We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend in Stirling”
Review of Park Lodge Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Stirling
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Park Lodge Hotel
Ranked #13 of 20 Hotels in Stirling
Reviewed 20 June 2013

We spent the weekend with a group of friends at the Park Lodge Hotel - the rooms were clean and comfortable and the food was excellent with very reasonable prices for Dinner and Wines. The son Jean Pierre was the chef although I understand father Georges makes the desserts for Dinner. Breakfast was delicious with plenty of choices. We all had a great weekend and would highly recommend the Hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank doublediamond976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (73)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

34 - 40 of 73 reviews

Reviewed 4 June 2013

We found this hotel in Scotland the Best book by Peter Irvine as he gave it very good reviews.
It certainly lived up to the reviews.
The room was spacious and a Kingsize bed.- most comfortable!
We have seen a lot of Stately homes in Scotland and this was almost one of them!
Fabulous breakfast! Jean Pierre makes the best omelette! Sorry Dad!!
However dinner was one of the best dinners we have ever had - and so reasonable - as is the excellent Wine List! You can afford to drink good wine here.
All in all a wonderful find.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CambridgePenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2013

The room was very cold. The room was kind of an L-shape, and the radiator was too far away from the bed to make an impact.
The water in the shower was barely warm.
The king sized bed was actually two twin beds pushed together (spent the whole night stck in the crack - was trying to get close enough to my partner to suck out of all his body heat).
The breakfast was rather ordinary. Just eggs, cereal, and juice. They serve a pretty pricey dinner there, so I expected something more for breakfast.
Other than that, it was a beautiful building in a very nice part of town. The host was charming, but I cannot recoomend this B&B because it was simply too uncomforatble.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Emma C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2013

We stayed here for one night. Overall it was a pleasant stay, however there were some drawbacks. This was our next to last night in Scotland and had stayed in 3 B&Bs before coming to Park Lodge. The building was beautiful and the owner very friendly. The room was an older style with 2 twin beds together making a large king like bed. Our trouble came in the morning when we were getting ready for the day. The water wasn't hot and the pressure was low. Adding to that there was no heat in the radiator making for a cold morning.

The breakfast was really only ok. We had better food at the other B&Bs along with better service. We will not return to this hotel as we believe there is a better value out in Stirling.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tyson B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2013

Stayed here for only one night. I had made the booking well in advance online and our room was ready on arrival. The owner is originally a French chef with a really interesting history - but for the past 30 years or so, has lived in Stirlng with his wife and son.

The hotel was formerly a private house which the current owners purchased as a gutted shell. They then completely refurbished the place and have done a manificent job ! There are heavy, colouful drapes in the restaurant and rooms, antiques, statues, paintings and comfortable furniture throughout. The hotel has a bar and an events/wedding venue on the ground floor with a dance floor and large open gardens at the rear. If the weather hadn't been so miserable at 5C, amd very windy, it would have been nice to have spent some time in the garden.

Our room was large and comfortable. Big bathroom and amenities as expected. My only gripe was that after driving for about 5 hours I thought I might relax in a bath - but regrettably the hot water was only luke warm. The following morning though the water was very hot, so I obviously just picked the wrong time for a bath !!

Breakfast in the restaurant was very good and cooked to order. Cereal, fruit juice, tea/coffee all available as well.

All in all a very classy establishment, well worth a visit.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HS300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2013

if you like good food and a pleasant change from the usual characterless hotels around these days try the park lodge hotel in stirling.
its situated only a 5 minute walk from the centre of stirling in a very nice neighbourhood & theres plenty of parking available.
you have to ring the bell to access the hotel & once youve entered you will feel as though have stepped back in time & you will find a check in process that was so refreshing it made me smile. youre asked to sign in & then shown to your room and presented with your key and any instructions the owners wish to give.
no 15 minutes of presenting credit cards as room guarantees for a hotel employee who may as well be a robot.
just a couple of minutes of friendly introduction and kindly letting you know what you need to know.
the hotel itself is very nice & really is like stepping back in time so you will know what to expect if you come here. period decor & finishes. not rooms from an ikea brochure.
when our friends heard we were staying here they booked us all in for dinner as they had heard very good things about the hotels food.
they do a 3 course menu here for £26 per head & it is excellent. there were 4 different starters, 5 mains & 4 desserts to choose from & id recommend it to anyone whether they were staying in the hotel or not. the steak that 5 of us had was particularly good & was cooked perfectly in the manner asked for by each of us.
unfortunately due to the clocks going forward i slept in & missed breakfast but if it was half as good as the meal we had the previous evening then it would be great.
i wouldnt complain about anything here.
due to the type of place this is you may find a bit of wear but you'd have to be looking for it & the place was spotlessly clean & had everything that we needed.
in the restaurant & lounge they didnt have beer on tap but i had a few beers and they were freezing cold so job done.
if little issues such as these are a problem for you then maybe the park lodge isnt the place for you but then you'd be missing out on a relaxing stay in a really grand old house.
and you wouldnt get to try one of those excellent steaks !!
if ever the need to stay overnight in this area again occurs then id definitely stay here again.
it truly was such a pleasant change from the normal hotel experience.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2013

Lovely cosy room, and such a friendly welcome, unlike the usual places I stay in.
However, never mind the room, you have to stay in this place for the food.
I've never had a better steak, George is a French chef, and he really knows what he's doing, believe me ! Even something simple like scrambled eggs and bacon was special !
I will definitely be staying here again, it can't come soon enough !!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank THS186394
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stirling hotels
0.5 mi away
Golden Lion Hotel
Golden Lion Hotel
#10 of 20 in Stirling
993 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Stirling Highland Hotel
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Stirling
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Stirling Court Hotel
Stirling Court Hotel
#7 of 20 in Stirling
579 reviews
0.3 mi away
Lost Guest House
Lost Guest House
#16 of 20 in Stirling
382 reviews
1.4 mi away
King Robert Hotel
King Robert Hotel
#2 of 3 in Bannockburn
521 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Lodge Hotel

Address: 32 Park Terrace, Stirling FK8 2JS, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Stirling > Stirling
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 20 Hotels in Stirling
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the central belt of Scotland in the historic city of Stirling. This lovely Georgian House, built in 1825, has been beautifully restored and is now a Country House Hotel situated near to the town centre of Stirling. The Hotel overlooks Kings Park and Stirling Golf Course with splendid views of Stirling Castle. The Hotel has been privately owned for over 20 years. The interior of the Hotel, with its Victorian wing, has been lovingly furnished to an exceptionally high standard in keeping with the character of the building. The 9 bedrooms each have an individual style, with that personal touch displayed in all. The Hotel also has a beautiful walled garden, at the rear, which guests are free to enjoy at their leisure. The beautiful location, luxurious surroundings, excellent food and wine, and friendly service make the perfect combination and will ensure any visit to the Hotel will be memorable. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Park Hotel Stirling
Park Lodge Hotel Stirling, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing