachs. All rooms with new modern en-suites, Free wifi, Guest PC, All rooms have flat screen TVs with DVD players, Large on site free parking area, 10 minute walk to town centre along a lovely footpath, Amazing views, Large, beautiful guest lounge with balcony off the lounge, Breakfast cooked to order with local ingredients and home made bread. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo and Evoline ltd so you can book your Castlecroft reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castlecroft Hotel Stirling
Castlecroft Stirling, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing